We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the pizza!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza, la

Piazza, la
9 place Cornut-Gentille, 06400 Cannes, France
0492986080
Improve this listing
Ranked #230 of 627 Restaurants in Cannes
Price range: $0 - $44
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“It's all about the pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Had it not been on the recommendation of a friend, we would have easily bypassed this one. It doesn't look like the kind of place that will churn out good pizzas. Correction, being a little plain and unpromising, it looks exactly like the kind of place that would turn out a great pizza! (Oh, and one of the friendliest waiters in all of Cannes!)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    82
    53
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merano, Italy
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“good enough pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

yeah they do make a good enough pizza but also nothing to write home about. it is a tourist place and this is also what you get. when you order a salad you need to say that you want to have it with oil and vinegar otherwise you get it with ready made cream dressing, which is very unusual at the mediterranean. the whole experience was ok. we did not leave hungry and even had a nice chianti with our pizza. what i kind of found ode was that the kitchen closes at 3pm. so you have to be there for regular lunch hours and not dilly dally around as a tourist, otherwise you can drink but not eat. but for coffee or a glass of something special i would never go there while in cannes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed after many years of coming here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Living in the area la Piazza was a good restaurant when we came to Cannes for shopping however recently standards have dropped. We had ordered the menu du jour , parpadelle avec sauce daube and moules frites. Sauce daube was watery without any meat or "daube" like qualities. Moules served Luke warm with soggy french fries.
Definitely going to look elsewhere to eat as this has now run its course. Shame!!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“once pretty good but now we wanted to cry.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have been coming to this restaurant for many years. Sometimes it was good sometimes average. Mostly average during the months of July and August like many restaurants at the Cote d'Azur.
We tried again for Sunday lunch and it was awful! Mussels were cooked in water with only onions and lots of salt. Fries very average but a lot. To make up for the poor food??
We didn't try anything else.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“baby friendly good food good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

as a family we went to this restaurant every year whilst our children grew up for over a decade. did not visit for a few years until last year to find the previous owners had sold up and the restaurant was not good. this September we decided to try again to see if they had improved. they certainly have. very good lasagne, pizzas, salads and aubergine parmigiani, good local rose wine and not only excellent service but ever so baby friendly and made the entire family feel very welcome. highly recommend the restaurant if you have a baby in a pram. they will take good care of you. prices quite decent not a rip off unlike so many other p[laces in Cannes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza, la also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Piazza, la? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza, la, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;