We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Cheval Blanc

Auberge du Cheval Blanc
Place de la Colette, 06360 Eze, France
04 93 41 03 17
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 36 Restaurants in Eze
Cuisines: French, Pizza, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kelso, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and I called in for dinner after a long drive to Eze and had a wonderful Filet steak, my wife's, au poivre and mine with champignons, both exquisite !! Excellently cooked and great atmosphere with attentive staff - good price and strongly recommeded !!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    26
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

great accordeon player
very good hosts
it was part of a organised tour from the cruise

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We chose the 4 course 24 euro menu. All courses were delicious, good size portions, great atmosphere, couldn't fault it. We went back for lunch and had a delicious pizza, and again, the ambience was very nice.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not bad restaurant for reasonable French cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Took a while before we were seated and table cleaned and drinks ordered, they were busy and the view and an accordion player were enough to distract us. My fiance and I shared a salad Nicoise (acceptable) for a starter and she had grilled salmon and I had a pasta with aubergine. Food was ok but there are better restaurants in Eze with better food at the same price (cost E50 for both of us with half litre of wine). Felt the restaurant catered mostly for large tour groups with standardised French food.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderfully helpful staff; food just what we needed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Be honest, once you've climbed up to the top of Eze and wandered around the botanical garden (WELL worth the effort!), been absolutely flabbergasted by the cost of some of the meals on offer at other establishments on the way down (65 Euros for the lamb main dish?!) we just wanted a light lunch in the short time left to us before the bus went back to Nice. One broken English / French explanation to the maitre d' and everything rolled in to place. Seeing another large party approaching (we were eight anyway) he hurriedly and accurately took our drinks orders, sent staff to lay the places for our table, took our food order, completely accepted that we wanted to share the (huge!) pizzas between couples and arranged very witty service from a dead-pan waiter (who's final "tease" was magnificent!) and the prompt presentation of the correct bill.

The food was good, plentiful and inexpensive, the service impeccable - and we caught the bus on time!

Thanks

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge du Cheval Blanc also viewed

Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Auberge du Cheval Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Cheval Blanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.