We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Overlooking The Sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de la Chevre d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de la Chevre d'Or to your Saves list
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Barri, 06360 Eze, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Eze
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Paradise Overlooking The Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Two years ago, my husband and I visited Eze and loved it there. This year, 5 friends and I visited Eze and, again, I feel in love with the area and each of them did too. Although we didn't stay at Chateau de la Chevre d'Or we spent the day in Eze and we had wine and hors d' oeuvres in the Chateau garden overlooking the sea. It was a magical part of our day. The staff was so accommodating and the view was beyond breath-taking.

As I write, I can still feel the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    70
    31
    20
    7
See reviews for
53
360
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have just returned from 5 nights at this amazing hotel. It was our first taste of this part of France, and it met all our expectations, and surpassed some.
This very delightful hotel has charm and romantic views by the bucket load. An ideal honeymoon destination (if you have deep pockets)!
It is worth paying extra for a suite, as they have the best views (over the bay to Cap Ferrat).
Don't go here if you are on a budget though, a bowl of soup (all be it a very good soup) in the main resteraunt is €115!!!!!!!!
We loved this hotel, and will return. The staff are very good and the whole experience was memorable.
It's also worth a walk to Chataeux Eze for a lovely evening meal.

Room Tip: Don't expect this to be like a normal single building hotel. It is a mix of village houses and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Chèvre D'or.
We were absolutely blown away by the location, views and rustic atmosphere.
My husband wishes he could have a bathroom man cave like the one we had in our room with the double spa bath, gorgeous toiletries, fluffy bath towels and a complimentary candle from Galimard.
We enjoyed lazing on the deck chairs, cocktails on the terrace and dinner and breakfast at Eden.
I spent a beautiful time exploring and photographing the rose gardens.
It comes at a price but goodness me we enjoyed it!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in seaview junior suite with terrace. Very pricey, but worth it. Staff is exceptional and Eze is an amazing medieval village. The rooms are all unique because they are spread out throughout the village.
Each one has it's own quirks (I stubbed my toe nightly on the step in the bathroom) but they are charming and the views are unreal.

The restaurants are very expensive and to be honest I had more fun dining at "La Taverna" in the village than dropping 1k plus per couple in the formal restaurant. The other Restaurant Eden has a great view, and that's what you're paying for.

Concierge service helped us arrange our further travel in France.

All in all a magical place and one where we will return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

So this place was absolutely beautiful! The views are incredible all the way around the hotel. The manner in which this hotel has incorporated itself into the old terraced landscape is breathtaking!

Our room was spectacular. The hot tub was built into the cliff wall and so we had one entire wall of our bathroom made of nothing but old rock. The rest of the room, both upstairs and down was marble.

The staff was incredibly nice and pleasant for the most part. The valet staff and room service staff were incredibly friendly.

Our only complaints had to do with the price of everything else. $82euros for a room service breakfast which consisted of breads/croissants, yogurt, orange juice, coffee, and two small omelettes.

At the bar, the tiniest of champagne cocktails were $25euros each! They were both gone in a few disappointing sips. Lunch and dinner were equally as expensive and we decided to stay away from the restaurants. We ended up buying our own wines from the souvenir shops 100meters down the driveway and sipping them at the pool and were perfect with just that.

Overall it was worth it to spend the money for the views and opulence, but after that the prices were nothing short of exorbitant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Another gem along the Cote d'Azur tucked high away from the mainstream. Located within the walls of Eze Village; this beautiful oasis has breathtaking views of the Rivera but boosts an art gallery amongst it's gardens and property. Unlike Chateau Eze, you can park right at the base of the property and has a swimming pool. The stunning restaurant canalevers out over the edge where your eyes just gazed up and down the coast watching the spectacular yachts and mega yachts come and go along the Med.

Room Tip: There are several to choose from but definitely overlooking Med.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband & I recently stayed at the Chateau de la Chevre D'or and it was one of the most stunning places that we ever been: the views over the Riveria are second to none you feel like you have been transported back in time to a medieval village whilst enjoying all the comforts of a modern 5-star hotel.

This is certainly a place we will not forget in a hurry. The staff are outstanding - very attentive and coreous whilst extremely warm and friendly also; nothing is a problem and you are made feel very welcome from the moment that you arrive until you are safely on your way home.

It is at the higher end of the market (frequently featured in 'Top Hotels of the World' listings, so be prepared but when you have views like this in a restored medieval village above the Cote D'azur, one can only expect to pay a premium for it.

We stayed for 2 nights and as soon as we arrived, we wished that we could amend our schedule to stay for another few nights.

Certainly a must-see place and we thoroughly enjoyed every second of it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eze
0.9 mi away
Cap Estel Hotel
Cap Estel Hotel
#2 of 7 in Eze
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Eza
Chateau Eza
#3 of 7 in Eze
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eza Vista
Eza Vista
#5 of 7 in Eze
3.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Riviera
Hotel Royal Riviera
#1 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa
La Reserve de Beaulieu & Spa
#1 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Chevre d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Chevre d'Or

Address: Rue du Barri, 06360 Eze, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Eze
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Eze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de la Chevre d'Or 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Château de la Chèvre d'Or in the medieval city of Eze sits between the sky and the Mediterranean Sea and offers a rare, warm, family-friendly atmosphere. 30 rooms, 6 suites and 1 Presidential suite. “La Chèvre d’Or” gourmet restaurant (2 Michelin stars)- “Les Remparts” Mediterranean restaurant terrace (lunch only). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de la Chevre d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Chevre d`Or Hotel
Chateau Chevre d

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de la Chevre d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.