We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque scenery.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Eza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Eza to your Saves list
Chateau Eza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de la Pise, 06360 Eze, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Eze
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Picturesque scenery.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is suitable for those people who love beautiful and picturesque scenery. It's located in a medieval village . The view from the hotel is beautiful and the terrace is very nice. Our room was in princely style and reminded the room of a castles. I liked the choice of maintaining an old-fashioned and princely style in the room, but at the same time the bathroom was very modern and comfortable . The restaurant is choice and it's very famous.
The hotel was very good but I also found some flaws.
You have to walk to the hotel (not car). The area is very picturesque but also crowded and full of tourists. The hotel and restaurant are very expensive, so be careful especially beverages and spirits.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    36
    17
    17
    12
See reviews for
33
204
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We started with a welcome drink and canapés having arrived at this amazing hotel. Then we were showed to our room where we had been upgraded to a suite with gorgeous views of the med from the balcony with a jacuzzi. Service was excellent and restaurant divine with gorgeous food and wine served by very friendly staff. We had the degustation meal with matching wines. The village was a delight, particularly when it was quieter after tourists had gone. Great location to explore the Côte d'Azur and Monte Carlo. Would love to return as truly one of the finest hotels.

Room Tip: The suite with full view of the med from the balcony was divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Chateau Eza. The staff were lovely and we were treated really well.
I would like to mention a couple of points before you book though... we travelled from Cannes and did not have a hire car so we took the train(1.5 hours) to Eze and then there is a 20 minute bus journey (once an hour) (1euro) or a taxi (45 euros) . Once you arrive at Eze village you have to walk quite a way to get to the hotel - there is a hotel drop off point for the luggage but if you have any problems walking then this is not the place for you.

It is a medieval village and has the amazing views because it it right at the top of quite a steep cobbled walk! I felt that for £360 a night (not inc breakfast) our room was small - but again, it's a medieval village so you can't expect a massive room. Also as we had gone for the cheapest room, i am sure that the other rooms would have been more impressive. The bathroom was all marble and fabulous with lovely l'occitaine toiletries and the most amazing shower!

I think everything was at a premium because it's such a special one off place. On arrival we were given a lovely champagne cocktail and nibbles on our own private balcony which was lovely! We ate in the restaurant - it was incredibly tasty - we had the taster menu. This is £110 per person and the cheapest white wine on the menu is 70 euros a bottle plus if you have an apperitif which we had - £25 a glass and you can see how the total cost just keeps rising... it was lovely and we couldn't fault it but I have had taster menus at other mich star restaurants that were equally as nice and not as expensive as this. I think it is a very special place but perhaps because of the view they charge a little too much!

Service was excellent & was very romantic

Room Tip: Maybe pay more to get a better room/ view/ balcony ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

What a wonderful jewel in the midst of the busy Cote D'Azur. Perched high above the crowds and within the enchanting medieval walls of Eze Village. Romantic and charming in all aspects. Even witnessed an engagement while dining in the spectacular restaurant.

Room Tip: You definitely want the Rivera view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel lives up to its reputation providing luxury accommodation, attentive service, gourmet cuisine and in an unbelievably fairytale setting; the only fault is the amount of tourists roaming the village and narrow passageways. Busloads of people are ushered up nonstop and the crowds really take away from the magic. With only two luxury hotels both charging a minimum of $500 per night, I expect some type of exclusivity; perhaps they should somehow restrict the number of people, or at least require them to dress in period-appropriate garb (ha ha just kidding). All in all, it was a beautiful hotel and the views alone are worth every penny.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony. We stayed in the Marie Antoinette and it has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We tried ordering gin and tonic on the terrace - sorry none available. Uh, ok, a glass of Rose and could I also have some water, I'm thirsty after climbing all the steps to get here. Rose good but water never materialised. Can I have this Rose with our meal? No, sorry, it's just a Rose for the terrace. Ok. Can we have a bottle of the Chablis? No, sorry, we have no more. Ok, can we have that bottle? Yes, but it's our last one. Can you take our photo. Sure, I'll be back in 2 mins (not he won't).

Food was good but not mind blowing. All average with surprisingly poor stock of available options. It's not like we were asking for bizarre cocktails, seriously rare wines or water! For high season to be that run down was a little exasperating. The bill that then arrived was then the wrong one - on the whole, just a little sloppy.

Slightly disingenuous advertising too - advertised as having private beach. In reality, when you arrive and just want to pop down for a quick swim, forget it - the beaches are far off and they have arrangements with other peoples private beaches where you need to pay for loungers at 15-20 euro a pop whether it's 10 mins or 3 hours. Plus they lean on you rather heavily to buy drinks, so it really is not - 'access to private beach' in the way most people would interpret that to be.

View and setting however a truly spectacular and if you're in good company then you don't mind paying the prices so much. It is a special occasion place and seeing the moonlight sparking off the seemingly infinite water it does feel very special.

The view however and string

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
90 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed for one night in a room with a small balcony and side sea view. Room was very well renovated and clean. On arrival I had a welcome bowl of fabulous fresh fruits and a bottle of champagne. Reception staff were very helpful and efficient. Dinner service was perfect and the meal outstanding - great food, service and a stunning location and view. It is expensive but it is absolutely worth it. The suites with the jacuzzis on the terraces looked amazing. Eza is also a lovely hilltop village. Car valet was waiting on arrival as promised and appeared a few mins after me with my bags - on departure, whilst I ate breakfast he collected bags and had my car ready. One of the few hotels that has every element working - I will definitely go back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Chateau Eza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Eza

Address: Rue de la Pise, 06360 Eze, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Eze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Eze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Eza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A BOUTIQUE HOTEL ON THE COTE D' AZUROf all the hotels on the Cote d'Azur, Château Eza is the most stunning, with a Michelin-starred restaurant, tucked away in one of the most enchanting locations on the Côte d' Azur.Exquisite and intimate, the 11 room and suite château clings to the side of the ancient rock walls of Eze, a thousand-year-old medieval village more than 400 metres above the Mediterranean Sea. Chateau Eza offers 10 luxurious rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Eza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Eza Èze
Chateau Eza Hotel Èze

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Eza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.