We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but a bit quirky” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renoir

Save Saved
You added Hotel Renoir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Renoir
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 rue Edith Cavell, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #26 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but a bit quirky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Renoir is certainly one of the better options value-for-money wise in Cannes - the local market seems to have a lack of competition or guests are generally prepared to pay lot.

Now to the Renoir itself:

Pros:
- Nicely refurbished rooms (if you book their trendy ones - they have different room categories);
- friendly reception staff;
- location, although not near "La Croisette", is close enough to the centre to walk everywhere without issues
- prices are okay for Cannes, although still on the expensive side;
- free Wifi included in the rate

Cons:
- Rest of hotel (in particular lift/staircase) are a bit dated
- location a bit odd next to a major street (but rooms are well isolated soundwise)
- Price couldn't be charged in a different hotel market
- Parking slightly confusing in a public car park

Overall not a bad deal, if you are prepared to live with the little oddities.

Room Tip: Book the design category
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    80
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
34
136
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Good spot to explore Cannes up on a hill between the old town and La Croisette. I was a little disappointed at first because we booked a Junior Suite and I found the pictures misleading. We had a little separate area away from the bed around a tiny corridor where we could have breakfast if we got it. Overall the room didn't feel spacious, but I warmed to it after a day. The breakfast was delicious and pretty big, however the cheapest was 12 euro each. Very stylish hotel though with lovely welcoming staff. The C-Beach associated with the hotel is not cheap, but was a great day out! Also if you leave luggage and go off for the day after you check out, they have nice little facilities to get freshened up before heading off.

Room Tip: I'd recommend it but would probably advise not to get your hopes up for a Junior Suite and go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nicely designed rooms and friendly staff. Bit loud road next to it but I didn't notice it much. First thought booking a hotel without pool was a mistake but that made me hit their beach instead with great sun loungers and superb food so turned out absolutely fine. Free wifi always a plus for me. Close to everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband, daughter and I arrived in Cannes about 10 a.m. local time but Emma checked us into a room right away. We were exhausted after a long flight so such service was very much appreciated. Our daughter was supposed to stay in Cannes with a group for an internship during the film festival but things went drastically wrong and we decided she should stay with us. Morgan at the front desk, who spent his childhood in Texas, changed our room to a beautiful suite and helped us greatly. We would come back to this hotel because of Morgan who went out of his way to make our stay a great one. The hotel is very close to the Palais Festival and all the great shopping and restaurants in the city center. There is a bar in the lobby. The suite had coffee and tea service in the room, a large bathroom with separate toilet room, walk in shower and soaking tub. There was a sofa bed, double doors that separated the living area from the bedroom and provided privacy for those sleeping in the king size bed, plenty of closet space, a breakfast table and even a private yard area outside the room. The suite was white with some colorful accents and had been recently renovated. The artwork was all Hollywood legends and there were art deco decorations. The beds were very comfortable with plenty of pillows. There are also plenty of electrical outlets which we found to be rare in Europe. We did have the same issue as the prior reviewer with the charges for breakfast which I thought was included, but it was a small problem. We greatly enjoyed breakfast delivered to the room and having coffee and wine at the table in the yard. The hotel is located next to a police station and across a major road from the train station so you can just walk to the train, even with large luggage. I highly recommend Hotel Renoir.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and i just spent a 5-day vacation in Cannes at the Renoir Hotel ajd indeed it couldnt have been more perfect!
The moment i walked into the hotel i didnt stop smiling. The hotel has a cozy "hollywood" theme, with Audery Hepburn and Marlin M. On the walls.
The gentleman (Morgan) at the reception was incredibly friendly, helpful and nice. He checked us in, in like 3 minutes and when we turned to point our bags out, it was already taken to the room!
Very swift, friendly and always smiling staff. The service continued to be this excellent all throughout our stay.
A small unintentional hiccup was, something technical went wrong with the elevator and it stopped on our way up. It was fixed in 2 minutes but they were so kind to send us afterwards freshly squeezed orange juice with buscits to our rooms as a "we apologize" gesture.
Then comes our room, which was just perfect!! U know when u walk into a room and u feel comfortable and at home? This is exactly how i felt. All white with greyish silver, spotless clean and very comfortable bed.
The location was 10 mins walking from the center of all happenings, which was the cherry on top.
The only tiny teeny thing i take on the hotel is the breakfast rate. So we booked the bed and breakfast rate. And the reception said upon arrival that we can just pick from whichever we want from the 4 breakfast menus (continental, diet, american, traditional). So we went for american everyday, but crossing out half of it (we dont eat bacon nor do we like cereals...etc). However, upon check out,we found extra charges for the breakfast. When i asked they said what is included is only cont. Or diet. If u picked from the other menus u pay the difference. Altho it was nt a big amount, i just found it strange that this bit was left out and not written on any breakfast menu, nor room booking notes, not even mentioned by reception or kitchen.
However, i have to say that our stay couldnt have been more better. The hotel is just perfect. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! I would def. Go bk :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

HOTEL: My Wife and I stayed here for 11 nights at the end of March/Easter 2013 to celebrate our 40th wedding Anniversary. We had booked a junior suite and upon arrival, the hotel had upgraded us to a full suite (Room 401). They also brought up a nice bottle of champagne on the evening of our actual anniversary. The staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay with good advice on travel/restaurants etc. (As others say, the lift is slow and small, and breakfast can be late if they are busy, but these were the only downsides we found)

The room was very good and large. Very Comfortable bed with a duvet, lots of pillows, and a feather mattress topping. Very clean room which was cleaned daily and the towels changed if required. The room dimensions were almost apartment like - i.e. settee, table and four chairs, sideboard with a 32" flat screen TV (only English channels were BBC World/CNN news though), fridge, large bathroom with shower and bath, separate WC (Not a bidet in sight either!), Bathrobes and slippers, a safe, desk, 2 balconies (Yes, it looks over a highway, but was easy to cross with pedestrian lights etc. AND entertaining when the police close 2 lanes to spot check tax discs/tyres etc.) The National Police Station is in front of the hotel, so felt really safe at night.

LOCATION: We found the location ideal for us - I agree not right for a beach Holiday as too far to walk with chidren. For us though, it was perfect - close to station/bus station (we went on several trips by bus/train), 2 minutes to the Rue Meynadier (cobbled, pedestrianised road with interesting shops), 5 mins to the Old Town/Market, 7-8 minutes to La Croissette, 3-4 minutes to Rue D'Antibes. We felt being nearer to the Old Town to be a more interesting area than the designer shopping on La Croisette, so it suited us.

TRIPS: Days out were great - bus costs 1 euro per trip (you could get to Nice for 1 euro if you can spare 90 minutes ! ) Trains give a 25% discount for over 60s too. We went to Antibes (twice) by bus, Mougins by bus (+ a 20 minute walk uphill to the old town, but worth it), Ventimiglia by train (for Friday market - took 90 minutes) and we stopped off in Menton for a walk around on the way back as you can break your journey.

RESTAURANTS: We were very pleased with the choice of restaurants too - We are not into gourmet dining/wine, or seafood and my Wife is a vegetarian and allergic to peppers, so expected a "challenge" eating out !!! but there was an amazing choice (having done some research on Tripadvisor first though) - The restaurants below all spoke English (or could understand our very poor/limited French) - The value in Formula meals (a limited choice of starters/mains/desserts give great value - for example the 23 Euro 3 course formula at L'Assiette Provencale inlcluded mains which were 19 euros, so a no-brainer !

We ate at:
• Cafe Boheme (twice) - great value and choice, and good atmosphere, near the harbour
• Le Jaipur - 2 minutes from the hotel - Indian, but slightly different to UK - poppadums, bit small and crunchy, more like supermarket ones, but curries etc. were good
• Le Hit - very close too to the hotel. Owner/Waiter very friendly and enthusiastic. Best value meal by far. Also, he was so rushed (although maybe only 8-10 customers !!), that he left the charge for deserts off our bill and when I pointed this out, he was so amazed/pleased. I suspect when busy/several locals there is music (guitar/piano) and a possible late evening/lock-in !
• Le Meissouniere - Almost opposite Le Hit. Very good food and a bit more refined. (See their website for menu) - Service and quality of food was first-rate
• L'Assiette Provencale (twice) - maybe a 7-8 minute walk, but well worth it - 23 Euro Formula Menu (Smoked Salmon Tartar, Sea Bream, Lemon Meringue pie (genuinely home made) -
• Le Cosi - probably the dearest meal (but not too dear) - 31 Euro (Vegetarian) and 33 Euro Classic Formula meals. The vegetarian meal was one of the best my Wife has eaten - vegetable flan/tart with the lightest pastry, lovely vegetables (and no peppers), vegetable risotto main which was so beautiful, and a mille feuile creation for dessert - wafer thin pastry base, then red fruit, middle layer of pastry, then dark fruit, top pastry + cream etc....AND the location is excellent - In the old Town on a cobbled walkway, with a "buzzy" feel in the evening. We sat on the decking and watched "passer-bys" and customers in the wine bar opposite.
• Cote Jardin - Again, a very good choice (on a par with Le Cosi) - The location is north of the Hotel away from the touristy parts in a residential area near a School, but do not let this put you off. The food and service are worth the 5 minute walk ! The menu is changed every 15 days. You can sit in the restaurant or adjoining conservatory (or the garden if the weather is good)
• Ristorante Angolo Italiano (twice) - Excellent pasta and service - a 10 minute walk from the Hotel but most of it is down the Rue D'Antibes, so great for window shopping (because the shuts are shut !!) The staff and chefs come from Naples and this gives an authentic Italian Atmosphere

WEATHER: The weather was not great - rained/drizzled a lot, but we had a terrific time due to the Hotel, its location and Cannes as a base.

We would strongly recommend considering the Renoir - If we return to Cannes, we would be hard pushed to choose somewhere else.

(Pricing of Hotels in Cannes seems to fluctuate with conferences/film festival dates etc. If you choose carefully, it is a reasonably priced area)

Room Tip: Room 401 (top floor) had little traffic noise although facing the highway. Good views to sea, old to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here with my husband, myself and our two children. The room was spacious, we had a suite, and well decorated. Everything was clean, however the shower did not drain properly which meant you couldn't have that nice long shower you look forward to when travelling.
We had a few concerns, namely the sofa bed my children slept on was so uncomfortable that for our second night they preferred to sleep on the floor! It also concerned me that if there was an emergency such as a fire, there would be no exit suitable to evacuate the building.
Sorry but we wouldn't stay here again

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Renoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renoir

Address: 7 rue Edith Cavell, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#13 Business Hotel in Cannes
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Renoir 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A real master painting... discover the Renoir Hotel The Renoir Hotel is a newly renovated "glamour" boutique hotel, located in the heart of Cannes and only a few steps away from the Palais des Festivals, its private beach "The CBeach" and the shopping district. Enter this luxurious building, dating from the late 1900's, and be amazed by its delicated and comfortable atmosphere given by wide surfaces as well as an harmonious mix of colours and materials. With 29 rooms and suites, all painted with beige and white shades, and decorated with "Hollywood style" furnitures, the Renoir Hotel will transport its customers to a world of peace and relaxation... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Renoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renoir Hotel Cannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.