We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if you are more than a day in Cannes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iles de Lerins

Iles de Lerins
Dans la Baie de Cannes - In the Bay of Cannes, Cannes, France
(0)492998422
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$15*
and up
Ranked #1 of 35 Attractions in Cannes
Type: Historic Sites, Islands, Forests, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two islands just a boat ride from Cannes, Ste-Marguerite and St-Honorat, are covered by eucalyptus and pine forests and are home to Fort Royal.
Russia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“A must if you are more than a day in Cannes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Lerins Islands are close to Cannes and you may visit them by using one of the boats in the Port (west of the Palace and Hotel de Ville). The cost of round trip to Margarieta Island is ca 22 euro, to St, Honorat island it is 28 euro return per person.

It makes a great trip away from cannes with the good half day time - if you like more "filled in" my advise to use margarita island, while St, Honorat - it is great island to be with yourself, have a walk and think over some eternal topics - it is in fact owned bz the monastery so there is no picknick or game places, just a networks of pather around and some old ruines and monastery fort (to wait out the sea attacks in the mid ages time) - with the great view of the monastery and Esterel massif to the west.

You may visit the mass there and also buy some staff (wine made on the island - rather costly but rare and well deserved the price). But I think the most of the St. Honorat - it is solitute of the sea and nature, calm just a mile away from the vibrant Cannes Croisette!

Well recomended to make a trip to one of the island or both to experience the famous city from different point of view.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    186
    26
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great escape from Cannes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I love Sainte Marguerite Island and try to go as often as possible. It's great any time of year. In the summer for swimming at one of the many creeks and eating a Pan Bagnat sandwich with a glass of rosé wine. In spring, fall or winter it's great for light hiking among the kilometres of trails and to pop to visit to the royal fort. There are no cars or bicycles on the island, my toddler gets to run free and I can really relax. There are regular ferries from Cannes, just make sure to check the schedules as they are less frequent during the low season.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful Day Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This beautiful island is located just 15 minutes (by ferry) off the coast of Cannes. Simply purchase a ticket and sail to this sunny island from the port. The island is famous for the fortress which held 'the man in the iron mask' but is best for hiking, swimming and relaxing.

I would suggest planning to spend the whole day here as the hike across the island to the coves (where you can swim) actually takes some time. It is well worth it though as you walk trails bordered by pine and eucalyptus trees. When you arrive at the coves you can see Île Saint-Honorat (Which you can also visit and tour the monastery and winery housed there).

The water in the coves is crystal clear and amazingly beautiful. Absolutely perfect for a relaxing day. Either pack a lunch or skirt over to one of the restaurants near the arrivals dock (these are a bit pricey so plan accordingly).

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great escape away from the crown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

But bring a picnic, at least in the winter. This is a great way to see the bay and experience a little bit of the sea.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A must see when visiting Cannes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My mate and I were only in Cannes for a couple of days and decided to take a ferry to the larger island. We wanted to visit both but didn't have the time. The ferry is very inexpensive and we found this to be a peaceful, scenic day trip. We wandered all over the island from the rocky shores to the plush forests in the island interior. It was very quiet and very peaceful - most of the time, we saw no one at all. It was really nice to get away the crowds and just enjoy the natural beauty. I highly recommend the island visits for a day trip.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iles de Lerins also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Iles de Lerins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iles de Lerins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.