We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, but sad lack of privacy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Eza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Eza to your Saves list
Chateau Eza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de la Pise, 06360 Eze, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Eze
Nice, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, but sad lack of privacy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We spent 3 nights in the Medieval Suite and it was very pleasant. The staff are all friendly, with a slight tendency to over familiarity, a tricky line to judge, I know. The food was quite superb, some of the best we have ever eaten and the Sommelier was helpful and knowledgable. Our room was very comfortable and had a large balcony with a jacuzzi and wonderful views. I have one criticism and that is privacy. There were two balconies directly above us and their occupants had a full view of us at all times. In fact, one evening an olive landed on the floor between my husband and myself. It came from one of these balconies. It would be this single problem which would stop me from returning to the Chateau Eza.

Room Tip: Ask for one not overlooked by other balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    33
    16
    15
    12
See reviews for
25
177
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our room had a balcony with the most fabulous view along the Cote D'Azure where we sipped champagne and basked in the sun. A gloriously ornate four poster bed and sumptuous bathroom completed the experience. We dined in the restaurant on the 7 course taster which was delicious. The staff were friendly and very helpful though do check the cost on the wine list...you could be in for a rather expensive surprise otherwise. The village it is situated in is a labyrinth of delights and we were pleased we did the steep descent on foot to Eze Bord De Mer and the lovely pebbly beach - my calves protested for days afterwards though!

Room Tip: The Garden Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had I not also stayed at Chateau de la Chevre d'Or, I may have given five stars. I stayed at Chateau Eza my first night in Eze and was very impressed with the village in general and the hotel. The welcome drinks were excellent and the view from the balcony was amazing. The service all around was definitely 5 star. Mr. Martin at reception was so kind and helpful and our room was on two levels and was very clean and cozy. We had the tiniest view of the ocean from our bedroom window, which was nice because we weren't expecting it. However, we were not impressed with the water pressure in the shower, which was such a shame because it was such a beautiful, big shower, and we were not very impressed with the restaurant at the hotel. The service at the restaurant was impeccable, but the food was just pretty good. I have definitely had better and for the outrageous prices (240 euro for the two of us), I was not impressed. I also wasn't very impressed with their breakfast buffet. The patio you eat it on was fantastic, but the food was just like any other hotel. In general, this definitely is a five star hotel, but I would recommend staying at the other five star hotel in the village (Chateau de la Chevre d'Or), which happened to be the exact same price the weekend we stayed. It was just a little more special and luxurious.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Me, my husband, and my mother in law had a lovely two week vacation in France and spent our last two nights at this chateau. Once we arrived to the hotel, we received a warm reception with a glass of champagne on their private balcony. We were blown away from the views and knew right away that this was the cherry on top to our wonderful trip. Both of our rooms were very charming and had excellent views. We had dinner one of the nights and very much enjoyed the cuisine and service. We definitely recommend eating here!

I only have two criticisms for our stay: 1. The water in our showers never went beyond luke warm. This might not be an issue for some, but I enjoy hot showers so this was a disappointment for me. 2. They advertise free wifi but it rarely worked for us. When it did connect, it was almost not even worth it because it was so slow. We went to the office multiple times to resolve the issue and they kept giving us new passwords. They mentioned that they were trying out a new system to limit the amount of users on their wifi, but unfortunately, it wasn't quite ironed out for our stay.

Overall, the pros certainly outweigh the cons and I definitely recommend anyone to stay here!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend with family to celebrate my wife's birthday and had the most amazing time. Everything about the hotel, from the welcome, the rooms, the views, the ambiance and the staff was all superb.
With our private dining room and terrace for our special celebration meal, we could not have asked for more.
Would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Having heard about Chateau Eza from a Samantha brown episode on Monte Carlo, we booked a lunch during a recent trip to the cote d'azur.
surviving the intense walk up to the near top of Eze, (not for the physically challenged), we arrived to a warm welcome and the most amazing balcony table overlooking the Med. The service was prompt and friendly. We were recommended to each try a different tasting menu as a means of maximizing the experience. Excellent idea. Combined with a wonderful white wine selection from the Sommelier, it was an afternoon to remember. Kudos and highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuertingen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were staying for 1 night with a kid. Personal was very nice and helpful, upgraded room wich was better to stay with a kid. Breakfast very very delicious and view having breakfast in Terrace was incredible. Parking space very limited but solved very good by personal, up on arrival you just give your to very nice guys and you forget all troubles, they park your car and get your luggage to your room. Welcome drink with amazing view included !

Room Tip: We were staying in Royal Junior Suit, very spacious but balcony is with limited space, though just f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Eza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Eza

Address: Rue de la Pise, 06360 Eze, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Eze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Eze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Eza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A BOUTIQUE HOTEL ON THE COTE D' AZUROf all the hotels on the Cote d'Azur, Château Eza is the most stunning, with a Michelin-starred restaurant, tucked away in one of the most enchanting locations on the Côte d' Azur.Exquisite and intimate, the 11 room and suite château clings to the side of the ancient rock walls of Eze, a thousand-year-old medieval village more than 400 metres above the Mediterranean Sea. Chateau Eza offers 10 luxurious rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Eza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Eza Èze
Chateau Eza Hotel Èze

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Eza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.