We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Cannes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Esperanto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Esperanto to your Saves list
Hotel Esperanto
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Ave Delattre de Tassigny, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great find in Cannes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed 5 days for an event at the convention center. The walk is not that bad (about 10-12 min) but it started to wear on me the last 2 days. If you want to stay closer you're going to pay more so there's a tradeoff.

The hotel itself is very simple and clean. The manager and his staff are very kind and accomodating. We just expected somewhere closeby to set our things, shower, sleep a few hours and keep moving around the city. That's pretty much what we got. The rooms are updated (some more than others) and the noise from the street didnt bother me.

Breakfast was 8 Euros but i prepaid it and i was glad to have some fresh bread, cheeses, nutella, cereal, juice and coffee every morning.

Overall a very positive experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
26
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

For me, the hotel keeper Mr Denis is one of a kind. He was absolutely great and very helpful with everything, telling us what to see, where to go, stories about the city, etc. etc.
I believe that staying in this hotel made our stay in Cannes much more enjoyable.
The hotel is very cozy and clean.
Breakfast is very nice, sweet pastries, cereal, cheese, coffe, tea, orange juice, server by the hotel keeper himself.
Not even 10 minutes to walk to the La Croisette.
I absolutely recommend Hotel Esperanto to anyone who does not require a luxury five-star hotel. You will surely enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: Room no. 2 has a large balcony overlooking the courtyard. Room no. 3 has only 2 beds, larger bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have been going to the MIPCOM conference in Cannes for many years now. 5 or 6 years back, I managed to get booked into Hotel Esperanto and have stayed every year since. It feels like my home in Cannes. I love my comfortable room and my little balcony. It is only about a 10 minute walk to the Palais and the water. The train station is even closer. Shopping, everything is not far at all. Denis (the proprietor) is very welcoming and a joy to chat with. It is a clean, cozy, family run hotel in a quiet but central neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Some rooms have nice balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courbevoie, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and the staff has been great. Very helpful when we checked in. Plus I called to ask if we could check in early, 11am, because we needed to leave our stuff somewhere and they made it happen. We had a parking spot which was really convenient because leaving your rental car in the street is a pain in Cannes. It is also very well located, 5min from the center of Cannes, 7-8 min from the beach (walking). Room was cleaned and furnitures in good shape. AC in the room very easy to control and effective. No noise from the street when window is closed. I lived 18 years in Cannes and I'm really glad that I have found this hotel for my vacations now that I live in Paris! Thank you again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at Esperanto in April 2011. The staff greeted us like we were family, they spent good 30 minutes telling us about all the best places to eat and see. The room was very clean and modern. Comfortable bed, large bathroom. We had the cutest little balcony with 2 chairs and a table. Everything is within 10 min walk. Very quiet neighborhood, parking right in front of the hotel. The hotel entry door can be unlocked only with a code, it stays locked 24/7, which made us feel very safe. We absolutely loved our stay. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel is located in a very convenient area about 15 minutes walk to the center. It is a family runned hotel and the owner was kind and helpful at all times. As soon as we got to the hotel he gave us information about the city and we really felt like home. The facility has also a private parking place which is definetly a plus if you wanna stay in Cannes. We drove to so many locations including Nice, St. Tropez, Monaco. Simply Cannes by itself is a very good location to see all these cities around. Again we would like to thank to all Esperanto staff. I would definetly recommend this hotel to all travellers who wanna visit Cannes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We recommend this hotel. It is located close to the Center of Cannes (5-10 min walk) and very close to the beach (10 min walk) . there is a parking space attached. The rooms are very clean with tv and air conditioning, nicely decorated. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful in giving advice on excursions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Esperanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esperanto

Address: 26 Ave Delattre de Tassigny, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Esperanto 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Esperanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Esperanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.