We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ordinary food at high prices” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le comptoir de macao

Le comptoir de macao
Rue bivouac napoleon, Cannes, France
33493998301
Improve this listing
Ranked #286 of 656 Restaurants in Cannes
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Anlaby, Hull
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“ordinary food at high prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We were looking for another restaurant which was closed for holidays and this place looked nice and we love good Thai/Asian food so gave it a go. Food was very ordinary noodle soup with duck had tasty duck but congealed noodles and it was spilt as it was served, crab salad was ok but light on crab. Mains of Thai basil shrimp was lukewarm and only 5 shrimps, beef in oyster sauce was ok and the noodle sides very average. Worst value was the wine, worst rose we have ever had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    5
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tuscania, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Value For Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stopped in by chance and chose the Lunch Menu. We both agreed this was the best soup we've ever tasted in any Oriental Restaurant--not your "run of the mill" thickened, tasteless stuff. Both our main selections were excellent--if you prefer "heat" just say so and the chef will adjust to your taste. Nice décor, friendly relaxed service. Would definitely return. Excellent rapport qualite/prix.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extremely good option for a casual dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Just right for a quick dinner. Perfect soups, very good curry, excellent dumplings! Be aware of the smell... your clothes will smell forever after!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A marvellous find in Cannes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Asian restaurants are not plentiful in Cannes and we did not discover this one until last year. We had two meals here this September, both excellent. For Asian food, I think the price compares well with comparative restaurants in England and the quality is certainly very good. The service is very friendly and helpful. There could perhaps be a little more variety with some dishes, particularly duck. Wine by glass, carafe or bottle. Seating is limited, but ought to be full more often I feel - this is an excellent place if you like Asian food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le comptoir de macao also viewed

Golfe-Juan Vallauris, Antibes
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le comptoir de macao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le comptoir de macao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.