We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an overnight stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avangani Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Avangani Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Avangani Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65, avenue du Docteur Picaud, 06150 Cannes, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Solhotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night as we were going to a family party nearby. It is easy to find from the motorway exit and close to the centre of Cannes. The rooms were clean but could do with being decorated and I think it was a bit overpriced because of the fact that it needed freshening up. We didn't use the pool but it looked very nice, nor did we have breakfast. I would stay there again if I needed a room in Cannes.

Room Tip: Our room had a lovely sea view, however the train line is also on this side of the hotel. It did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    30
    21
    18
See reviews for
15
42
3
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

nice and clean hotel, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is quite minimal but the bakery is simply amazing!
it is located only 2 minutes by cab from the croisette and the Palais des Festivals. If you are a good walker it is not so far but it is away from all the places of interest in Cannes. Price is also quite expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

the hotel / resort is beautiful placed, a bit outside Cannes, but still in walking distance. the room we had was nothing breath-taking for the price we paid. However, the restaurant serves fantastic food on a beautiful veranda. You can really enjoy your stay, enjoying also the pool if you don't want to go to the beach (which is 300m from the hotel).
Also handy comes the parking slot they have, so you don't have to worry about your car. A bit disappointed was the service in the restaurant (except for one girl, compensating it almost). In general it is very slow and the peak of it was, that we had to enjoy our coffee in 2nd row on one evening, because we didn't eat.
Dogs are allowed, by the way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My fiance and I have just returned from a business trip to Cannes for the Tax Free Fragrance & Beauty exhibition. Needless to say prices will increase at times when you have no alternative and the hotels are very much aware that they can get away with it. The Avangani Hotel Picaud, was however, fairly reasonable considering it was graded as a 4 star. We paid around £650 for 4 nights stay (without breakfast) in a premium double room. Very clean, with a balcony that looked over the garden and you could actually see the sea.
Positives:
In the main the reception staff were very polite and tried to help as much as possible.
The entrance and lounge area was calm, clean and offered space to relax
Dining area was OK and looked out towards the pool
Room was a fair size and with the addition of the balcony made it more spacious
Negatives:
Although staff were polite I found that they did not get back to me regarding a number of queries i.e. car hire, the request for a letter regarding our room being left open all day by mistake of the cleaner!
No door on the bathroom within the room
No air vent in the very small closed toilet
Breakfast 19 euro's per person and served by a waitress that had attitude! We only had breakfast once!

As this was a business trip we were more interested in the location and for a 1euro, 3 minute bus ride into the centre it was incredibly cost effective and convenient. In fact, the public transport was very efficient and very cheap. We travelled all the way to Grasse for 1euro each. Incidentally, if you are into perfume then a visit to the Museum in Grasse, and at 4 euro entrance and 1 euro bus ride, it's a must

We also found a fabulous beach restaurant, Plage des Sports, where the atmosphere, banter of the french waiters and quality of food were excellent. We visited twice and would go again should we visit the same area. Reasonable in terms of cost.

Overall our experience was ok, but would look elsewhere before returning to this hotel. The things that are missing would not take much to replace! Give me one week there as a manger and it would earn it's 4 star status.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Polite, friendly reception staff,clean though small room with attractive sea view.Restaurant lacks atmosphere,food at best cafe like and poor value for money.Restaurant Manager disinterested when disappointment in food politely expressed.Take a ten minute walk into town and enjoy a great selection of restaurants at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Great Hotel, Alright Service, Good Pool, Breakfast could be better organised. Some Staff are giving the WRONG Bills to People. Overall 3 Star. As it is only 1 Star Off The BEST Hotels In Cannes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed for one night at the end of a week in a nearby fantastic apartment and was very disappointed!Small room ,no tea/coffee making facilities,no minibar,19 euros each for breakfast , 8 euro charge for sitting round the pool,tatty carpet,scuffed paintwork.....definitely not up to 4* rating.Although it was clean,had a comfortable bed and nice thick white towels it was overpriced compared to other 4* hotels around.We stayed here years ago on our honeymoon when it was a 3* and since then it has been r'efurbished' but now lacks any personality and is a rip-off!The most positive thing that I can say is that it has a good location......15 minutes walk from the centre of Cannes along a beautiful promenade!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avangani Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avangani Resort Hotel

Address: 65, avenue du Docteur Picaud, 06150 Cannes, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Solhotel)
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avangani Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Avangani Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avangani Hotel Cannes
Amangani Hotel Cannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avangani Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.