We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Eza

Save Saved
You added Chateau Eza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Eza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de la Pise, 06360 Eze, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Eze
Harvey Western Australia
1 review
“Heaven on earth!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this amazing hotel. Staff were fantastic and very helpful.
Our room, Jardin, had the most incredible views from our private balcony. Breakfast here was breathtaking, looking out across the Côte d'Azur . Be prepared to walk up many steps, but it is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    31
    13
    13
    12
See reviews for
23
160
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you're looking for a WOW place to stay you will want to check out this amazing spot. On top of Eze Village and overlooking the the French Riviera, Chateau Eze is beyond stunning. Every detail is done with impeccable care. The staff seem to out number the guests of this 10 room hotel. Prompt, attentive and very courteous service. We stayed in the Jardin Suite with the best terrace view of the Mediterranean sea. You'll want to just sit there and absorb the view and tranquility. We were very surprised at the modern and luxurious washroom complete with shower and separate jacuzzi bath. And heated towel rack as nights can get cool up this high! Nightly turn down service is very thoughtful..let's just say they go beyond the chocolate on the pillow concept. We enjoyed our anniversary dinner at the hotel restaurant. We did the chef's tasting menu that was beautifully presented and delicious. Our table location was spectacular as we enjoyed the sunset over the mountains and watched as the twinkling lights glow in the darkness along the coast.

The medieval village itself is rich with history. There are a few very friendly restaurants, shop keepers and art galleries. Wear your walking shoes as the old stone pathways are not meant for stilettos. The walkways can sometimes be steep. Wander through the village at your leisure but our favourite time of the day was after dinner when the village was lit up with warm glowing nights. Hardly any other tourists at this time but the shops/galleries/restos remain open. Taverna is delicious with comfort foods of home-made pastas and warm service. Check out Dimitri Parant's subliminal art gallery in another nook or have a drink on the terrace or lounge at Chèvre d'Or.
Wander into the centuries old church and cemetery. Visit the cactus garden at the top of Eze.

Eze is very picturesque so make sure you take the time to just wander through the this amazing spot. Do not miss it! And if you can, stay a couple nights at Chateau Eze. It's truly worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Okay, I didn't actually stay here, but we did have a drink on the terrace of this hotel which is perched at the top of the most charming little storybook village I have ever seen. The town of Eze, on the French Riviera, located between Nice and Monte Carlo, is not to be missed if you are ever in the region. I heard that Walt Disney spent quite a bit of time here and I bet he used this village as model for his animated storybook movies or maybe even fantasy land. Just a guess. Anyway the hotel which is very small looks like a fabulous place to stay and I hope to get back there one day.

Room Tip: From the brochure they only have a handful of rooms. The suites are very expensive and the standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beira, Mozambique
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We found Hotel Eza a very unique and charming hotel. We stayed in the "Jardin" suite for 4 nights and certainly were not disappointed with our luxurious room with a stunning view of the Mediterranean Sea! The staff were helpful. friendly and very professional at all times! There was a fabulous Michelin star restaurant just below our room which we tried the first evening! We also tried the the La Chevre D'or 5 mins away walk from our room, this is a 2 Michelin star restaurant which was superb! A bit pricey but delicious food and great ambience! The location of this hotel is perfect as only 15 mins away from Monaco and 25 mins drive to Nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We just left Chateau Eza after a spectacular 4-day visit. I do not think I have adequate words to describe how fantastic everything was, from the beautiful room, the staggering view from the private balcony, and the glorious bathroom (which my husband will never stop talking about). What made this trip extra special was the very personal and special treatment by everyone on the hotel staff. They knew us by name and made every detail special. I have never felt more cared for as a guest in all of my travels around the world. We cannot wait to go back to Chateau Eza!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Loved this property. Loved park your car in the bottom of the hill where valet is waiting. Loved the village which is totally pedestrian and artsy. Loved the restaurant at the edge of the cliff. A great hotel to come to as a couple. It is romantic and alluring. A great property

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a splurge, but you will get what you pay for, and then some. To start with, access to the hotel is not for the faint of heart. Because of the village's location at the top of a rocky crag, you must park with a valet and walk quite a ways up steep slopes and steps. But very, very picturesque steps though an old village built of stone and covered in greenery. Once at the hotel, you will be met with flawless service and beautiful newly renovated rooms. The hotel is a combination of twelve rooms combined from separate/semi-joined stone town houses. We initially booked a Jr suite and got a two level. Room with a lower living room with a couch-bed and its own full bath (dark and no view, but great for a family) with a master bedroom with a small terrace overlooking the sea (and its own full bath). We upgraded ourselves to a suite next to the office. The bathroom has what I affectionately called a "disco shower", a self-contained spa shower with color-therapy LED lighting, music (if you want it), a steam sauna (which I now can't live without), and more various water jets than are strictly sane. As if that were not extravagant enough, the room also has a very high-end Japanese Toto bidet-toilet. To complete the spa experience, the large terrace off the living room had a two-person jacuzzi with the best views of the Riviera coastline and Cap Ferrat outside of a helicopter. The bedroom has a vaulted ceiling with a walk-in closet. The furnishings are very high quality. And every evening for turn-down the staff leaves a set of tea and cookies. In addition to the fabulous rooms, the hotel has an equally fabulous restaurant with stunning views and very professional staff, and a great cliff-side bar area (which is also where breakfast is served, also excellent). The village of Eze itself has several cute galleries and shops, along with many nice cafes, and an excellent (and moderately priced alternative to the Michelin-starred restaurant of the hotel) Italian restaurant just a few hundred feet away from the reception office. You are also a few minutes walk from an amazing hill-top cactus/exotic garden (small entry fee).

If you want to be near action and bustle, then staying in Eze is not for you. But if you want to see the Riviera from a quiet and scenic (and exclusive) retreat, then it's fantastic, and Hotel Eza is the choice for you.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Eza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Eza

Address: Rue de la Pise, 06360 Eze, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Eze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Eze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Eza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A BOUTIQUE HOTEL ON THE COTE D' AZUROf all the hotels on the Cote d'Azur, Château Eza is the most stunning, with a Michelin-starred restaurant, tucked away in one of the most enchanting locations on the Côte d' Azur.Exquisite and intimate, the 11 room and suite château clings to the side of the ancient rock walls of Eze, a thousand-year-old medieval village more than 400 metres above the Mediterranean Sea. Chateau Eza offers 10 luxurious rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Eza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Eza Èze
Chateau Eza Hotel Èze

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Eza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.