We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little flawed, but worth a visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jaipur

Le Jaipur
18,rue Marechal Joffre, 06400 Cannes, France
+33 (0)4 22 10 34 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 653 Restaurants in Cannes
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Pristina, Kosovo
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A little flawed, but worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Agree with many previous comments, small, but attentive, good food and convenient location. I've also tried Indian food all over the world and this more than qualifies as a great Indian getaway from the usual European fare. My only negative was that I thought I was very clear about finding a bland dish for Amy 11 year old. Instead the owner gave him extra spicy, I mean he's a kid! Was hoping for some understanding on bill since my son ate nothing, but we got a doggy bag and I spent the rest of the day carrying chicken tikka around Cannes. Just be very clear when you order. I ordered spicy murgh makhni and it was nicely spicy. I also liked the chutney which seemed to be to be a really nice lime chutney. Another plus, free wifi, so you can write your trip advisor review right at the table! If ever back in Cannes, would definitely come back. As for portions (per other comments), I would even call them too big.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    30
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average indian food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

It's an average restaurant with a seating capacity of 20 person only. As per restaurant it is little expensive.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

The food at Jaipur was very tasty, and quantities were not large yet ok. Service however was extremely slow, despite the small number of people dining when we were there. Unattentive service (e.g. having to ask again and again for a refill of water) did not add to the experience. Also, even though the outside signs advertise a few set menus - only when you try to order they bother telling you that during festival times (such as the film festival) - only the most expensive set menu is served. If you can afford spending 2 hours and twenty-something euros there - it might be worth it for the tasty food.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The food is good, the ambiance is typical. Do a reservation if you want to go there because there is just a few tables. The best... The cheese nan!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Brilliant spicy fix in Cannes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had tried & loved all the French & Italian food in Cannes, so we were looking for some spicy food. This isn't in the style we are expected to in the UK (i.e Bengali / Sylheti chefs) BUT did the job of our spicy food craving. The place could do with a bit more lighting as I understand the ambience of low lighting but need to be able to see the person next to me. The owner is from gujranwala in Pakistan- very hospitable. We would highly recommend a visit. Thanks for the masala tea - that was great.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Jaipur also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Jaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Jaipur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.