We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for teens! which makes parents' holiday easier!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie to your Saves list
Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   3775 Rue des Combattants d'Afrique du Nord | Route de Bagnols en Forêt, 83600 Frejus, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Frejus
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic for teens! which makes parents' holiday easier!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Ive been here four times and each time with teenagers. Its so hard to please teens on holiday and therefore this is the reason why I return each year. It is a very easy choice to make for me - do I want bored teens? or do I want happy teens that I probably wont bump into too much??....apart from to feed them and provide them with a bed!... I adore this place; I adore being in the middle of a forest and the feeling of nature and I also love the busy feel of the place. The kids wander to the pools each morning, make friends and then meet them in the evening at the disco. I feel they are totally safe here and therefore I'm not too bothered if they havnt arrived home by 2am. It is surprisingly quiet at night. After four years I have found some fabulous restaurants in Frejus old square and port. I cant recommend this holiday enough if you have teens. Booked up for next year!!!! cant wait!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    159
    108
    57
    35
See reviews for
334
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked our holiday with lifestyle holidays. They offered any start and finish day which really helps when you are checking out flights.Our mobile had 3 bedrooms /2 bathrooms and a large living area. It was located between Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie. Even though it is the same camp site both locations offer different facilities so it is great to be placed in the middle. Camping La Baume is a great location for touring the south of France.We hired a car in Nice and were returning home from Milan. Be careful you will be charged a drop off fee if you hire a car in France and want to return to Italy around 400 euro.What you can do to save money if you have time on your hands and want to explore, take the train to San remo in Italy, and hire car there to take you to Milan.We saved about 350 euro.The train journey is along the French Italian Rivera so wonderful views. took about 4 hours in all.

Room Tip: Go with Lifestyle holidays . Much better value than other camping companies.Also lovely mobile homes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornishrebel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at La Baume in the last week of their season. It was with Eurocamp and we stayed in a Sunlight 3 Bed 1 Bathroom. The site was obviously winding down for the season but still had all its facilities open, albeit the shop really only had fresh bread in the morning. The shelves were not fully stocked.

The Eurocamp crew were excellent, answering all our questions and providing help when required. The swimming pool was brilliant for kids (our two are 11months and 3yrs old) and adults alike. The splash park was much colder than the large pool though my 3yr old wasn't bothered! The site is easy to find with a Lidl's Supermarket close by for stocking up for the week. The site is just off the motorway and well signposted. A little difficult to find in the dark though that was probably down to unfamiliararity.

As recent reviews state the weather in September is perfect. We had 4 days of sunshine with temperatures hitting 29c. (Bring mosquito repellent; picked up several bites in the evening)We visited Cannes and Antibes plus spent a day on the beach at Agay. The best beach in the vicinity of La Baume is at St. Aygulf. No more than a 15min drive away. This leads me to recommend that a rental car is highly desirable for your time here. As good as the site is there is no way to walk into Frejus/St. Raphael.

All in all, a really good break with excellent accommodation, weather, staff and facilities. I would recommend this site to all....

Room Tip: If you stay in the Mobile Homes you are well away from the motorway that runs nearby. It wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Travelled to La Baume with Eurocamp and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The 2 bed Sunlite accommodation was great and the facilities on site were great for our 3 year old twins. They loved it! The pool complex is fab and the play park was great.
If travelling with toddlers and with Eurocamp or Keycamp, think about requesting a rumble truck - it was a highlight for our two. Great to haul them around site in and a novelty in itself!
This is a very big site but traveling off season it was comfortable and not too busy - I think it would be too crowded in peak season, but that is only a personal view.
From our accommodation there was some road noise from the (very) nearby A8 motorway, but we did get used to it. The noise was really dependent on wind direction and only from pitches closer to the road.
The site proved to be a great base for travelling around the Cote d'Azur and the nearby beaches are fab - Plage de Frejus is great if you want shops etc close by, but our highlight was Plage d'Aygulf, which was perfect for the wee ones - calmer and shallower water.

Room Tip: When booking, ask about proximity to the A8 and potential road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Thanks Al Fresco for another lovely holiday :-). We stayed here for 11 nights in September and had a lovely relaxing holiday. We did the same last year and enjoyed it so much we went back again the same time this year. This time we had a 3 bedroom Vivaldi which I preferred to the Vivaldi Riviera we had last year - seemed to be more spacious this time. Great that bbq's are now permitted, nice to have a gas bbq on the deck and we used that most nights. September is the ideal time to visit this area - weather is great - between 25 and 30 daily, it was 29 degrees when we left on 19th. We did have rain a couple of times, but it soon cleared up and out came the sun again ;-) Pools are quiet at this time of year, no problems finding loungers, although the water was a bit cold ! The roads are much quieter in September, so no problems travelling around. We flew to Nice and picked up a hire car, then from there its about 45 mins drive to the site. Beaches are quieter too, so much better than in July or August.
We had a lovely day out at Ste Maxime and St Tropez. Drove to Ste Maxime, spent a couple of hours there - hubby and brother-in-law love oysters and white wine at a little stall in the indoor market there, then we took the ferry across to St Tropez. Much nicer and less stressful than drivng around the coast and trying to park in St Tropez.
I can't comment on the on-site restaurants as we didn't eat there. Theres a great choice of restaurants down in Frejus and St Rapahael. Bar and shop prices are quite high onsite. We only bought bread and breakfast pastries at the shop, and they were lovely.
Al Fresco staff were great - very helpful, and our mobile was clean and well equipped, so thanks again. Hopefully we'll be back again next year :-)

Room Tip: La Palmeraie is the quieter side of the site
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays at Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi Gill,

Lovely to see you enjoyed your 2nd holiday on La Baume and I'm pleased you found the Vivaldi more suitable for you and your family.

It sounds like you had a lovely time exploring the area and it's great to see the weather was good to you. We do have gas BBQ's available on site now which is fab for outdoor living.

We hope to welcome you back again next summer.

Many thanks, the Al Fresco team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Went to another campsite in this area last year. Downside is the beach is bit further away but still only 20 mins. The kids (10) and (7)loved the pool complex with its variety of pools, including one indoor heated and lots of slides. Definately recommend Lifestyle mobile home, good value compared to others. Reps Rach and Josh were lovely, very helpful and brightened up these wintry evenings by recommending tv series Breaking Bad! Awesome, thanks guys.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My family has never been big on camping and when we go abroad we're pretty snobby in that we tend to stop in 4 star hotels so this was a VERY different holiday for us.
We were looking to do something quick and cheaper so this was perfect as it's just under two hours away on the plane too.
As it was so different to what we were used to I was pleasantly surprised at how nice our holiday was and how relaxing it was even though we had to get all our own food etc.
For anyone in a similar situation, my first recommendation would be to take T-shirts and shorts and pack as little as possible. We took lots of clothes to go out of an evening but it was really not the sort of place that you had to dress up - in fact I didn't wear makeup for the entire time I was there! I also recommend not taking a lot as storage space for hanging clothes up (particularly long dresses) is limited. However, there are lots of cupboards/drawers to put clothes in.
We stayed in one of the higher spec vans and it was lovely. Extremely clean when we got there and big enough for 5 adults - although I wouldn't recommend more if you like to move about! The entire camp is very clean - surprisingly clean! Having been to spanish Islands a lot we are used to grass in the pool etc. where small children run in and out. At La Baume, you cannot smoke, drink, eat or wear your flip flops around the pool which means that the entire area is spotless.
We were looked after very well by our reps at Keycamp and they were more than happy to help every time we needed them. However, I would like to point out that whilst Keycamp staff are great the animation team was not. It may have been because we went in low season (in fact this is highly likely) but the animation team spoke only in French, put on very few shows and were based at the opposite pool to the one we enjoyed sitting by. The lack of entertainment meant that we had to entertain ourselves which normally involved sitting outside on our decking, having a barbecue for dinner and playing cards which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Food and drink wise - IT IS VERY EXPENSIVE! The little shop, whilst well stocked is extortionate as are the bars and the restaurant. The location of the camp does not help this fact. 99% of people had cars and we happened to be in the 1% that didn't which was a problem. The camp is not in walking distance of any shops, bars or restaurants and although we used the bus this is definitely not ideal. However, for those of you who like BBQ's I would highly recommend going to a shop called Carnivor which is in Frejus (not the harbour). I can honestly say I have never seen so much fresh meat in my entire life. It was fantastic.
The bus in low season is very limited which again we found out when we decided to walk from Frejus Town to Frejus Harbour and down to St Raphael - it is beautiful down there but you can get some serious blisters!
Apart from St Raphael the only other trip available was to Monaco which again I would DEFINITELY recommend. We had a truly amazing day and were only disappointed by the fact we couldn't stay there longer. Carolyn who runs the English speaking trips is also great and helped us a lot. Monaco was surprisingly reasonable compared to prices in Frejus which was an added bonus!

We had a great holiday and spent a lot of time just relaxing, enjoying good food and good weather for a very reasonable all in price.

Room Tip: Get one with Air con! Especially if you're going at high season - it gets HOT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie

Address: 3775 Rue des Combattants d'Afrique du Nord | Route de Bagnols en Forêt, 83600 Frejus, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Frejus
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Frejus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie 3*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.