We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet hotel, perfect location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Renoir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Renoir to your Saves list
Hotel Renoir
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 rue Edith Cavell, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #26 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sweet hotel, perfect location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel is located about five minutes walk from the train station, and a short 10 minute stroll through the cobbled streets down to La Croisette and beach. So with heavy cases and ready for exploring, this location was ideal for us.

The first thing you notice about this hotel is the staff, very friendly and helpful. Great that they speak perfect English too.

Our room was on the top floor, and we were delighted to find we had a balcony. The room was fairly small, but the separate bathroom and toilet, gave us a little extra space when getting ready. Nice amenities and free WiFi.

The only down side for us, was they had a problem with our room lock, which meant our key wouldn't work so every day and evening we were escorted to our room and door opened with a master key. After the first couple of times we got use to it, and it made us feel like we were getting a personal service... not such a hardship.

Overall a really nice little hotel, in a wonderful part of the South of France.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    81
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
34
138
9
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Good Hotel, Great Price, Far from the Beach.

We stay at this hotel in May 2012, very good size rooms, comfortable bed & big bathroom, we reserved the Prestige Double Room and was very good. The staff is very friendly and all of them speak English. However we were disappointed with the location, I think that the hotel is a little far from the beach is 10 to 15 minutes walk, we have been before in Cannes and we loved to be close to the beach and enjoy the amazing views because the best of Cannes is the beautiful Mediterranean ocean, unfortunately when we went all hotels on the beach were booked, but the Renoir was a very good option in a really good price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just stayed 4 nights at this hotel and was impressed by the size of the room (Junior suite) and location. The hotel's about a 10 min walk down to the main promenade so it's really easy to get to.
We booked through voyage prive and got the room upgrade, bottle of champagne and macarons on arrival which was lovely. After leaving the bottle for too long it went warm so we asked for some more ice from the bar but kindly the staff pulled a fresh, cold bottle out of the fridge for us. Overall the Staff were friendly and helpful and made a number of recommendations of where to eat and what to do.
The one negative I would say is that because the hotel's so central there's a lot of noise from one side of the hotel where it faces a really busy road. The window's do block out a lot of noise but something to bear in mind if you're a light sleeper.

I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

read Jonathan01 advise regarding Nice-hotel transfer, very very useful, thanks again, very nice hotel, excellent service

Room Tip: very nice, clean and excellent service, but the room on the street side is very, very noisy, traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

My girlfriend and me went through endless hotel reviews before going to Cannes and ended up at the Renoir - it seemed sweet and "boutique", but also affordable. We arrived in the heaviest rain that you can imagine, but the great host and owner (?) Morgan reassured us that the sun would return soon. It did, by the way.

Hotel Renoir is very nice for the price: spacious rooms, little balcony, very spacious bathroom and perfect, personal service. When my girlfriend dropped her necklace in the sink, Morgan himself came up to get it out. Didn't try the breakfast, but it smelt fantastic every morning. Bed was outstanding in its size and just felt fantastic, not too soft, not too hard.

Would definitely recommend Renoir again, despite the not so ideal location. However, you should try to book through third party booking agent to guarantee good price, we paid 120 a night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed for a week at the Renoir and was very impressed. After travelling from Paris we arrrived tired but the friendly staff at reception made sure we were made welcome and checked-in very quickly. The room was a Junior Suite and was excellent and had two small balconies which with a bit of effort you could get a couple of chairs on but unfortunately we only got the sun around 5-6 pm so we didn't use them much. As previously noted it's in a great location and ideal for everything,we took the train from the station which is 5min away to Antibes which is well worth a visit. Cannes is undergoing a lot of upgrade work just now with pavements and streets dug up but it didn't spoil our enjoyment and we even had the bonus of lovely weather. All in all a great hotel and real value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We read all the reviews of this hotel before deciding to book for 4 nights. Most of the comments were generally favourable but we took note of the negatives and made what we thought was an informed choice. We were absolutely delighted with this hotel and it exceeded our expectations. Specifically, we had a Junior Suite (Room 203) at the front of the hotel – very quiet and immaculately decorated in white, grey and silver. The room was spotless and extremely comfortable. The hotel offers a choice of 4 breakfasts but if you have breakfast included, check first that this covers all four or just the basic Continental. On the first morning, we chose to have breakfast served in our room – it arrived 25 seconds after the booked time with every item requested on the tray. Only problem – if you like your tea scalding hot, don’t book breakfast in the room. So the second morning we had our breakfast in the bar area and a delightful Mauritian member of staff made everything fresh to order (no buffet breakfast that had been standing for hours). All in all, the Renoir was absolutely brilliant and we’d have no hesitation either returning or recommending to others.
Travel Tip: We left things late and didn’t organise any transfers. Taxi prices from Nice airport looked horrendous so we followed some earlier advice and used the train. Walk from the airport to Nice St Augustin (about 10 mins) and then take the train to Cannes. The Renoir is no more than 3 or 4 minutes walk – all very easy as long as your luggage has wheels and the cost was €10.80 – we spent the £160 taxi fare savings on dining out. Talking of which, the restaurants of Le Suquet knock spots off the overpriced establishments along La Croisette or the much cheaper ones a few streets back. Some of them try to grab you as you walk past (a bit like timeshare touts in Tenerife used to) but our favourite was Le Beija Flor on Rue du Suquet. Two good value fixed price menus and a great a la carte, first class food and service plus excellent jazz, jazz funk and soul music in the background.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are quieter but try for a junior suite if you can as there's a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Renoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renoir

Address: 7 rue Edith Cavell, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#15 Business Hotel in Cannes
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Renoir 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A real master painting... discover the Renoir Hotel The Renoir Hotel is a newly renovated "glamour" boutique hotel, located in the heart of Cannes and only a few steps away from the Palais des Festivals, its private beach "The CBeach" and the shopping district. Enter this luxurious building, dating from the late 1900's, and be amazed by its delicated and comfortable atmosphere given by wide surfaces as well as an harmonious mix of colours and materials. With 29 rooms and suites, all painted with beige and white shades, and decorated with "Hollywood style" furnitures, the Renoir Hotel will transport its customers to a world of peace and relaxation... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Renoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renoir Hotel Cannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Renoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.