We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very French” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cave, la

Cave, la
9 boulevard de la Republique, 06400 Cannes, France
0493997987
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 625 Restaurants in Cannes
Price range: $0 - $146
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very French”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was recommended by the Concierge at our hotel and we did enjoy it. The tables are very close to each other but the food was delicious and they have a daily table d'hote menu at a very reasonable price...right in the centre off rue d"Antibes and an easy walk if you are staying in town.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    49
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Tried again and disappointed again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our fourth visit to this cosy little French restaurant but probably won't go again, the service is a bit arrogant, the menu selection is limited, and the specials are not that special. On each occasion we have found the tables to be far too close together for comfort, they have just crammed in too many tables, it's very claustrophobic. In fairness they have now redecorated and upgraded the 'facilities' but I still can't find the same words of praise I had on the first experience? The entrecote steak, like, so any times in France was pitifully undercooked, I had requested 'a point' but got 'saignant', not good enough. I always try to speak French, but feel irritated when I go to a shop or restaurant and get a 'free enforced French lesson' ! Get over it, at least I try! The wine list is superb, however, extensive and expensive, but nevertheless some good choices. For the food, I am still amazed that the French consistently overcook vegetables, and even more amazed by the lack of choice of good vegetables. The complimentary Grappa offered at the end of the meal is horrid, poor quality and not at all in line with the high standard they are trying to achieve with their wine list, it really does leave a bad taste in the mouth. If you are looking for a cosy private dinner find somewhere bigger, so that you can talk without being overheard, even if it is a different language!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
“great service great value great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The title says it all but we found this little gem on a recommendation from a coworker and the restaurant didn't disappoint. Reservations recommended because the location is intimate but, aren't all the best places? Been all throughout France and the food has been somewhat disappointing with a few exceptions but this turned our trip around from a food perspective.

We had the ravioli to start which was the best single dish of our entire trip and is to die for!!! Highly recommended. We had duck with honey sauce which was cooked perfectly and veal in mushroom sauce. You can't go wrong with either dish.

If you are ever in Cannes this place is must and not far from train or shopping.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Cannes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Concierge recommended. We were in France for 10 days and this was the best meal. We were the only tourists in the place.

I seriously cannot believe this is not more highly rated. Also ate at the #1 rated restaurant on TA (Independents) and this blew it out of the water.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“It's a classic French...good food, rude service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

I've enjoyed myself there many times but after my recent visit have decided I will not return. Other restaurants in Cannes with less rudeness. Food is good, but on the heavier side. Food of the region so worth trying if you want meat.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave, la also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Cave, la? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cave, la, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.