We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch on the waterfront” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ecrin Plage

L'Ecrin Plage
Bd de la Croisette | Port Pierre Canto, 06400 Cannes, France
04 93 43 43 33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #441 of 653 Restaurants in Cannes
Price range: $67 - $202
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: ucked away off the Croisette on the east side of Port Canto, L’Ecrin offers a private setting for beach private receptions.Open in the day time as a private beach with 180 sun loungers, L’Ecrin also functions as a restaurant and lounge bar. With a décor designed by the same artist as the Man Ray in Paris and New York and the Buddha Bar in Paris, L’Ecrin oozes a relaxed trendy vibe.For private events, L’Ecrin has 3 different spaces that can be used: the main restaurant which is totally under cover, a terrace which is really a continuation of the restaurant which can be either open air or covered with an extendable shelter and the lounge bar, a wooden decking chill out area opening out onto the sand. The restaurant and terrace combined have a maximum seated capacity of 180 for stated dinners. For cocktail parties, the venue with its 3 event spaces can fit larger groups of up to 400 standing.The menu is mainly French cuisine (mediterranean). For private event, L’Ecrin can put together a tailor-made buffet, seated dinner or canapé menu depending on your requirementsL’Ecrin can set up a dance floor area and provide sound and light equipment. The venue can also recommend DJs with whom they work frequently. One thing to keep in mind is that sound regulations on beaches in Cannes are quite strict. The venue should take care of applying for a late licence which will allow you to have music until 02.00. If you want to add a touch of magic to your reception then you could also ask the venue about the possibility of organising a firework display.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice lunch on the waterfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent a pleasant afternoon here while visiting Cannes. I made reservations a few days prior and when we arrived they had our table waiting for us. We had a nice view of the sea and the atmosphere was pleasant. The food was quite good. Everything was well presented, fresh and flavorful. I especially enjoyed the fruit plate for dessert. The service was professional and helpful. We also had some excellent mixed drinks. We thought the prices were reasonable. We'll definitely visit again next time we're in Cannes.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    11
    17
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“So good we went twice in one week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We love this place, it is not too pricey for Cannes on a waterfront location. You can get to it by anchoring off the beach, or by car/road near Port Pierre Canto. The combination of beach and other chilling areas after lunch is very attractive. The food was very good, on both occasions and the sweet excellent. The staff were also very attentive. We will be going back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannes
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had dinner here on a saturday evening. We weren't expecting very much mostly because of their reputation here in Cannes.
But we were nicely welcomed and seated at a nice table. Our waitress was extremely friendly and helpful. (it's impossible to read the menu because of the lack of light)
And another surprise, the food was good, it really was. Nothing special but nice. Here in Cannes it can be terrible!
It apparently was their last weekend open at night and it wasn't very crowded, or maybe we were just lucky. Anyway we had a very nice evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tres mal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Very bad restaurant. Expensive poor food ! Bad service... Very pity because it is a nice restaurant, but they will not see me again!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A memorable lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

New to Cannes - we had just driven in from a villa in the hills - and had the good luck to find a parking spot on La Croisette just near L'Ecrin. A beautiful setting beside the yacht harbour attracted us and we were made very welcome by the staff. The sun shone and the windows were flung open onto the lovely private beach and bay. We envied those who had brought their bathing items and could enjoy the sun, fine sand, sea and beautiful loungers, chairs and parasols of the restaurant. We ate three courses, with my Aberdeen Angus on balsamic shallots taking the starring role. It was cooked 'a point' to absolute perfection. With an enjoyable bottle of wine the bill came to just over 100 Euros. It still seems cheap for the chance to enjoy living the beautiful peoples' life - well thats how it felt. In truth the whole atmosphere was welcoming and inclusive.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ecrin Plage also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to L'Ecrin Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ecrin Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.