We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a good overhaul” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Open Golfe Juan

Save Saved
You added Residence Open Golfe Juan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Open Golfe Juan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Georges Pompidou, 06220 Golfe-Juan Vallauris, Antibes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Needs a good overhaul”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

These apartments have the opportunity to be fantastic and if they spent as much time maintaining the apartments themselves as they do the grounds then I would have no hesitation in recommending it. However, it is very obvious once you reach your apartment that the bare minimum is spent there in every respect. No air conditioning and no ability to hire fans is their biggest mistake. Thank goodness we brought a fan with us because there is no chance we could have remained in this apartment without it. We had to move our bed from the bedroom into the living room as the bedroom only had one tiny window and was totally airless and blisteringly hot. We slept on a mattress on the floor by the doors to the balcony and felt sorry for those on the ground floor that this would pose a security risk for. How families managed to survive with the sleeping arrangements I have no idea.
The apartments need a big overhaul and air conditioning to bring them up to scratch. The pool was lovely but crowded with children so no opportunity for adults to swim. If only they had had an adults hour at the beginning or end of the day it would have been wonderful. There were barely any sun loungers around the pool and to hire them was expensive.
The reception staff were young but tried to be as helpful as possible. We were alerted to the future problems by all the extra costs that we incurred before we had even set foot in the apartment. Never good to start the holiday with a big bill you weren't expecting.
All in all, I think you could get a much better holiday for the same price by going somewhere else.

Room Tip: Thank goodness we were on the top floor in block 2. Nearly all the others either overlooked the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    6
    11
    20
See reviews for
28
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

When I got there the façade and gardens looked great and during our stay there were people working hard on keeping the grounds well maintained. It was just a pity that is the only thing good about this place. Nothing comes with the place, so as soon as you arrive you have to pay - even for a safety deposit box! There was no air conditioning and they didn't supply fans so it is prohibitively hot! You either can't sleep though heat or get bitten to shreds by the mosquitoes if you open a window. The only solution was to buy a fan, open the windows and cover ourselves in repellent overnight. The room is created using as little as the owners could get away with spending. The cooking facilities are appalling with no oven. The fridge stayed luke-warm rather than chilled and the TV has no extra channels so unless you are French or fluent in French forget the TV! The bed is cheap and uncomfortable and the clothes rail so rusty our clothes were stained and ruined. The pool is clean but the rules are not enforced so swimming is impossible as basically the pool is full of children play fighting, throwing things and dive bombing! There was nothing nice about this place, except the immaculately kept grounds.

Golfe Juan is a great place - so long as you are not at the Odalys Open.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borås, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This apartment hotel have made sure they squeeze every cent they can out of holliday hungry tourists! The apartments has never had an update and look like they did 30 years ago. Giving themself 3 stars is a joke when you don't even get aircon in your room. Yes, you can actually - but then you need to pay 75€ extra, and get i big, noisy terrible machine that dont do the job anyway.
Nothing comes for free in this complex, you cant even use the sunbeds around the pool for free, they charge you an extra 7€ for this.There is a gym as well, but of course that comes with a charge.Wifi that is free in most modern hotels today is a huge 20€ for a week.
Location is quite good of you want to be close to the beach, but besides that there is nothing nice around the area when it comes to dining, unless you like pizza 7 nights a week, you are surrounded by them - mainly vans parked outside the building.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EK .SCOTLAND
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Very nice hotel basic apartments but nice.pool area was really nice and clean and the bar was nice and served nice meals with friendly staff.pitty about the reception bad opening times had to wait 2hours to get keys. But staff were nice.nice beach area close by and main resorts not far cannes only 10min in car 30min to nice.we are hopeing to go back this year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

perfect for families wanting to stay near Cannes or NIce but not being able to afford the prices in either place.Apartmenst are simple and plain with little furniture or cutlery typically french.you need to take or hire linen and towels.Nice and dark rooms at night due to shutters.Lovely pools ideal toddler one and one for rest of us.Nice poolside restaurant serving meals ro just drinks around pool.Airport bus stops outside go any wehre for 1.30 euros.Catch the same bus to Nice or Cannes.very handy no car needed or recommended.Playground,bakery,beach both private and lpublic all within 5 mins walk.Would recommend this property and recommend you book through a travel agent as I did so you know what you are getting for you family.It is not luxury just good old fashioned simple self catering.

  • Liked — loaction and toddlers pool
  • Disliked — buying bin liners
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

I've just read the other rewiew sabout Open Golf and I really want to
express my disapproval.

I've stayed there with my boyfriend three times, each time for a week at the and of December (2004-2005-2006). The first time we booked our stay by a travel agent but during the stay we noticed the precision and the courtesy of the staff, so the other two times we decided to contact the property directly for the reservation. No problems.

The complex is really nice, composed by five/six blocks of building situated in a peaceful big garden with a pool.

First of all, me too I have to say that this is an aparthotel. That means, you have an apartment for your own, so you have to clean it and make your bed by yourself.

The apartments are spaciuos, with a complete kitchen (with dishwasher), a living room, a bedroom and a big balcony equipped with
table, chairs and even a clothes rack. There are two kind of apartments:
- standards, which have a very small bedroom, with a small window too
- superiors, whose bedroom is bigger and has direct access to the balcony. The superior treatment includes free towels and sheets at your arrive.

NOTE: II think it is really a "luxury" having a bedroom in a residence...in the most of cases they usually have only a sofabed in the kitchen...

All apartments have indipendent heating, but do NOT have A/C (howewer
in winter It obviously wasn't a problem for us)

The last time we stayed there, the heating system didn't work. The reception closed at 8.00 PM and the line of the telephone in our apartment was interrupted. I went in the hall and asked the barman for help. He has been very nice with me; he sent a technician at our apartment the same evening and next morning the problem was solved.

I can say that everithing was adeguated for the price.

I definitely recommend this residence to everyone who wants to spend a peaceful holiday near Montecarlo, Nizza, Cannes but as he was at home.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

I was an adult traveling with other adults and 20 high school students. We came to the Cote d' Azur from Paris, where it was warm, but bearable. It was easily in the 90s and very humid our 4 days/3 nights in the South of France.

This place was most disappointing. The rooms, while spacious, have no AC or fans. When it is hot, humid, and without a breeze, they are worse than saunas! I drenched the sheets on my bed with sweat on both nights.

The restaurant staff was rude. Period. No other way to describe it. The bartender, on the other hand, was a good chap.

The grounds are very nice, the pool is adequate for a plunge, however, the close it at 7 PM! And they will not budge on that time. Period. A nice late evening plunge to combat the heat would have been wonderful.

I concur with the other reviewers about the linen issue. My wife inadvertently flooded the bathroom with the shower, and we sopped it up with our towels. It cost me 12 euros to get a fresh set of towels. The front desk's comment was, we only change towels every two days for tour groups. Very dismissive. We were glad to leave.

On the positive, there is a nice patisserie about .5 Km east of the hotel in Antibes. The sand beach is nice -- the kids had a ball there.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Open Golfe Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Open Golfe Juan

Address: Avenue Georges Pompidou, 06220 Golfe-Juan Vallauris, Antibes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Antibes > Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Open Golfe Juan 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Residence Open Golfe Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residences Hotelieres Open Hotel Golfe-Juan Vallauris
Residence Open Golfe Juan France/Golfe-Juan Vallauris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Open Golfe Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.