We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avangani (Last) Resort - hospitality ze french way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avangani Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Avangani Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avangani Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65, avenue du Docteur Picaud, 06150 Cannes, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Solhotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #106 of 135 hotels in Cannes
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
“Avangani (Last) Resort - hospitality ze french way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

OK, it's not a last resort hotel, but I couldn't resist the title, because first of all this is pretty far from being a resort. It is a completely average hotel with a swimming pool 50 yards from the beach in Cannes. Does that make it a resort? Didn't think so either. Other than the pool there is nothing else that associates a hotel with the word resort: spa, massage, the whole bit.
It's a decent enough hotel with decent rooms but that's pretty much it. Rooms lack these small fridges which to me are absolutely basic. The sour note, which explains the subtitle of my review, is the way you are treated at breakfast. At the peak of MIPcom season (a media market which I attend for professional reasons) all hotels are booked solid, so there is no excuse for hotels for not planning ahead and hiring more people. But although the breakfast room is packed, management thinks it is appropriate to have one french old lady (with characteristic desire to please that is the trademark of french employees in average hotels like this) taking care of everything. So what you get is that at nine A.M. there are no more eggs, no more yogurts, no more croissants, nada. And if you complain - even in french - you get ze french hospitality in return. But all in all a decent enough place where you can sleep comfortably, with nice bathrooms, but nothing special. And it's true that it is a bit far from the Croisette. So rent a bike or get a bus schedule.

Room Tip: Obviously the rooms facing the beach will be nicer, with balconies and all. But you'll have to f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    30
    21
    16
See reviews for
12
37
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel saved our holiday after having too check out early at a previous place, found them on the Internet & needed somewhere with private parking, only stayed 3 nights at this hotel but it was very comfortable & had secure underground parking which was 18€ a day on top but was glad to pay for the piece of mind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Overall the hotel is rather nice. The location a long walk from the city center is quiet and with easy access to the public beach. Though I would personally rate it more like a 3.5 star hotel than a 4 star hotel.

Using the swimming pool is free but if you want to use a sun chair and umbrella it costs 8€ per day. The price does include a towel and soft drink of your choice but I personally found this extra service fee annoying. 

The breakfast is not cheap but decent with a lovely view. The dinner in the restaurant is fine if you are to lazy to walk to the city center.  

However, I would not recommend this hotel due how they handled the missing chairs on our balcony. When we got the room all we had on the balcony was a table. Naturally we asked about the chairs and got a answer that their “technician” would fix it. He would also fix the non working TV.

We continued to ask about the chairs every day for the duration our stay only to get more and more evasive answers. Finally I found a bunch of broken chairs in a service room accidentally left open. That explains why we never got any chairs (the TV never worked either). But why could they not simply tell us that they were sorry but the chairs are broken and possibly compensated us.

That there were plenty of the same kind of chairs in the restaurant just makes it even worse!

The bad handling of this and the total lack of compensation makes this a hotel I strongly suggest you avoid. I mean what’s the use of a room with a balcony with sea view if you can’t sit on the balcony? 

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the 2012 Cannes Film Festival - it was one of the only choices left within my budget , the room was very small , basic and desperate for a make over. Breakfast was awful really awful with ants all over the bread table and a poor selection of yesterdays prepared food. We decide to skip breakfast there ( at €22 a person) - we walked the 200 metres to a little cafe across the street called SNACK and ate a really fresh breakfast there for about €6 each. The hotel bar isnt friendly and even at Cannes had no atmosphere at all. I have to say the staff though were excellent helpful and friendly. The pool area and gardens were very dated in fact the whole place needs a renovation. Expensive too - in fact way over priced.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view with a balcony - 5th floor is the best as its the only floor where you can see ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night as we were going to a family party nearby. It is easy to find from the motorway exit and close to the centre of Cannes. The rooms were clean but could do with being decorated and I think it was a bit overpriced because of the fact that it needed freshening up. We didn't use the pool but it looked very nice, nor did we have breakfast. I would stay there again if I needed a room in Cannes.

Room Tip: Our room had a lovely sea view, however the train line is also on this side of the hotel. It did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

nice and clean hotel, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is quite minimal but the bakery is simply amazing!
it is located only 2 minutes by cab from the croisette and the Palais des Festivals. If you are a good walker it is not so far but it is away from all the places of interest in Cannes. Price is also quite expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

the hotel / resort is beautiful placed, a bit outside Cannes, but still in walking distance. the room we had was nothing breath-taking for the price we paid. However, the restaurant serves fantastic food on a beautiful veranda. You can really enjoy your stay, enjoying also the pool if you don't want to go to the beach (which is 300m from the hotel).
Also handy comes the parking slot they have, so you don't have to worry about your car. A bit disappointed was the service in the restaurant (except for one girl, compensating it almost). In general it is very slow and the peak of it was, that we had to enjoy our coffee in 2nd row on one evening, because we didn't eat.
Dogs are allowed, by the way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avangani Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avangani Resort Hotel

Address: 65, avenue du Docteur Picaud, 06150 Cannes, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Solhotel)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avangani Resort Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Avangani Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avangani Hotel Cannes
Amangani Hotel Cannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avangani Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.