We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1920 Mansion with panoramaview

Saved Save
You added 1920 Mansion with panoramaview to your Saves list.
General view
General view
General view
Landscape of terraces...
Salon with (billiard-)table
Panoramic view from the upper rooms and balconies
Bedroom
Grasse
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ToomanyTn...
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful house with magical views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

When we arrived we were met by a very happy and friendly German man - Andreas . His warmth and friendliness instantly made us feel we had made the right decision in renting this property. We were shown into the house, and you could instantly tell how proud he was of the work he had done on this property. The house was much larger than it appears in the photos, and it was such a lovely place to entertain from, both inside and outside. The garden around the house was also lovely, and added to the appeal of the house.The views from the bedrooms were breathtaking. Andreas is very generous, and has food in the cupboards, a wine cellar and all the laundry products you could want - all on a honour system. He has a home gym also - not that we used it. It was a quick walk into the main town of Grasse. You do need a car to be in this area. I say this because not everyone would be able to negotiate the narrow, steep, oneway, streets. We have done quite a bit of driving in Europe, but did find Grasse to be a challenge. A small car would be an advantage, and GPS's were not that good around this town.
I had only a couple of small suggestions to Andreas and he was very happy to hear them. One was to upgrade the towels and linen, and there was a mattress that was to bad to sleep on. I feel he will fix these small things up soon. Everything else about the property was great. Thank you Andreas for your hospitality , and a lovely holiday home.
Brooke and Tristen

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
isabelsha...
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An ideal holiday villa with everything one could wish for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Absolutely lovely villa typical of the region with superb views and easy access to mountain villages and the coastal towns.Shops, museums and cafes within walking distance.
The villa was very well equipped and the garden, pool and patio were delightful.Plenty of information was available in the villa and from the owner who made every effort to ensure that our holiday was a success.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The character of the villa
Liked least: Exit from the property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2012
Thank you, it was a pleasure to have had you here for your holidays and I would be very glad to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
NKD1
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stay away - the owner is unprofessional”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 for a stay in August 2010
2
people found this review helpful

It is hard to put into words how insulted we were by the German owner of this villa, Andreas. When we arrived, he was incredibly stressed out as he had obviously spent the last few hours cleaning the villa and the washing machine was broken (we have 3 small children). He still took EUR500 cash in deposit (not giving us any receipt - we paid for that later, see below) despite taking over a week to fix the washing machine, not offering any alternatives but the launderette and asking my husband to help him carry it down into the basement. It gets worse - as Andreas lives in the villa when it is not being rented, it is full of his clutter - half used soaps, very old towels and bedsheets, musty smelling cellar, half full packets of food in the cupboards. It gets even worse again - the electric gate broke during the week - he got it fixed but accused us of jumping into the pool with it in our pockets - not true, but even if it had been, not exactly great customer service. It gets worse again - when we left, he accused us of breaking a piece of plastic covering the pool cover. This, he contended, meant that we were not entitled to get ANY of our EUR500 deposit back. We did not break it (again, even if we had, how old was it? how often do they need to be replaced? how much does a piece of plastic cost?). When my husband contested this, he also said we had left the place dirty (despite paying EUR100 for the privilege of him cleaning it). My husband tried to do a last check around the villa but Andreas assaulted him and pushed him to the ground - in front of our three small children. We were terrified. Needless to say we have never seen ANY of our deposit back. When I emailed Andreas to ask for it back on our return, he denied having received it (no receipt you see...). Can't help but think that this must be a standard ruse that he pulls on holiday makers. Stay away holidaymakers - you are treated like naughty houseguests rather than paying clients. Truly unprofessional.

3 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 2 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
2 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: The owner and the fact that he kept our deposit.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2012
What reslly happened is, that this family - by throwing everything into the pool - managed to break and block the evacuation system of the pool (it needed a complete renovation in winter), they destroyed the remote control of the gate and did not return one complete key set when they finally left more than one hour later as contracted.

To get a true impression of my property, please have a look at what THE SUN wrote about my villa.

And I would be glad to provide you with a link of more than a dozen of holiday-maker-reviews about my property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$429
/
Night
Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Andreas T
Speaks English, French, German
Listed since : Jun 2005
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 2 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing