We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cybelle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Cybelle to your Saves list
Hotel Cybelle
14 Rue Du Vingt-Quatre Aout, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We arrived at the hotel quite late and were disappointed with the first room we were given. There was pink carpet on all the walls and I am quite allergic to dust (which natuarllly comes along with that much carpet) so I had a hard time breathing in the room despite the balcony door being open. In the morning I asked Minna if we could change rooms and she was more than happy to. We were moved to room 9 which was lovely. It had obviously been redone recently, everything was a crisp white. Minna and Carlo cannot do enough for you. It was the best customer service we've ever experienced. As soon as I left the room in the morning one of them was up making my coffee and offering advice and recommendations as to how we should spend our day. They never made us feel like anything was too much trouble. We just can't believe we had such a good experience at such a low price. Our trip wouldn't have been the same without them, they saved us from having a super tourist-y experience and I just can't recommend this hotel enough. Don't expect american style rooms and don't stay here if that is your style. We had everything we needed and Minna and Carlo treated us like old friends. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    23
    4
    3
    9
See reviews for
10
21
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

After reading all the great reviews we booked here for a few nights in Aug. We have stayed in some pretty bad motels before in the past the negative comments didn't seem that bad...I could deal with the wall paper coming off the walls etc. The hotel is in a perfect location and the staff were sooooo friendly and helpful. However as soon as we got to the room my boyfriend asked if I had booked the right hotel. When we arrived they had to give us the spare room key as the previous person had walked away with the key...which was a bit disconcerning...they said that they knew the lady well that has the key...but we didn't feel that our stuff was safe.The bathroom is very tiny..which was fine however the shower didn;t look like it has a good scub in a long time. We also had to step over the bidet to get to the toilet. We both walked around in our shoes as we were afraid to walk on the carpet in bare feet. The big downfall was no air conditioning. The wall paper was also coming off the walls not because it was old and character like...but beacuse of mold. My boyfriend wanted to leave right away but I told him to give it a try..we stayed for one night. We both couldn't sleep through the night as it was so hot. There was a celing fan in the room the sqeaked continusley. The bed was very uncomfortable. We ended up checking out early and only staying one night. I don't know if it was just that one room as there are soo many great reviews and the hotel was full but for the extra 40 euros I would just stay at the best western next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I stayed in Cannes for 3 nights in mid July and found Hotel Cybelle on trip advisor. It really lived up to all of its positive reviews! As a single, female traveller, I was looking for a clean, safe, friendly place to stay. Hotel Cybelle met all of my needs. It is not a flash hotel and you should not go there thinking that. Howver, everything else makes up for it. Minna and her husband are charming and very caring. The rooms are clean and simple, all equipped with fans and tvs. It was very well located right in the centre of Cannes but it was still very quiet at night, al biet hot because of the summer weather. All in all, I was very happy with my stay there, I was given great advice and I would go back next time I am in Cannes.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

If you are on a budget then stay at Hotel Cybelle. Very clean with friendly and helpful staff (they even helped us to catch our plane on time after we'd partied so hard we nearly slept through)!

Brilliant location right next to the Palais, train station, cafes and shopping. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Berlin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

I've been a regular guest at the Cybelle for has to be well over fifteen years now, coming to Cannes previously for the TV markets and now the film festival. It sounds overblown but there really isn't any other hotel I'd rather be in, which explains why it achieves such a high rating here, scoring higher than the town's astronomically expensive luxury hotels. Here's why...

Every hotel claims to be the friendliest on the planet, but all too often it's either corporate-trained robotics or faked. Mine hosts, Minna and Carlo (She's Finnish, he's Dutch, between them they seem to have 97 languages!) are the Cybelle's heart and soul. It's not a job, it's not just their livelihood, they make the place live and breath! It sounds sentimental but it's true. So when Carlo asked me to post something here because, hey! he wants to keep the flag flying, I was more than happy to say yes.

The Cybelle might not look anything special (although I really go for it, and particularly things like the carpet on the walls of some rooms!), but that's also, for me, the point. The place is clean, neat, well maintained, watched over, safe, quiet and a genuine non-corporate, non-franchise, one-off original, which matters to me very much.

Negatives? None, really. If you need uniformed flunkies, suites, huge flat screens, mini-bars etc., then you won't come here anyway. I suppose the lack of a lift / elevator might prove awkward for anyone afraid of a few stairs, but then Carlo and Minna will jump to help anyway, so even that's not a a factor. Nope, still can't think of a downside here!

Okay, you just want to overnight and explore Cannes or the area, then the Cybelle's perfectly located and great value. Stay here, enjoy yourself, move on. Yes, the prices rise during special events but they do everywhere else, except here you won't be made to feel like that guy in Deliverance, the one who had to "squeal, piggy! Squeal!" (I know, because the one year I messed up my booking I got taken to the cleaners by an apartment rental company I wouldn't recommend to Hitler!). Hopefully, you'll also "get" that the Cybelle's much more than just a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

For the past four years, twice a year, I have stayed at the Hotel Cybelle right in the heart of Cannes. I have stayed here for business and feel just as much at home as if I was staying for a leisurely vacation. Hotel Cybelle is very well run, family owned/operated - and you feel like you're family during your stay!

Great rates, five minute walk to the Palais and the Croisette/Beach. The Monoprix (grocery/general store) is two minutes away, as well as one of the best bakeries in Cannes with fresh croissants and baguettes every morning. Yum.

I won't stay anywhere else the next time I'm in the city.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

Spent 10 days at Hotel Cybelle - probably not for the 'mature' traveler given the spiral staircase, we were on the top floor, and thank goodness for Advil, it was a stretch up and down each day. We asked for a room with a view and got a brick wall.
Bring an alarm clock if you need a wake up call, make sure you have a converter friendly blow dryer as the outlet is next to the bed, and my spouse had to hold my blow dryer in the outlet and hold a mirror so I could dry my hair each day. If you are a non smoker or prone to asthma with smoke you will not enjoy this hotel.
It is close to the train ( just up the street) and close to Rue de Antibes for shopping and close to a great Rue closer by that has shops and incredible cafes lining the lane that goes up and up higher and higher, and all the more charming as you go. Steps from Croisette and $$$ shopping if you have the Euros to do so. The down side is there is no area to prep for the delicious food that is available in the market just a few blocks away. Makes one wish there were self catering in Cannes.
Problem with killer mosquitos if you sleep with the windows open.
Did not get the breakfast as there are numerous cafes and bakeries open to do it on our own for less money. We bought brioche and croissants at the patisserie and then went to the Mc Donald's on the main drag for espresso and cappucino every morning.
Shopped at the MonoPrix department/grocery store up the street and to the left from the hotel - great meats, cheese, bread for sandwiches to take on outings and reasonable wine/beer. Bring a good knife, ziplock bags, etc and pack your own lunch to take each day.
On the upside the staff was friendly and spoke English, cleaning up the room was done except for one day - and the focus was on rooms that were being vacated, not those that are booked. TV is only in French and very few channels available.
All in all at 55 Euro per night we got off cheap for Cannes the land of BIG BUCKS.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cybelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cybelle

Address: 14 Rue Du Vingt-Quatre Aout, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in the very center of the city, 50 meters from the main railway-station. All the rooms are different with old-style charm. The prices are reasonable, even during the high season and events like Film Festival. Everything you need is like next door; * Shopping, well you can find anything from modest bargain of the year to latest Haute Couture sample. * At least 500 restaurants and snacks at walking distance, some with very attractive prices for simple, but delicious meals. * Festival Palace, la Croisette and the golden sand-beaches 200 meters away! And if by any chance you get bored in Cannes, well you just take a train or bus and visit either the next-door cities or the beautiful mountains behind. In the winter, there's a bus taking you to skiing resort in the morning and back in the evening. Our international team is always ready to give you advice. Welcome to Hotel Cybelle ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cybelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cybelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.