We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Elixir Grasse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Elixir Grasse to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Elixir Grasse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Martine Carol, 06130 Grasse, France (Formerly Mercure Grasse)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasse
Wigan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel looks great, the area looks great and the rooms look great, but my experience ended up being a let down. I wouldn't try and put anyone off this hotel, because it has loads of potential, but my own experience was average.
The room was nice, reasonably modern, but badly let down by very poor air conditioning. The next night I changed room - the air con was slightly better, but still insufficient for the heat and this was typical South of France weather and not especially hot. Breakfast was also a let down. The bacon pan was empty and when I requested bacon, I got rolling eyes and then an amount of under cooked bacon. The scrambled egg, which was crusty was not changed. I didn't eat anything and refused to pay for breakfast. So to sum up - a hotel with massive potential, convenient for the south coast and in particular Cannes

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    49
    18
    16
    3
See reviews for
11
54
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

booked this hotel online as we have stayed in many best western hotels. Had real trouble finding the hotel in Grasse, it is still signed as a Mercure hotel, and the link on Best western website for directions comes up blank!. Check in o.k. but room was really small despite booking "superior" larger room, I am not a large person (5'4 and uk size 14) but walking around the end of the bed to the bathroom involved a sideways shuffle!! Excellent breakfast but check out far less than satisfactory. Despite booking a breakfast inclusive price, we were asked to pay for breakfast, when we said we had already paid, the receptionist muttered, looked through her files, reprinted our bill with very bad humour and no eye contact zero apology for the misunderstanding. The hotel is also a long way from the town centre and driving from the hotel to town is not recommended as traffic is awful and there is no parking, we walked but it is a very long way and lots and lots of hills and steps. We would not choose to do it again. There must be better places to stay in Grasse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Arrived with our group of ten last Thursday for a two night stay. No lunch available , no evening dinner available due to all hotel staff preparing/catering for the local rotary club meeting/dinner that night.
When we approached the hotel manageress to ask to book a table for dinner that evening we were told to find an alternative as they could not cater for us as they had to look after their rotary Club guests.
All of our party were totally disappointed in the treatment from the staff and felt a hindrance in staying here. Most expressed this but no action or apologies were offered.
We chose this hotel due to using the Best Western chain for our business uses. After our experience here we will now be reviewing this.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Arrived very late after a delayed journey, but were royally received and registered painlessly by the reception staff. The room was a pleasant, well appointed room and fulfilled our needs well. We got an undisturbed night's sleep..

Breakfast was in the usual basic French style, but entirely adequate, although staffing in the morning was minimal and we were mostly left to our own devices.

If you need to get away sharply in the morning, it's best to do this early, as during rush hour, traffic builds up from the roundabout at the bottom of the hill and tails back right past the hotel entrance. So long delays are possible.

Grasse is the perfume capital of the world and my wife was unhappy, due to our time schedules, she could not explore this aspect of the area at greater length. I was rather less disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Elixir Grasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Elixir Grasse

Address: Rue Martine Carol, 06130 Grasse, France (Formerly Mercure Grasse)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Grasse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Elixir Grasse 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Elixir Grasse, enjoy an exceptional location close to the center of Grasse, just 8.1 miles (13 kilometers) from Boulevard de la Croisette in Cannes, near Nice airport and close to four golf courses. The Cote d'Azur, the French Riviera: its sun, its beaches... and especially its backcountry. Rising from the hills above the Mediterranean is the city of Grasse, the perfume capital of the world. Choose from our Standard Room, Superior Room and Family Room, overlooking the city hill or pool, or our Privilege Room offering a wide range of services. All rooms have air conditioning, satellite TV, Wi-Fi Internet access, safe and bathroom with shower or bath. Start your day with a delicious buffet breakfast with a wide choice of local specialties.Treat yourself for dinner in our restaurant serving traditional Provencal cuisine based on herbs and spices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Elixir Grasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Elixir Grasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.