We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming and affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cybelle

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cybelle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cybelle
14 Rue Du Vingt-Quatre Aout, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 135 hotels in Cannes
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“charming and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, and our experience couldn't have been better. The room was clean and simple- not necessarily luxurious, but you get what you pay for, and we really didn't need anything more! The owners were extremely nice and helpful. We really enjoyed coming back and talking to them about our day. We mostly just went to the beach (we just went to the free beaches, they actually weren't that crowded, and they were just fine for us being on a budget and just looking for a place to lay in the sun). One day we went to the island off the coast, which was a lot of fun as well. The BEST part of this hotel though was the breakfast- I would highly recommend it! We just popped out of our room every morning and told them we were awake (no matter what time it was), and they came in with a HUGE tray of food for us within 15 minutes. It was so much food that every day we just ate half for breakfast and took the other half to go for a picnic lunch at the beach! Well worth the price! We would definitely recommend this hotel overall!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    22
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
8
19
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Cannes was definitely one of the highlights of my france trip..me n my frnds were staying over for a couple of days and were looking for an affordable place..this hotel surpassed my expectations..the rooms are small but clean..very friendly hosts and an awesome location..superb stuff!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights in a single room (with double bed) and a shared bathroom. The room was simple and had some cute French features like a Juliette balcony and large french shutters and doors. The bed was comfy but the only thing that lets this place down is having no air conditioning! There is a fan which makes a slight difference but it is still very hot throughout the night, in this case you must leave the doors open but the street can be noisy. The shared bathroom was kept very clean. The location is great as it is close to the train and the supermarket and only a 2 min walk to the main shopping st and about 5 mins to the beach! The staff were very friendly and are the main reason for my high rating. They are happy to suggest places to go or things to do and will make sure they can do everything possible for you while you're there! I would definitely go back here if I was staying on a budget as it seems other places that are in a similar price range also don't have aircon!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We came here at the end of July and really enjoyed this hotel. The location is excellent (short walk to the beach and main town areas) and the price very affordable for Cannes. The rooms are a bit small but very reasonable. It is cleaned daily, and we've always had fresh linens and towels. The owners are very friendly and helpful! They gave a lot of suggestions as to where to go and what to do around the town. Would highly recommend this place as long as you don't expect a 5-star hotel for this price. We even decided to extend our stay by 4 days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Last week I stayed a night at this small but cozy hotel. The Hotel people were very helpful in getting my car parked close by giving me several options from free to payed (with 10% discount) and mister Carlo showed me some very cool places to hang out and eat delicious, everything is so close by because this place is in the very centre of Cannes, in a street with cozy terraces, trendy shops etc,
If you are not on the budget of a five-star hotel , this is an excellent alternative: basic, clean, friendly and centrally located.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in the middle of July. Carlo and Minna were nothing but great to us, starting from before our stay, when they quickly rebooked our reservation after I accidentally booked for June instead of July. They also went above and beyond in quickly providing the documents required to receive a French visa from Russia. Once we arrived, Carlo and Minna were again great to us, constantly providing us with great advice on what to do in Cannes and offering to take care of the ironing that we needed done at least once a day. Overall we had an excellent stay and our overall experience in Cannes was greatly improved with the advice and insight we received from the hosts. The hotel itself is very clean, with an excellent location (5-10 min. walk from the beach, 2 min. walk from the train station) on a quiet street. We would not hesitate to stay here again on a future trip to Cannes. Easily the best hosts we have ever had, Carlo and Minna are what make this hotel such a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Cybelle for 2 nights in July 2012, couple.

Firstly, I'm not sure why this is rated as the 10th best hotel in Cannes, as it's not a hotel - it's a hostel. A youth hostel. So with that, you get hostel accomodation - small rooms, paper thin walls (where you can hear what the neighbours are saying), cramped bathrooms, no air conditioning and no parking. We were suggested parking overnight at the nearby multi-story, but that's £15 and not subsidised. Worth taking in to consideration for the price of the room.

First night's sleeps there was constant noise outside (an illegal rave apparently) meaning the police were called out 3 times. Couldn't shout the windows as no air con. Second night was just as bed, left after second night as couldn't see what we were paying for. I found Carlos (one half of the ownership of the hotel) to be rude, unhelpful and a bit of a tw*t. Maybe he was having an off day, but still, he was a tw*t.

Anyways if you decide to stay here I hope you have a better time than we did, my advice would be if you can afford to stay somewhere else in Cannes (see the better rated hotels above) then do, it's worth it. Better than staying here I'm sure ....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minna06, Owner at Hotel Cybelle, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Once more very are terribly sorry about the "musical" nuisance this
person with mental breakdown 2 building blocks away from our hotel
terrorized not only you, but 100 other neighbors.
We called the police 3 times, other neighbors did the same.
Unfortunately the police could not get to that building, where the
trouble maker was.
Our priority is to make our guests feel comfortable and this
definitely did affect us. As you know, the room next to yours was not
rented on the 2nd night of your stay neither the one below, in case
the circus would restart, but it did not.
Next morning somebody's alarm clock went on and woke you up at 7 am,
now we cannot forbid people to have alarm clocks.
You compared our hotel to a youth hostel, well, in France youth
hostels are rooms with 6 beds in the same room with commodities
outside.
What comes to Tripadvisor, the guests make a global note, like
value/price ( you valued it 4/5), cleanness, etc.
As our hotel is quiet, this was an odd occasion and we could not do so
much about it,as we could not do if we had an earthquake, etc, we
really do our best to keep it clean and to be friendly and to be
helpful.
We also publish our hotel as small city center hotel, modest, no
air-co, no lift, this is also, what our guests write on their reviews.
Parking, we gave you 2 possibilities; either closed building nearby
with 10 % discount, or street parking for free, further away, like 15
min. walk, both 24/24 camera surveillance.
You left after 2 nights, but you made a booking only for 2 nights.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of Cannes.
At the same time, Tripadvisor is to make comments about the hotels,
but not to make personal pejorative insults, as you did.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cybelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cybelle

Address: 14 Rue Du Vingt-Quatre Aout, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 135 hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated in the very center of the city, 50 meters from the main railway-station. All the rooms are different with old-style charm. The prices are reasonable, even during the high season and events like Film Festival. Everything you need is like next door; * Shopping, well you can find anything from modest bargain of the year to latest Haute Couture sample. * At least 500 restaurants and snacks at walking distance, some with very attractive prices for simple, but delicious meals. * Festival Palace, la Croisette and the golden sand-beaches 200 meters away! And if by any chance you get bored in Cannes, well you just take a train or bus and visit either the next-door cities or the beautiful mountains behind. In the winter, there's a bus taking you to skiing resort in the morning and back in the evening. Our international team is always ready to give you advice. Welcome to Hotel Cybelle ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cybelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cybelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.