We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and setting, but too long!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Palme d'Or

La Palme d'Or
73 Boulevard de la Croisette, Cannes, France
+33 (0)4 92 98 74 14
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #28 of 579 restaurants in Cannes
Cuisines: European, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good food and setting, but too long!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Martinez and for our anniversary decided to book Palm d'Or restaurant (2 Michelin stars). There is a lovely terrance there, so make sure you book your table in advance to get the best place & view. There 2 types of menu available: a la carte & tasting menu. We chose the 2nd one. It was quite pricy (185 euro per person without wine), but the food was very tasty and beautifully designed. The only downside of the whole process was the time of the service.... it took us 3 hours (!) to complete the dinner and by the time we left I was nearly sleeping in my plate. So don't expect it to leave early :). Also for me the quantity of food in the tasting menu was a bit too much, I was feeling full at the 4th course.
I do recommend this restaurant for a special occasion: it is very romantic. Please make sure you are dressed up, otherwise you will be feeling acward.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    85
    19
    22
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Truly amazing restaurant. First of all when you go there ask for a table in the terrace as you will enjoy a beautiful view of the sea by the croissette. As for the food I have never tasted food so good and the presentation amazing i believe the cook designed the plates for each meal. The cook just gives you a taste of everything in one plate smooth crispy crunchy all in one plate. I recommend the spider leg for appetizer absolutely mouth watering. and the lamb for main course. The lamb is amazingly tender. and for dessert you must must try the palme d'or chocolate mousse I have never had anything so scrumptious. As for the service the staff is extremely professional and friendly. We went to cannes for 4 days and went twice to this restaurant as we enjoyed the food so much. And for all cheese lovers they offer an amazing cheese selection that will just blow your mind away. Enjoy!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks.
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“great value for superb dining......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Ate here with my husband the week before the Film Festival. Weather was perfect and we sat on the terrace.

Started with a champagne cocktail and a 'carousel' of canapes! If the canapes were anything to go by - we knew that we were in for a fantastic dining experience!

We opted for the Christian Sinicropi Gourmet Menu which was 68 euros for three courses and included all wines, water and coffee. Considering that much lesser restaurants charge over 20 euros for one course, the Gourmet Menu is terrific value.

I started with The Asparagus - prepared like an iced velvet, served with a fried egg (which was square!) a mimosa garnish and a tarama condiment. My husband chose The Foie Gras - pan fried and served with red cabbage, flavoured with red and green peppers. Both tasted fabulous and were beautifully presented.

To follow, I chose The Lamb - prepared as a Pojarski style, served on melted eggplant. Words cannot describe how delicious it was! My husband had The Veal - preserved and accompanied with a chicken broth, served with carrot and green peas ravioli, a lard di Colonna bacon froth. Delicious!

Various amuse bouches appeared during the meal which was a real treat. Always like to try as many new flavours as possible.

For dessert I chose The Iced Souffle - flavoured with cherries, a mascarpone cheese shortbread and my husband had The Tart - stuffed with a caramel cream and red berries, a sugar crispy leaf. Amazing! We both tried each others dishes - it was a must do!

With coffee came a superb assortment of sweet treats. A perfect meal in the sunshine with views of La Croisette and all its goings-on.

The sommelier helped my husband choose the matching wines to go with the dishes we selected and although the wines were included in the price of the meal, the waiters were more than generous in keeping us topped up.

All in all a fantastic experience. The Gourmet Menu is only available from Wed - Sat at lunchtime. Try and get a table on the terrace. Highly recommend. Make sure you book first.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“good quality food, lacking some' service and interior to be improved.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Dinner Palme d 'Or restaurant, 2 stars. first of all congratulations on the quality of food, which overall was good, even so missing a bit the wow' factor of such level.
on the service side i however would like to make following observations;
- when entering the hotel lobby, some unseen, lady gunned at us demanding whether we have reservation in the restaurant when approaching the lift to the restaurant itself
- when arriving in the restaurant we had to repeat ourselves a nbr of times to state that we would like to be seated straight and not launching in the cocktail area
- seating lady was truly not up to standard of such etablissement, neither from services perspective, nor from appearance (with obvious faked, plastic hair', nor was her dress code impeccable)
- when enjoying our dinner, the waiters and other staff, incl the seating lady seem to be using the restaurant area as if it is their private living room, chatting loudly, running back and forth for no apparent reason' e.g. unlike other establishments of this level, we are used to almost not hear nor seeing the service staff, which normally attends your wishes unseen and unheard'.

on the interiors side we as always were luckily seated on the front part of the restaurant allowing for views over croisette and to the side of the hotel, pool area, etc. we however suggest then when making reservation to ensure that you do not get seated in the middle part of the restaurant which is dark, no windows, not pleasant and to my likes does not measure up to this level of restaurant itself

overall good eating experience and recommendable even more, once the management gets the service/staffing right and perhaps spends a thought or two improving the interior.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“waw”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

what could I say about such a famous restaurant at Hotel Martinez, which received its first Michelin star in '86 and the other one last year?! Everything was at superlative in the evening we had dinner there: the environment, the view, the welcoming, the interior decorations, and last but not least, the food! It was a delight of all our senses: sight, smell, taste...were all spoiled by chef Christian Sinicropi and his fantastic team!
About prices I can't tell a lot, because we were invited by friends, but there is obviously a need of a consistent card.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Palme d'Or also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Palme d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Palme d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.