We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cote Jardin

Cote Jardin
12 Avenue St-Louis, 06400 Cannes, France
0493386028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 681 Restaurants in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $27 - $45
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Perfect in every-way....the hosts, the wine, the food, the setting and outside ambience. We were staying at the hotel ideal sejour (reviewed also) - which was about a 5 min walk away. We read the reviews and strolled down. We didn't book (it was a Wednesday evening) and arrived at 9.45 pm to be welcomed and asked if we would like a short drink to start with, why not! We had a very A&L a carte 3 courses....Cooked well and all tasted great. The price for 3 courses each, 2 x gin and tonics plus bread and water and then half a bottle of wine (dry white) was less then 120 euro. I can't recommend this place enough! Thanks to the wonderful hosts and chef! For some reason we had paper napkins outside instead of the cloth napkins that the tables had inside - minor issue!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    39
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite home made desserts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Exquisite home made desserts by Karine, maybe the owner's name and excellent tea. The terrace is calm and romantic. However, I ordered grilled tuna with vegetables and was way disappointed. The fish was raw so I couldn't eat it and made a doggy bag. I might go back there to give the restaurant another chance. The owners are quite friendly, the price was average, 25 euros per person.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We enjoyed our visit here and once again followed Trip Advisor , not at all disappointed .just a fair taxi ride from Cannes but it is worth it !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great genuine French cuisine in a homely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were referred to the restaurant by friends and must agree with them, that Côté Jardin is a true pearl worth the while to locate. We had the most delicious and well-prepared meal in a very lovely and intimate setting surrounded by locals and most attentively looked after by the owners. All dishes were clearly based on to-day’s fresh local products and were on the slightly innovative side yet not over the edge. Compared to the food you do generally find in Cannes in the more touristy areas Côté Jardin does definitely offer a much better cuisine and a lot more value for money. Hence, we shall be very delighted to give it our best recommendations!

Côté Jardin is located in a residential area close to the City Ring (N7) and Blvd. Carnot (N85) and hence only some 5 minutes’ drive or some 800-900 meters from the famous La Croisette. Yet it is quite difficult to locate it, so you need a good map. From the outside Côté Jardin doesn’t look of much – only a blackboard with to-day’s specials indicates that a restaurant is to be found behind the door. The restaurant occupies the lower floor of a local house and opens up into a small intimate garden with tables closely and cozily placed among trees and scrubs where you may enjoy your meal during the warmer months. If the weather is less favorable you can sit on the covered glass terrace. The interior is unpretentious and typical for local French restaurants with colorful table-clothes and basic wooden furniture. Being a family run property you do immediately sense the pride of the place and food as you are greeted and tended to by the owners/family members. Listening to the other guests, we did likewise soon realize that this restaurant is a popular place with the locals, which is always a very good sign!

We were very surprised to read the menu that offered rather innovative dishes based on the genuine French country cuisine. Interesting combinations. On offer was a fine 3-course dinner menu with several choices at EUR 32 and a 6-course Tasting Menu chosen by the chef at EUR 42. We opted for the 3-course dinner and were very satisfied with each dish. Among others I tried out a main dish of freshly chopped and rare cooked duck tatar filled with foir gras… I was a bit worried about the red meat and only slightly cooked foir gras, but must admit that it was perfect and tasted delicious, hence you can deduce that only the finest and most fresh products are used. The desert including home-made sorbet was likewise very delicious. As initially mentioned, we can only give Restaurant Côté Jardin our best recommendations and we look forward to a re-visit when next time in the Cannes area.

PS: If you drive yourself, there is a free parking lot right across the street that you are welcome to make use of.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“GOOD, BUT....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We took the €9 cab ride from the palais following the reviews on TripAdvisor and keen to escape the convention parties and potential rip offs on the sea front.
It is good, a warm welcome, good menu and lovely atmosphere.
However, our beef was tough - really tough - they kindly preferred glasses of wine on the house and offered a new course (declined - we were too far into the evening) but it did make us think that the meal wasn't really good and worth the trip out of town.
A shame, we really enjoyed the ambience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cote Jardin also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Cote Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cote Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.