We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of any facilities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Eza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Eza to your Saves list
Chateau Eza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de la Pise, 06360 Eze, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Eze
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lack of any facilities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

There is no doubt that the location of the chateau Eza is spectacular. However if your idea of a holiday is to relax on a sun lounger or sit by a pool, or visit the spa, or on a spacious balcony, this hotel will not suit you. Our room was very dingy, had no bath and no balcony. (I know - we should have checked...) The carpet was stained. There is no space anywhere where you can sit and relax. When we stayed it seemed understaffed. Instead of staying the week we had booked we checked out after one night. The hotel receptionist apologised, saying it had happened before. The apology, however did not extend to any of our fee being returned. We accept that we made a mistake, however might they not have even given us the bottle of water from our minibar as a gesture of goodwill? Sadly no. A very expensive mistake on our part.

Room Tip: Check whether it has a bath or a balcony. Avoid the Corniche room if you like light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    33
    16
    15
    12
See reviews for
25
176
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at the Chateau Eza on this our second visit to the Cote d'Azur. We were smitten with the hilltown of Eze during our last visit and committed to staying at the Chateau if we returned. Our commitment paid off in that we experienced a level of service, hospitality, elegance and ornateness that will be difficult to match. The Chateau, which used to function as a vacation home for the Prince of Sweden some time ago, provides stunning views of the Cote d'Azur and the intoxicating Mediterranean 400 meters below. Breakfast on a balcony hanging over the cliffside above the mediterranean sea was a breathtaking experience as is dinner at the Chateau's restaurant.

We stayed in a sizeable two story suite with a stonewalled massive bedroom with a balcony providing amazing views, a seperate sitting area and a very elegant bathroom with a sunken bathtub and glass enclosed shower for my husband and me, while the kids stayed on the first floor in their seperate bedroom, foyer and seperate spacious bathroom. Every night we arrived to have hot tea and jummy treats on slate trays waiting for us. The decore, lighting, TVs, WIFI and other amenities in our suite left nothing to be desired.

While dinner at the five star restaurant is expensive, the quality of every course and the choreographed service and the artistry of the meal presentations is unforgetable. The service by the Hotel staff, particulary Stephanie and Elitsa was outstanding - they made wonderful dinner recommendations, secured reservations, ensured that our car was ready for us upon request, provided us with umbrellas in anticipation of some rain, and had staff ready to assist us with our 4:30 am departure. Staying here is a dream come true and an experience which we hope to repeat soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This place is just amazing. We were treated like royalty from the moment we dropped the car at the bottom of the village to the second we left. Everyone is incredibly friendly and helpful, the restaurant is over the top- as is the room service. No amenity is overlooked, of course, but everything is taken to a different level. Yes, of course it has monogrammed robes, but also monogrammed towels, monogrammed bath mats, sheets and even his-and-hers slippers. Of course there's turndown service, but instead of chocolate it's warm chocolate brownies (of a sort) and a pot of hot tea. Sure, there's a fireplace, but this one, with the royal crest of a Swedish prince, is large enough to bake a hippo and raging once lit. It feels regal and ancient until, of course, you get into the bathroom where it feels regal and modern with a sparkling glass rain shower, glittering jetted soaker tub and one of those pet-like Toto toilets that opens when it senses you and warms the seat (plus a variety of other snicker-worthy options).
The bed is comfortable with the greatest pillows, which is almost a shame because the real joy of this place is its terrace. You will be angry that you stayed indoors for a nanosecond more than the minimum once on the terrace and overlooking the bay and sea. You won't have much reason to leave it, either, as it has a whole compliment of cozy furniture and a hottub that made me rethink how trashy I thought hottubs were. But it's really about the view. It's amazing- once again, it's amazing. If you don't think a view can revitalize you and possibly add years to your life then do yourself a favor and visit. Speaking of favor, do this place a favor and pack as light as you can manage because one of their kind services is to lug your bags the entire length of the village, which is almost completely vertical, up many staircases and cobbled streets, to your room. We almost killed our porter- luckily he has that rejuvenating view- and I vowed to spread the word.
Of course the village is wonderful and topped with a great little unexpected botanical garden of succulents. The best view- rivaling our terrace!- is from there. An adorable cafe is right beneath it with a reasonable breakfast, maybe the only reasonable one in the whole village. By the way, the village is a whole different place at night. It's silent, completely deserted and almost mystical. I highly recommend Eze and Eza.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We spent 3 nights in the Medieval Suite and it was very pleasant. The staff are all friendly, with a slight tendency to over familiarity, a tricky line to judge, I know. The food was quite superb, some of the best we have ever eaten and the Sommelier was helpful and knowledgable. Our room was very comfortable and had a large balcony with a jacuzzi and wonderful views. I have one criticism and that is privacy. There were two balconies directly above us and their occupants had a full view of us at all times. In fact, one evening an olive landed on the floor between my husband and myself. It came from one of these balconies. It would be this single problem which would stop me from returning to the Chateau Eza.

Room Tip: Ask for one not overlooked by other balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our room had a balcony with the most fabulous view along the Cote D'Azure where we sipped champagne and basked in the sun. A gloriously ornate four poster bed and sumptuous bathroom completed the experience. We dined in the restaurant on the 7 course taster which was delicious. The staff were friendly and very helpful though do check the cost on the wine list...you could be in for a rather expensive surprise otherwise. The village it is situated in is a labyrinth of delights and we were pleased we did the steep descent on foot to Eze Bord De Mer and the lovely pebbly beach - my calves protested for days afterwards though!

Room Tip: The Garden Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had I not also stayed at Chateau de la Chevre d'Or, I may have given five stars. I stayed at Chateau Eza my first night in Eze and was very impressed with the village in general and the hotel. The welcome drinks were excellent and the view from the balcony was amazing. The service all around was definitely 5 star. Mr. Martin at reception was so kind and helpful and our room was on two levels and was very clean and cozy. We had the tiniest view of the ocean from our bedroom window, which was nice because we weren't expecting it. However, we were not impressed with the water pressure in the shower, which was such a shame because it was such a beautiful, big shower, and we were not very impressed with the restaurant at the hotel. The service at the restaurant was impeccable, but the food was just pretty good. I have definitely had better and for the outrageous prices (240 euro for the two of us), I was not impressed. I also wasn't very impressed with their breakfast buffet. The patio you eat it on was fantastic, but the food was just like any other hotel. In general, this definitely is a five star hotel, but I would recommend staying at the other five star hotel in the village (Chateau de la Chevre d'Or), which happened to be the exact same price the weekend we stayed. It was just a little more special and luxurious.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Me, my husband, and my mother in law had a lovely two week vacation in France and spent our last two nights at this chateau. Once we arrived to the hotel, we received a warm reception with a glass of champagne on their private balcony. We were blown away from the views and knew right away that this was the cherry on top to our wonderful trip. Both of our rooms were very charming and had excellent views. We had dinner one of the nights and very much enjoyed the cuisine and service. We definitely recommend eating here!

I only have two criticisms for our stay: 1. The water in our showers never went beyond luke warm. This might not be an issue for some, but I enjoy hot showers so this was a disappointment for me. 2. They advertise free wifi but it rarely worked for us. When it did connect, it was almost not even worth it because it was so slow. We went to the office multiple times to resolve the issue and they kept giving us new passwords. They mentioned that they were trying out a new system to limit the amount of users on their wifi, but unfortunately, it wasn't quite ironed out for our stay.

Overall, the pros certainly outweigh the cons and I definitely recommend anyone to stay here!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Eza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Eza

Address: Rue de la Pise, 06360 Eze, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Eze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Eze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Eza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A BOUTIQUE HOTEL ON THE COTE D' AZUROf all the hotels on the Cote d'Azur, Château Eza is the most stunning, with a Michelin-starred restaurant, tucked away in one of the most enchanting locations on the Côte d' Azur.Exquisite and intimate, the 11 room and suite château clings to the side of the ancient rock walls of Eze, a thousand-year-old medieval village more than 400 metres above the Mediterranean Sea. Chateau Eza offers 10 luxurious rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Eza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Eza Èze
Chateau Eza Hotel Èze

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Eza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.