We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cap Estel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cap Estel Hotel to your Saves list
Cap Estel Hotel
1312 Avenue Raymond Poincare, 06360 Eze, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Eze
Leesburg, va
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Perfect Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a wonderful lunch at the Hotel Cap Estel's Restaurant "La Table de Patrick Rainegeard" and although expensive was well worth the splurge. The food and service were impecable. The property is the one of the most elegant I have seen anywhere, situated on the point Bord de Mer Eze. The price of the hotel is a bit out of our range, but if one can pretend that money is no object if only for a few days - this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eric p, General Manager at Cap Estel Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your review,
and your comments are so nice and it is the greatest gift you can give us and especially to Patrick Raingeard and his team. This year was its consecration with a Michelin star.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you to Cap Estel in the near future.

Best regards

Eric Paulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    10
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
59
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hotel's location is a promontory on the French Riviera, this certainly adds to it's appeal. The building is elegant as are the elegantly designed well kept gardens. The grounds include an infinity pool from which one has a view of the sea from the cliff top. There is a wooden decking area on the pebble beach which has a wooden walkway into the sea. The pleasant restaurant has one Michelin star, and the food as one would expect is very good. However despite all these complements and the hotel being very nice indeed, I felt the hotel and staff lacked atmosphere and consequently I found it a bit cold and clinical. It would not be my personal choice for an extended stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eric p, General Manager at Cap Estel Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Greetings from the City of Paradies !
Thank you very much for taking the time to share a marvelous of your stay on Tripadvisor.

This is exactly the kind of feedback we wish for and your kind words will be passed directly to the whole team here .

We are absolutely delighted that your stay was excellent. We continue to make changes and improvements in order that our guests experience an even more memorable and personalized stay upon each visit.

We so look forward to welcoming you back to your Cote d'Azur

Best regards

Eric Paulus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you are looking for a heaven away like an island, Cap Estel Hotel is the perfect place. Not only a place where history meets elegance and sens of welcome, but also the opportunity to feel a unique moment that will leave you with memories forever. The Chef Patrick Raingeard will enjoy your time with his subtile cuisine from their own potager and fresh market. The Chef Patissier Vincent will surprise you with very delicate desserts. The whole team is making sure that your will enjoy your time in a cosy atmosphere. Even if you do not book a suite, be prepared for spacious room with all attentions from the staff that make you feeling like at home, the service on the top. We enjoyed our stay, as part of the family, likely what the owner wish every Guest to feel about. Definitely will come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eric p, General Manager at Cap Estel Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Greetings from Cap Estel !
Thank you very much for taking the time to share a marvelous of your stay on Tripadvisor.

This is exactly the kind of feedback we wish for and your kind words will be passed directly to the whole team here with particular notice of those you mentioned by name, Patrick, our lovely head chef and Vincent pastry chef.

We are absolutely delighted that your stay was excellent . We continue to make changes and improvements in order that our guests experience an even more memorable and personalized stay upon each visit.

It is great to read that you are already planning to come back again. We so look forward to welcoming you back to your second home.

Kind regards

Eric Paulus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is probably one of the finest and most refined of any in the world. This is definitely a five star establishment with impeccable service in every facet possible. My wife and I stayed here for three nights in late April as normally the price of this hotel would be well outside of my budget but I was able to obtain a very good rate (directly through Cap Estel website) for the end of the winter season.
Our room was right on the water with a nice balcony. The room was standard which was not very large or opulent but all of the amenities were first class. The room has great bedding, pillows and linens. There was a nice chilled bottle of champagne in our room along with some great lemon cakes and treats upon arrival. The pool was closed for service before the high season started but this was not a concern as we were not much looking to lounge by the pool. The grounds are very impressive with multiple terraces with many plants, trees and benches to sit on and enjoy the fantastic view. This hotel is right on the point (Cap) and surrounded by the water on three sides.
If you decide to stay here keep in mind that this is a very high standard establishment with a price to match. We ate at the hotel’s gourmet restaurant one evening and the food was probably some of the finest prepared and tasting that we have ever had. But be prepared to spend up towards 250 Euro including the wine. We had the breakfast delivered one morning which was excellent but once again the price was a bit high ( 70 Euros). So be prepared to spend heavily but also be prepared to be treated with everything perfectly prepared with no attention to detail or quality spared.
I would love to spend an entire week here in the summer hanging out at the great pool and lounging on the nice beach eating some of the best prepared food possible.

Room Tip: Rooms on the water are a bit small but have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, Director at Cap Estel Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
great review.very pleased that enjoyed your stay with us.Le Mer,the rooms overlooking the beach/sea are very popular.we,ve also just completed an upgrade to Le Parc,the garden suites on the west side of Cap Estel.beautiful views of the ocean and coastline.well worth a visit.look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Recently dined at the hotel's restaurant for dinner after talking about going for a very long time.
The hotel is beautifully decorated and well located, the food was lovely but the service was pure disappointment;
We arrived in the restaurant only to find the restaurant manager alone, the rest of the team were in the corridor behind a screen talking away... it was like that pretty much throughout the meal.
A couple came in behind us and no one offered to take the ladies coat, her partner did it for her. They are introduced by a room number and not their name. The lady goes to the bathroom, upon her return no waiters in the restaurant; her partner therefor pulls out her chair. The table in question was foreigners and the manager asked them for their room number in French (even though the person who brought them into the restaurant had done so and loud enough for all to here). The client answers saying he does not speak French. The manager arrives with the menus in French and says to the client "oh you may want them in English" as he is placing them on the table.
Unless the team had to bring you your dish you would not see them or speak to them throughout your meal. You can say that the upside to this type of service is that they are not intrusive!
We tried catching a waiter’s attention for bread, we saw us but his personal phone rang at the same time which he found more appropriate to answer than to help us.
This goes on until the end, once all the tables were seated the restaurant manager did not make any further appearances, he was sitting behind the screen at the end of the corridor.
Thank goodness the head Chef was doing the rounds of the tables as we left otherwise no one would have been in the restaurant to thank us.

If you are not bothered about arrogant French service, do go as the food is lovely, but if you want both I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, Public Relations Manager at Cap Estel Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent dining experience at Cap Estel. This does not please me at all; I have had a full and frank discussion with our maitre d', who accepts your comments in the spirit which it is meant. I am pleased to advise that the service has improved dramatically. Hopefully, you will give us another chance.

Kind regards
Stuart Lewis
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stunning location, beautiful building, efficient but discrete service, gorgeous food. In this wonderful setting, the friendly staff make it an absolute priority to ensure that the guests are completely satisfied. Nothing is too much trouble and mostly, it's done before you even ask. This all enhances the enjoyment of the amazing views that this spot offers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart L, Director at Cap Estel Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2014
delighted with your review.all at Cap Estel feel the same way.apprecite your sharing this with the TripAdviser fraterninty.greta validation of our profession.thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Cap Estel is a completely private location, after ringing the bell from the road, the gate will be opened and after going down a narrow road through several switchbacks through an impeccable garden, I was greeted outside the main entrance. The car was whisked away and parked in front of the building ready for me to hop in and drive away again. I had booked a junior suite and was promptly led to me room. They had to fix the lawn that got damaged over the winter and when I complained about some noise I was promptly offered a different room, showed to two different rooms I picked an upgrade to one of the large suites. There was no debate, my satisfaction was key and that made for a great experience. The large suite was simply wonderful, I loved the terrace and the room was in perfect shape. I had dinner at the restaurant twice and ordered room service once, the food was amazing. When you stay there you should keep in mind that Cap Estel is a place that you really will not want to leave to go anywhere else. It really is a destination on its own. The privacy of the place is amazing, the views are stunning and the history of the hotel can be studied in one of the many books about the property in every room. When staying there I felt I had the place to my own, a wonderful experience, I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a terrace. The rooms overlooking the little beach a super romantic for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cap Estel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Estel Hotel

Address: 1312 Avenue Raymond Poincare, 06360 Eze, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Eze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Eze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cap Estel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cap Estel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap Estel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.