We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & inspired hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ideal Sejour Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ideal Sejour Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ideal Sejour Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6, allee du Parc des Vallergues, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 135 hotels in Cannes
Armidale, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unique & inspired hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

we only stayed a night in the Ideal Sejour however we were 1st taken bythe sheer beauty of the hotel. A glorious Belle Epoque hotel set in a quiet street. The woman who ran the hotel went out of her way to make us welcome & the interior of the hotel was inspired. They had stencilled poetry & quotes on the walls & doors & the rooms were beautifl. Ours looked out onto the garden & with a picturesque view over the rooftops. It was a highend hotel room at an affordable price.
There was a cosy lounge crammed with books & french doors onto a large & sunny garden with tables & chairs & whimsical statues of people reading. Lovely! we had breakfast served to us the following morning & it was delicious although perhaps a little overpriced for what it was. This is a small quibble however.Room was found for us to park our hire car in the grounds & we were allowed to leave our car there for most of the following day whilst we continued exploring.
The hotel is an easy walk into the old quarter in Cannes & yet felt so quiet & relaxed.
I understand if you book ahead you can also have dinner which looked to be a very warm & convivial shared experience. I would enquire if you were interested. It felt as if you were staying with friends. A great find & we are very keen to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    60
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
103
19
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Interesting -we arrived while the builders were there doing some refurbishment work and it was a bombsite-not a great start. We had a refurbished room on the top floor but it was incredibly small (even by European standards) and should not have been used as a double. The hotel is very quirky but run by one person so really not much more than a bed and breakfast -and by the way skip the breakfast as it is very poor value for money. The worst thing is the location-nice and peaceful bu ta long way from the beach and bars, shops and restaurants so be prepared to walk a lot -including a steep walk back from town. If yo uwant to experience the true Cannes this is not the place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay in downtown Cannes - this is too far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Loved this place in Cannes, Stayed there for 2 nights. Location is a little out of the way, but the themed rooms and great outdoor area are very enjoyable. Home made croissant delicious, the owner very welcoming. Definitely worth the stay. This place is taken care of with great effort and dedication, and I would recommend to anyone going to Cannes. Specially at such bargain price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

A beautiful hotel, very French and full of literary reference. Rooms are themed on works of literature (ours was African Ballad, and featured an Elephant sculpture and tiger-themed tiles in the bathroom. Breakfast in the garden delightful, but don't be in a hurry. Free wi-fi (didn't work for me but there is a computer for guest use). Air-conditioned. Away from the crowds on the seafront, relaxing and quiet. Best of our trip.

Close to the station but it's all uphill! Take a taxi with your luggage, about 15 euro. Walk down town okay.

Room Tip: No lift so downstairs if you have a lot of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I am somewhat lazy, so the walk to and from this hotel was a little burdensome for me. I am in shape, just lazy. Other than that, this hotel was awesome. The rooms each have their own theme and are super clean. The woman who runs it is very nice and willing to help anyway she can. Free wifi, tv, and air conditioning. Great value and I WOULD stay here again if I didn't hate walking. If you can live with it, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We were glad to have A GPS as this hotel is a little hard to find - parking is a little tight and sometimes tricky to negotiate as are all small streets in Europe.
However, once we arrived we were extremely pleased. We were early and the maid was still cleaning our room but she was so nice to us and hurried around to make us welcome - told us where the close restaurants were for lunch.
The rooms are small as are the bathrooms but very beautifully done and very clean and modern. The themes are fun and entertaining - lots of movie and book references on the walls.
The hotel owner, Michele, was charming and helpful and served a lovely breakfast in the garden each morning - the coffee was extremely good as were the croissants, juice, yogurt,etc.
We had no complaints and enjoyed our 3 night stay.
Good value for the location and amenities - would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

On arrival made very welcome by the lovely owner. Room at front of hotel (asterix theme), Very comfortable bed,small but functional shower room and balcony. Location is approx 10 min to centre but nice and quiet area. Breakfast in garden lovely and filling. This hotel is great we stayed for a week and I would highly recommend it and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ideal Sejour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal Sejour Hotel

Address: 6, allee du Parc des Vallergues, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 135 hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ideal Sejour Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IDEAL SEJOUR CANNES Hotel is a private hotel of Belle Epoque style, in a very calm place, on the heights of Cannes close to the midtown.Although located a few minutes away from the port, the beaches of Croisette and the Palais des Festivals, the residential area of Vallergues is completely protected from the humming of the city.This hotel gathers at the same time the characteristics of a host house and the advantages of a hotel: peace, charm and welcome added to a professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ideal Sejour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ideal Sejour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.