We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A isle on its own” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Santa Margarita

Isla Santa Margarita
Frente a Cannes, Cannes, France
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 36 attractions in Cannes
Type: Islands
Attraction Details
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A isle on its own”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went here as part as an excurshion, we got the boat across for approx 12 euro each the boat runs regular through out the day, we walked half way round the island and cut across to get bacj which was quicker, there was a beach around which many people were using to sun bathe, we walked up to the ruins and ex prison which was 6 euro to walk around a nice. There are a few stands to buy drinks and food but would try and take some with you, deffo worth a visit

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    56
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“An enjoyable day spent on an island just 15 minutes away from Cannes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

You can get a boat crossing for around 12 euro return. We went mid-morning and left at 4pm. Crossing takes about 15 minutes, boats are around 30 minutes apart (except for lunchtime make sure you pick up a timetable)
There are some lovely wooded walks amongst the pines and eucalyptus trees. The Island is around 8km to walk around. You can take a short cut and just do various smaller bits if you prefer. There were some lovely private bits of coast on which to sunbathe and take a dip in the lovely azure waters. Suggest you take some shoes to go into the water as it is rocky underfoot. We also recommend taking a picnic and some wine to enjoy whilst you are there. However, if you forget, there are 2 restaurants on the island and you can get a small glass of rose wine for around 3 euro which is not bad. An enjoyable day - will return!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A quick boat trip away from Cannes, a beautiful island, lovely for walking around and relaxing. When we were there it was quiet enough and we could go for ages without meeting into anybody, ideal. Lots of tiny little stretches of beach, we had our own little private beach for relaxing and swimming. We brought a packed lunch, not alot there and very overpriced, each to their own.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful day away from Cannes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We really enjoyed riding the boat out to the island and getting out of Cannes. It is a short boat ride and you find yourself in a natural setting. The water around the island is pristine, clear and amazing. We made a quick visit to the fort and visited the museum where the man in the masked was jailed. It is interesting to see the artifacts found on the ship wrecks located right off the island. There is a very small aquarium that I am sure kids would enjoy. Not much to say about the aquarium. The surroundings of the island are breath taking with all the boats anchored out around the island. There are small stone beaches with beautiful views. There are a couple cafes and snack stands on the island. There is also a very pricey place to eat where you can rent beach loungers and get a tan. Nice way to spend the day! The trip is reasonably priced and very enjoyable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

With a small fishing village, a few restaurants, an agriculture station and 1 private dwelling, Isla Santa Margarita offers visitors several miles of pathways through old Eucalyptus strands. Well worth a visit

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Santa Margarita also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Isla Santa Margarita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Santa Margarita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Isla Santa Margarita to your Saves list