We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You better have your tire chains on...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isola 2000

Isola 2000
06420 Isola, France
04 93 23 15 15
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Isola
Type: Resort Communities, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing, Horseback riding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ski area
Luanda, Angola
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“You better have your tire chains on...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

You better have your tire chains on...

One hell of a climb, but is worth every minute just to relax on the top of the mountain, in the snow with a cup of Hot Chocolate in your hand... Or the typical Hot Wine if you prefer...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    58
    36
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glos
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous conditions, great family skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Brilliant linkage of slopes. We were lucky enough to find our school holidays did not coincide with the French school holidays - so glorious quiet slopes and snow parks. A wonderful range of skiing for the intermediate and family groups. Great range of restaurants. Centre of resort is old-fashioned and not attractive but functional. Only an hour from Nice airport by public bus. A real find.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great skiing and lifts, ugly resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The quality and variety of the slopes , their width and the amount of lifts was a real surprise for a resort I had never heard of before. This is unpretentious skiing,for those who enjoy the sport more than the pose. Only two or three blacks, a decent amount of reds, an abundance of scenic and dynamic blues, and two long greens for beginners.

Ideal for four days of skiing, may get repetitive after 6 days.

The resort is grotty, and mostly composed of an "iron -curtain-style" shopping centre with long dark corridors , peeling walls and shabby carpets.

The restaurants are expensive, though a couple are really quite good such as "the cow club" and "le vieux chalet".
There is no night life and nothing to do for families after the skiing is done.

However, if skiing is what you love , Isola is brilliant for a place so close to the Riviera, and i say this having skied in many of the big domains in france Austria and switzerland.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Easy and cheap access from Nice Airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Access to Isola 2000 is easy from Nice with 2 buses a day and costing just €5 each way. We had very good skiing in late March. Lifts are a mixture of gondalas, chairlifts and some very long draglifts. One or two Red/Black runs are often left ungroomed to provide additional challenges for good skiers which widens the appeal. Nearby Auron, however, is a superior resort, not least due to the better free wi-fi connection throughout the village. While there is free wi-fi in Isola 2000, it is patchy and unreliable.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best resort for a young family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I bought an apartment in La Valette here 38 years ago. My daughters were 4 and 6 years old. One is now a ski instructor! We had years of fantastic holidays with friends and their young children. I have skid in aprox 40 resorts all over the world and for young children, beginners and intermediates this is the best I have found. But not for luxury and clubbing. A glass of red wine cost me 2 euros today on my visit to see French friends who have lived here since we began coming.next year at 72 they give free ski pass, think I will start coming every year again. The safest and best place ever for children.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isola 2000 also viewed

 
Saint Martin-Vesubie, Alpes Maritimes
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, Alpes Maritimes
 

Been to Isola 2000? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isola 2000, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.