We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chateau De La Tour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Chateau De La Tour to your Saves list
Hotel Chateau De La Tour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avenue Font de Veyre, 06150 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2007

Beautiful hotel located in Cannes la Bocca. Excellent, clean room for 3 with an excellent spacious bathroom. Beautiful hotel decor, ambience and location with views of the sea and coast from the pool area. Very welcoming reception staff. Attentive but not intrusive other staff. Single infinity pool is right-sized for the number of rooms/guests and the pool area and private garden are well screened with trees. Perfect place for a peaceful, tranquil break. We would return as would other guests we met.

La Bocca is a short walk away with a choice of restaurants and shops. Cannes is also within walking distance else there's a regular bus service on the main road 100 metres walk from the hotel. Train station is about 1km away to get to Monte Carlo et al.

Negatives: the modest breakfast was over-priced so we used La Bocca for breakfasts. The restaurant was heavily over-priced so we always ate out. (The manager looked a little disappointed when we left without having incurred any of those additional costs. Why these types of hotels charge such silly prices for such modest breakfasts when they could gain so much more goodwill for the sake of a croissant and a glass of orange is a mystery.) The pool edges could also have done with a clean to rid it of some moss that was gathering.

Overall, a very relaxing stay in a very nice, quiet hotel that was good value but it doesn't rate an excellent on this occasion due to the lack of little touches that always make the difference.

  • Liked — Private, tranquil, secluded, quiet ambience
  • Disliked — Extra meal costs but plenty of alternative options nearby
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    58
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
79
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worksop,UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

This is a small hotel located about 40 minutes walk from the centre of Cannes and 10/15 minutes from the very crowded beach, it looks wonderful on the web, but its only a "ok "hotel, nothing special. The pool is nothing like the web portrays, in reality its much smaller and unassuming. Stayed here for two nights which was all in all a let down! The room, a tradition could not have been bigger than 8 x 12 feet with a view of nothing, well actually a bank side about 5 feet away!! This hotel is well over priced, even charging a 15-euro a night supplement for the car park. Christian the concierge was very friendly and made our stay a little better. Cannes is not a place we would stay again, its tired and expensive. Nice is not much better either, shingle beach and a 4 lane motorway, M25 in rush hour experiance to get there from Cannes.
Only book if you get a fantastic deal and want to see the non French town.

  • Liked — Looks like a castle
  • Disliked — Smallest room in the world, probably
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2006

The hotel is situated in a charming residential part of Cannes La Bocca but a very long walk from town and not close to the beach. Our room was tiny but comfortable and the bathroom even tinier. Our towels were not very big and they weren't changed in our 2 night stay nor was shampoo soap etc replenished.
The décor paintings and furniture are in very bad taste but somehow the whole is not too bad. The gardens (full of cats) are well maintained and pretty and the pool area though it was too cold to use it seemed very nice. Staff were pleasant and helpful. We didn't have the breakfast at 15 euros pp as it wasn't included in the room rate (155) and there are so many nice cafés in town nor did we eat in the restaurant which seemed a little cold. Nice pool table in the bar. All in all an ok hotel in an expensive town.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2005

My fioncee and I had booked the accommodation via the Internet for one week. When we came there, we decided to prolong our staying with one week extra.


Our first impression was a very idyllic hotel, with a beautiful, secluded garden and a romantic swimming pool. We were engaged during our staying there. We were eating our dinner each evening in the hotel`s own restaurat. In the start the waiter was very nice, and the service was good. But after we told about my fioncee`s egg-allergy, and that none of the food should contain egg, the athmosphere between us and the restaurant`s staff changed dramatically.

It started with that they served my fioncee food, that contained eggs, something that made him very ill, and could have lead to his death. When we made a silent and pollite complaint to the chef, we vere ignored for the rest of our staying. This terrible attitude spread to the rest of the hotel`s staff, because they were closely connected to the restaurant. We had to eat in that restaurant, because that the hotel is very secluded from the rest of the city, and it would take to long time to drive to town every evening.


The last evening, they served me duck meat, that was supposed to be cooked, but in reality it was raw and bloody. In my sallad, I found a green worm, that still was alive. My fioncee tried to make a complaint om my behalf, but he was ignored by the chef. When we made our complaints to the receptionist, he called for the hotel manager.


When the hotel manager arrived in the reception, he acted very insulting and threatening towards us. He yelled his insults in french, and denied to speak english, in spite of that we had heard him speaking english before. The hotel manager clenched his fists, and threatened my fioncee to pay for the ruined meal. My fioncee had just before this paid the hotel bill, (ca. 3000 EUR). The hotel manager was about to hit my fioncee badly, and I tried to stop him. Then the hotel manager told me to shut up. When he finally left, we decided to leave the hotel so soon as possible.


This hotel manager ruined our holiday completely, and when looking back at our holiday, I`m sorry to say that we both remember this sad experience. Because of the way the hotel manager acted towards us, we can`t recommend this hotel to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2005

What a pleasant surprise! I booked a room for four nights at Hotel Chateau de la Tour via the internet for my first trip to Cannes. Upon arrival, we were struck by the beauty of the location. The staff is very helpful and courteous, and made our check in a breeze. We arrived around noon - far before the 3pm check in time, but those in are party whose rooms were available were allowed to check in. We were permitted to relax by the pool while the other rooms were prepared.

Speaking of the pool, it is one of the most beautiful I have seen - it was so relaxing lounging while taking in the views of the French Riveria. It was a nice perk to be able to order food/drinks poolside. Important note: The morning breakfast buffet offers more options that you will find in a restaraunt out in town. We definitely found it worth the 17 euro charge.

Each room in Hotel Chateau de la Tour is individual - from the decor to the bathrooms. The only thing I would suggest is to pack an alarm clock if you have places to be during the day - the rooms are absent clocks, and our wake up call was 20 minutes late one morning.

I loved the location of this hotel - because it is not in the center of Cannes, it has a far more peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. And we enjoyed the 30 minute walk along the beach into the city center.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2005

The hotel is about a 30 mins walk from the centre of Cannes, but that means it is quiet and there is more space. There is also a bus stop at the end of the road with late night buses. The pool was fantastic and the service by the pool was also brilliant. The whole place feels very luxurious and looks it too.

The rooms are small and the walls are paper thin and are the only reasons why I didn't rate this hotel as excellent.

The website states it is 250m from the beach, but it is more like a 5-10 min walk. Also, we had a garden view room which is not a great description as we overlooked the service entrance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chateau De La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau De La Tour

Address: 10 Avenue Font de Veyre, 06150 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chateau De La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm and caracter in this hotel of 1870 located in a nice park, with 34 rooms completely renovated in 2005. Located 300 meters from the beach, on the height of Cannes, few rooms offer a sea view (on request and upon availibilities). From the outside pool you will enjoy the sea view and the Esterel Massif. Unique and ideal place for a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Chateau De La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chateau De La Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.