We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best welcome we got on the French riviera” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mas Samarcande

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Mas Samarcande
138 Grand Blvd de Super Cannes, 06220 Golfe-Juan Vallauris, Antibes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Guemene-sur-Scorff, France
1 review
“The best welcome we got on the French riviera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Mas Samarcande? What else! on the Côte d'Azur.
Warm welcome, a lot of advices for restaurant and shopping by Mireille and Pierre
former journalist. Nice and clean bedrooms. The airport of Nice is only at 30mn from Vallauris. You feel at home. We'll be back soon. Thanks

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
111
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed here two nights in early September. The location is Vallauris and on a hill with excellent views. Very good home base to explore the Cote d'Azur. We were greeted as we parked and shown immediately to our room. A nicely decorated room with a very large beautiful bathroom. In the mornings we were provided with breakfast (coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, yogurt, ham, cheeses, and croissants) on the terrace with gorgeous views and was so serene. A homemade rice pudding/casserole was also offered. Peter and his wife were very friendly and helpful in recommending places to visit. If ever in the Nice/Cote d'Azur area again, we would definitely check for availability.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

This is an excellent Guesthouse located some 30 minutes from Nice Airport. The directions provided made it easy to locate in the mountains above Antibes. The size and quality of the rooms where excellent as was the beautiful breakfast on the Terrace over looking the valley. The breakfast was excellent and of good quality. I would recommend that you give these excellent guest house a try! Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We found the area quite interesting and access was easy to the historic local town of Vallauris and also the centrally located Golfe Juan, nearby. It was possible to get around without too much trouble on a very regular bus service, so not having a car didn't make alot of difference and in some ways added to the enjoyment as it meant looking for help from local people. We took time to look at places close by and to value what is available in terms of pottery and art galleries in Vallauris. The accommodation in Mas Sarmacande was of the highest standard and added to the level of enjoyment and overall comfort. Cannes and Antibes were within reach and we enjoyed our outing to each resort. Looking forward to the next time! A bientot, Paul and Fiona Griffin, Galway, Irelande.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

If staying seaside is too busy and/or expensive; I'd strongly recommend this B&B! The hosts aim to please! From providing local maps, reserving beachside chairs to fresh croissants, cafe and fruit each morning on the terrace, one will find a great home base for exploring the cote-azur!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Having researched B&Bs in this area for some time, this looked like a great option and I was right. Beautiful house in a lovely hilltop setting. The room we stayed in was lovely - very spacious and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. Outside on the terrace with fresh coffee, orange juice, croissants and bread and homemade jams. It is really nice to get away from the craziness of the coast after a day on the beach. They also have some great tips on where to eat and what to see. Would love to return some day. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We've stayed here for 4 nights in July 2010. Location is quite good, not in busy Cannes or Nice, but somewhere in the middle, in more quieter Vallauris, just 10 min to the beach (by car), and placed on a hill with excellent views. Very good place to explore the area of Cote d'Azur, with easy access to most important spots.
The place is indeed worth coming there. Excellent villa, spacious rooms, decorated in Provence style, perfect breakfast, charming owners - nothing to reproach.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Mas Samarcande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Samarcande

Address: 138 Grand Blvd de Super Cannes, 06220 Golfe-Juan Vallauris, Antibes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the hill of Juan Gulf, near the sand beaches and the town of Cannes, the "Mas Samarcande" remains of charm, is dissimulated in a beautiful garden with the Mediterranennes tree. Roomy and air-conditioned, the rooms combine the refined decoration and the cordial comfort of a family home. Equipped with bed linen which will be appropriate for the more exigents and of vast extremely comfortable bathrooms, rooms non-smoking, enjoy absolute calm. Copious breakfasts are served on the terrace overlooking the Baie des Anges and the city of the potters of Vallauris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Mas Samarcande France/Golfe-Juan Vallauris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mas Samarcande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le Mas Samarcande to your Saves list