We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninspiring” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Cannes Mandelieu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Cannes Mandelieu to your Saves list
Mercure Cannes Mandelieu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Allee des Cormorans | Cannes La Bocca, 06150 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Uninspiring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An average hotel experience, with the main merit being its convenience if you are visiting a company in the local business park. This makes for a pretty uninspiring location. The hotel itself is clean and functional, but no more than this, in typical Mercure/Novotel style. Food in the restaurant is pleasant, with some interesting choices, and the waiter warmed to us as the evening progressed and looked after us well.

Room Tip: The hotel is next to a small airport but is still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    64
    47
    17
    12
See reviews for
20
51
14
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip to Cannes. All the popular hotels in the city centre were fully booked so looked further afield and found this hotel. Whilst it's location is not glamorous being situated on an industrial estate behind a private airfield, the hotel does offer good clean spacious comfortable accommodation with room facility provisions and excellent service. The smart restaurant offers a good menu for business travellers. In the morning I walked the 3 miles to the city conference centre at the port along the sea frontage in one hour and took a taxi to return in the evening. There was the option of a taxi or shuttle bus but with fantastic weather and a sea front walk it was an easy decision to travel on foot - one way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieCl-P, Directeur général at Mercure Cannes Mandelieu, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to post your comments about our hotel and share your experience on Trip advisor.

We welcome you to come back visiting Cannes and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel is a gem, it offers excellent service from all the staff, excellent rooms and food. The rooms are available in three grades all offer an ample sized bed room a bathroom and separate toilet. I suspect the hotel started life as a Novotel and anyone who uses this brand will feel at home in the room. The rooms also offer coffee making facilities, a small chiller and digital safe. The flat screen TV offers French and other European channels. Wifi is good in the room and hotel.
The hotel is less than a 10 minute walk to the sea front and offers a vast amount of secure car parking. The pool, although small, is well maintained and benefits from the sun all day.
Do not be put off by Google maps the location does not look good but I can assure you that it is safe and once within the hotel the nearby industrial units are forgotten. You will hear the helicopters and aircraft from the adjacent airfield, this is not obtrusive and certainly cannot be heard from your room or within the public areas.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieCl-P, Directeur général at Mercure Cannes Mandelieu, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
We would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel.

In our Mercure Hotel, all our staff is trying our best to offer a great service to our clients; therefore your feedback is very important for our team who works hard for giving you an impeccable service. We will always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality.

We welcome you to come back visiting Cannes and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

You want clean nice rooms. Don't mind the shuttle and the occasional overpriced Cannes taxi. Consider staying here in high season. Nothing much, actually nothing is anywhere around here. But if you are driving. Then stay here and save money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The hotel is situated in the middle of an industrial estate between Cannes and Mandelieu and next to the airport. Having said that, there wasn't that much noise from the airport. But having a car is essential - there's nothing else nearby and a long walk to any public transport. Breakfast was too expensive for us. The pool was very nice with lots of sunloungers. Only problem there was lots of ants. The rooms were spacious with comfy beds, good air con and separate toilet to the bathroom. A nice hotel but you really need to have a car.

Room Tip: Rooms are soundproofed so the noise of the airport isn't bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
li
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Shocking to learn to get to the bus stop one must walk along a very busy and dangerous dual carriageway. Whilst there,an individuals wheel cover flew off into the pathway! How dangerous! The food is extremely expensive in the hotel! Nearly €19 per person per day for breakfast alone! Whilst in the pool, a hotel guest was smoking! Children were around! This was unacceptable! The dinner most places is only served from 19.00, so if you are hungry... You just have to wait! Transport is a must to get to the town as I have noted it is extremely dangerous having to walk on the side of a highway for at least 20mins one way! On the plus side the bus is only€1.50 to cannes centre! However a taxi to the airport will set you back a meaty €80! To top it all off even though the hotel was pre paid! We were faced with an unexpected France city tax bill upon checkout! Not impressed!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieCl-P, Directeur général at Mercure Cannes Mandelieu, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Sir

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Pros: Excellent, helpful staff that were willing and able to speak English and go the extra mile when requested.
Lovely food at the restaurant (but strictly limited to European dishes - think good tomato mozzarella and carpaccio - Burger was lovely too)
Comfortable Bed
Clean swimming pool - largely unoccupied
Nice outside seating area

The Cons:
Poor Wifi in the rooms.
Very weak shower & the temperature is dependent on other people in the shower (in other rooms) and the toilet not being flushed.
Small window - overlooking Car park
Definitely NOT 4 stars in quality
Smelly water from the bathroom sink
35 Euro to get to central Cannes (as they charge you for inward trip)
Only one small (500ml) bottle of water provided on arrival for a double room.
Continental breakfast at 19 Euro (which they automatically add to your bill)
20 minutes WALK to get anywhere - no available public transport, McDonalds & Chinese buffet is a 20 minute walk, as is Carrefour (mispelt I think - its a super market) , the "nearest" real restaurants (there are only 2) are 20 minutes brisk walk the other way and aren't particularly impressive, despite nice decor.
2 mirrors in the room - but facing one another so only one person can use a mirror at a time.
Hairdryer in the bathroom seems to be on its own mission to burn the place down (burning smell and extremely hot to hold)
Not many / any irons available for use - none in the room.
AC is noisy
Definitely not sound proof - I could hear the girls next door howling in the shower every morning and before each party.
They shut /lock the front door each night at 11 - I think you have to buzz the door & wait a while to get back in.

Overall: Don't stay here unless you're here for business - or have access to a car - if you can afford all that taxi money - you might as well stay somewhere that's really four star.

Room Tip: The wifi is POOR in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieCl-P, Directeur général at Mercure Cannes Mandelieu, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel and staff.

In our Mercure Hotel, all our staff is trying our best to offer a great service to our clients; therefore your feedback is very important for our team who works hard for giving you an impeccable service. We will always take clients’ demand into serious consideration and try to keep improving our service quality.

We welcome you to come back visiting Cannes and it would be our pleasure to give you warm reception again.

Faithfully yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Cannes Mandelieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cannes Mandelieu

Address: 6 Allee des Cormorans | Cannes La Bocca, 06150 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cannes Mandelieu 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 min by car from the Palais des Festivals, La Croisette and Casino, and only 300m from fine sandy beaches, our hotel warmly welcomes you in a lush setting with swimming pool,solarium and terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Cannes Mandelieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cannes Mandelieu Hotel Cannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Cannes Mandelieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.