We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chanteclair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chanteclair to your Saves list
Chanteclair
12 rue Forville, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel Chanteclair for 5 nights in the end of April. The reason we booked this hotel was the god rewiewes on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. This small hotel has a very friendly atmosphere thanks to the owner, Pascal, and his dog, Oscar. The hotel could not be more perfectly situated in Cannes, a few steps away from rue de Suquet, very close to the Forville market and a short walk to the beach. It is still very quiet. Our room was small, but it had a toilet and a shower and it was very clean. The bed was comfortable. Pascal serves breakfast in the charming courtyard. Above all, the prices for his hotel is very reasoneable. We most certainly will be back again and again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    26
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
37
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hotel Chanteclair – the cheapest hotel in Cannes p.t. – is both a hostel (some rooms) and a very charming hotel (other rooms, lately renovated). Situated in the old part of the town it offers lots of charm and hospitality. The host is transforming all the small rooms into stylish and well functioning rooms.
The hotel does not offer tv in the rooms, but has a well functioning Wi-Fi connection. Certain closing hours of the reception must be respected as the hotel is run only by the owner, Pascal. Once you are installed you have your own key and can come and go as you like.
Every detail is well considered, and the charm of both the hotel and the patio is unmatched. Hotel Chanteclair is highly recommendable.

Room Tip: No. 7 is a fine, small room for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This hotel is properly the best value for money I have ever experienced..
The location of this little private owned and very personally run hotel is a true pearl in the heart of the old town in Cannes. The owner Pascal and his little dog is making all the difference from the fancy hotels in town, which I also like :-)
However 45 Euro for a room in Cannes is something I did not know was possible at all.. But is is, and the rooms are newly renovated, clean and nice. The courtyard is something really unique and a very cozy place to have a glass of wine in the evening or having your breakfast in the morning. All in all, this i really a place I can recommend 100%

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal F, Manager at Chanteclair, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear guest. Thank you so much for taking time to write a review and thank you also for the nice review indeed. I am very happy that you liked your stay and I hope to be able to welcome you again next time you will visit Cannes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stay there for 2 nights at the MIPIM. The hotel has a warm attitude with a nice dog.
The room are small, but had both wash, toilet and a showers - and the most import thing a good bed. You walk out from the hotel and have everything you look for in Nice next to you. Good value for the money. Please don't tell anybody - sure the hotel wil be fully book next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal F, Manager at Chanteclair, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear guests. Thank you very much for taking time to write a review and thank you for the nice review from you. I am very happy that you liked the hotel and the atmosphere. I will be looking forward to welcome you next time you visit Cannes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The room was nice and suited our needs. It is a very good location and only a short walk away from a nice market and plenty of restaurants.

There is a parking just nearby, the first hour is free. There, you can park, check-in at the hotel, and then park your car somewhere else where it is for free.

And watch out for the funny bulldog, he is really cute and wants to be amused all day long!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal F, Manager at Chanteclair, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review of your stay at hotel Chanteclair. I am happy that you liked it, and we hope to see you again next time you are in Cannes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights recently with friends and I thought that it was really lovely. Set in the narrow streets leading up to the Musee de la Castre and a short stroll to the beach. This is a super quiet hotel run by a very lovely gentleman and his dog! I found it to be excellent value for money and would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Yes this has small rooms, but even the briefest of read throughs of the reviews here would indicate that. Excellent value for a room based right on the edge of the old town of Cannes, next to a great market and a few minutes walk down to the sea. Breakfasts are in a courtyard. Pascal is very helpful and friendly and it made the whole stay in Cannes worthwhile.

The rooms are undergoing renovation and I think some of the photos above are now out of date - we stayed in one of the final rooms not yet renovated and it was absolutely fine. There's not much point coming to Cannes with the aim of staying in your hotel room - if that is your idea of a holiday, then it probably is better to choose a different hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chanteclair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanteclair

Address: 12 rue Forville, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Cannes you will find the ideal hotel, Hotel Chanteclair, for your next trip to Cannes. Even though you are in the middle of Cannes, you will in this hotel find a quiet and peaceful atmosphere.It's a short walk to and from the train station. Public car parking is right next to the hotel. The bus terminal is only 200 m away, which makes the hotel easily accessible from all areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Chanteclair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanteclair Hotel Cannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chanteclair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.