We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class views from this eagle nest but highly overpriced restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de la Chevre d'Or

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de la Chevre d'Or to your Saves list
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Barri, 06360 Eze, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Eze
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“World class views from this eagle nest but highly overpriced restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

These are among the most stunning views in the Mediterranean. From this eagle nest you see Cap Ferrat's beautiful peninsula. The hotel is an integral part of the medival style village of Eze hanging out from face of the steep mountain face high above the sea. Rooms are all different and many of them with a sea view. The only 3 problems with this place are the gourmet restaurant, the attitude some staff have and the taxiservices organized by the hotel. We go from time to time to Michelin star restaurants and can confirm that the food is of high quality but should be provided at close to half price to be fair compared to other excellent establishments. For example main courses are priced at Eur 120 alone. Some staff are unpleasantly overconfident and does not understand customer satisfaction. Another employee told us he was afraid for getting sacked if he did not try to sell us the most expensive champagne and carry our glasses between the bar and the dinning room. The hotel staff must get some sort of kick back when booking transportation. The cost to go with taxi next door to Nice for shopping was Eur 65 when the hotel booked it and it was Eur 25 going back in an even nicer big Mercedes taxi we picked up in Nice. You leave the hotel with both great memories but also with some bitter taste. I think for most guests it is a tick off but never something to return to.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    58
    22
    17
    6
See reviews for
42
294
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

How can you describe a hotel that is in a castle? This has to be one of the most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed in. Yes, it is expensive but this is one in a lifetime experience and the staff are great.

When you arrive you come to a gate where you are greeted by a porter who seems to know your name. He directs you to reception and then parks your car. The walk to the reception is incredible. You see the gardens, the statutes, the flora, and the sea. The site is breathtaking. In fact, it took my wife and I ten minutes to make the walk to the reception area because we stopped off every few feet to take in another incredible view.

We finally arrived at the reception area and we checked into our room - which also was incredible. The room was actually a suite consisting of a good size bedroom, huge bath, nice sitting area, and incredibly large walk in closet. Plus, we had a patio-terrace. We booked this hotel for one night but decided to stay over an extra night.

My only complaint is the length of the walk from the parking area to the rooms all of it without any cover. It is quite a hike and on our second night there it rained as if it were a hurricane. The cobblestone walkway and numerous stairs became slick and my wife fell on the slippery walkway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had booked this place because of it's membership with Relais & Chateaux, as we usualy travel with them and are never disappointed.
we arrived while it was raining as hell, with a real thunderstorm. From the moment we arrived by car, the porters directed us to the reception with umbrellas and took care of our luggage. We found them back, a little later, in our room. This was quite a job, as the car park was quite far from the reception area. This magical hotel is located in a medieval village in the hights of Eze Village. We were escorted to our rooms through the small alleys of the village. Magical !! Our room was a suite, so more than enough space, as was the bathroom, with jacuzzi bath and walkin shower.
To forget everything about the bad weather, we went to the bar and enjoyed a great bottle of Champagne with home made miniardises. Absolutely wonderful.
In the morning, when opening the curtains, oh my god, a stunning, breath taking, view. The rain from the day before was gone and left a blue sky with a beautifull sun shine. Oh wawh !!
The view is just undiscribable...
We left our beautiful room to get a energizing breakfast and there again we could enjoy the same incredible view.
Everything to make your romantic stay perfect.
After our breakfast we enjoyed our walk through the property taking stairs up and down, all with the same view and sunshine.
To every nice thing comes an end, so also to this and we had to leave.
We will be back, but for a few days longer, to enjoy the view, gastronomy of the restaurant,
Oh, I forgot to mention the high class of the staff. They went out of their way to help us out with everything. They were never in a rush and took the time for everything.
Many thx to all the staff for an unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: No tips needed, every room is great. If you want to spend a bit more, take a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Antonio the concierge is absolutely awesome! The staff with their happy smiles always made our day. I don't know where people got the idea that the french are snobs because this whole trip we were treated so well. I thoroughly enjoy the stay and if you can afford to stay at this place don't hesitate. It's worth every single dollar. The place has so much history and the architecture is one to admire. Sitting in the garden and enjoying the view, reading on your balcony, chilling in the spa and working your way around the village. The adventure is worth the weekend.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for a sea view it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This place is, in a word, magical. Tucked into a medieval village high atop a cliff with breathtaking views of the glistening Mediterranean. The room was a unique multi-level arrangement with an upstairs bedroom with windows opening out to the ocean. The terraced gardens and pool are immaculately kept and, thanks to the small number of rooms, usually empty. The staff are worthy of the hotels five star status as well. A sunset dinner at the hotel restaurant, perched at the highest point, is a must.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, ça
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary and it was absolutely spectacular. The hotel room was two story and had every amenity and was beautifully appointed. The staff couldn't have been nicer. It is a 5 star hotel and earns every one of them. The views from our room as well as the pool and gardens are incredible. We had drinks out on the terrace and dined at their 2 Michelin star restaurant that evening--a true culinary experience. One we will never forget. We fell in love with tis quaint and charming town and plan on returning next year for a much longer stay.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a sea view--it is worth the upgraded cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I had the most remarkable stay. We have traveled extensively throughout France and this place is at the top of the list (maybe tying with a few others). From the moment we were greeted, we were made to feel like royalty. The care to attention, the beauty of the grounds, the on site Michelin starred restaurant and the quaint village "on the grounds" made it the perfect place for a few nights. I'm into gardens and this place takes the cakes. There are sculpture gardens and at the top of the village, what they call an "exotic garden." (It's a tropical desert garden). NB-This is not part of the grounds and there is a minor charge to get in. The staff was perfect; the room was very nice. There's only one very important thing to understand about this place - if you have ANY hip, knee or walking issues, this is on steep property; even our room had a spiral staircase so the bathroom is on a different floor than the bedroom. The room was a 3 floor suite - not the greatest layout, but very cool with amazing window views from each floor - well worth it if you're physical condition can withstand it. We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de la Chevre d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Chevre d'Or

Address: Rue du Barri, 06360 Eze, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Eze
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Eze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de la Chevre d'Or 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Château de la Chèvre d'Or in the medieval city of Eze sits between the sky and the Mediterranean Sea and offers a rare, warm, family-friendly atmosphere. 30 rooms, 6 suites and 1 Presidential suite. “La Chèvre d’Or” gourmet restaurant (2 Michelin stars)- “Les Remparts” Mediterranean restaurant terrace (lunch only). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chateau de la Chevre d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Chevre d`Or Hotel
Chateau Chevre d

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de la Chevre d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.