We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Service, Super Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Cavendish

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Cavendish to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Cavendish
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Boulevard Carnot, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 135 hotels in Cannes
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“Great Hotel, Great Service, Super Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I just returned to the US from Cannes and stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. It has a great location with everything within walking distance. Their association with a beach club is a big plus. Two people in particular are worth mentioning. One is the receptionists/concierge, Capucine, who was as pleasant, knowledgeable, and helpful as we've ever experienced anywhere. The same holds true for Reda, one of the bellmen.
Paul & Barbara Greenman

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    82
    19
    5
    6
See reviews for
20
243
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Pros:
clean
friendly staff
a lot of character
open bar during happy hour - free drinks
big rooms, bathrooms

Cons:
too far from the beach
a lot of road construction, noisy - but this is not the hotel's fault
Cannes is dirty, over crowded...not worth staying

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It is located just 10 mins walk from the beach. The room was fairly large. It is a old building and the lift is really old. I was in a mezzanine level and so had to come down the stairs after taking the lift from the 1st floor. Room was nice and clean and well serviced. No free water in the room at all. Evian in the minibar was not replaced after I finished it. There is 24 hours reception which is great as the advertising festival involves drinking till early morning.

The breakfast was minimalistic but comprehensive, healthy and more than adequate. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is noisy roadwork right opposite but the hotel cant be faulted for that. Otherwise it is away from the noise and partying of the beachfront. Bank ATMs right across the street> Small supermarket and pharmacy within 100 metres.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

First, the good points. The hotel has a lot of character, being in an historic building. We were given an excellent, friendly welcome on arrival, with very helpful restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was included in our booking and was good.

The bad points: the location of the hotel means that you have to cross a busy, polluted, 10 lane major road to get anywhere a holiday maker would want to go, including restaurants, the seafront, the beaches, the station and the town. There are pedestrian crossings, but it is still a nuisance to have to cross this road every time and not conducive to a relaxed experience. They are doing major roadworks outside the hotel as at June 2013 (this is not the hotel's fault, of course, but it is a hassle at the moment to get to the hotel). One of the reception staff (not the same lady who gave us the welcome on arrival) seemed to take an instant dislike to us and behaved in an unfriendly and impolite manner towards us.

I would not stay here again. Given the vast choice of hotels in Cannes, there is no need to put up with the problems outlined above.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineWELTER, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Cavendish, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you very much for your stay with us and would like to clarify some of your comments.

As far as the works launched by the city are concerned, some delays occured due to rainy spring we had here . Should be completed by end of the month.

Regarding the main road you are talking about, we do not have 10 lanes road anywhere in Cannes . The one you are talking about is a 2x2 lanes road easily crossable by pedestrians

Last but not least you are writing that one of our receptionnist was not polite and I do apologise for that. Within the last past years we never got a complaint of this nature. We train the staff to be helpful and friendly / professional and closed to our guests.
Would you mind clarifying to me in what you have been disappointed in her / his attitude ? It will be of great help to me to improve our service towards customers.

I do apologise again and you will be able to reply to me.

Best regards
Christine WELTER
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The main attraction to this hotel is the wonderful staff and service. The hotel decor is a little tired but the friendly smiles and exceptional service makes up for it. We were lucky enough to stay in a wonderful room on the 4th floor which if the sun is shining you can see the sea. It is in a very convenient position for walking to the main town and the port. It is a small and intimate hotel. The breakfast is basic but more than adequate. It has one nice little touch which is that there is a free bar between 6-9 pm. This is nice as you get to chat to other residents who are also staying from all parts of the globe. Would definitely recommend but make sure you book 440, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was our last stay on a 2 week european visit that included 4 and 5 star hotels. None of them compared to the level of service and care that we received at Le Cavendish. The room was a bit small, but we saw the roon across the hall being cleaned- it was HUGE- may want to ask. ALSO, we were told that Bfast was included, but when we checked out we had a $40 euro per night addition- make certain you know. The Bfast was fine, but not 20 euros pp worth. Also there is a great little cocktail hour each evening, always nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineWELTER, Propriétaire at Hotel Le Cavendish, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for this very nice comment which I will pass on our staff. We are all very proud to welcome our clients at Le Cavendish and help them making an unforgettable stay in Cannes.
As far as the breakfasts are concerned, I do apologise for the confusion and perhaps misunderstanding but the breakfasts are offered to guests booking directly on our website. As well as other added values such as sunbeds on private beach .
The cost of the breakfast is 20 € for a full buffet including homemade cakes & pastries / croissants baked on site / homemade marmelades / organic cereals / italian hams and cheese / eggs / fresh fruits salad and fruits of the season nicely sliced / yogurts / freshly squeezed juices and loose leaves teas as well as organic and fair trade coffees.
If something special you would have loved to get for breakfast was missing, we would have been delighted to prepare for you.
Hope you had a nice trip back,
Very Best Regards ,
Christine Welter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valenza, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very nice location, friendly and professional staff, nice guests international crowd.
If you're looking for a nice place where to spend long week end this is the place you're looking for!! Rooms are nice, we just took the standard but, though having the washroom a bit small , nothing was missing in there. If you can efford taking the oval room it is an experience (I didn't stay but saw it)
Gay friendly atmosphere in a very mixed multi language place. The staff currenlty speaks french, italian and english. Remarkable the open bar everyday from 6,00 to 9,00 PM, you can really sit there for hours having free drinks with your friends before going for dinner, this is great!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Cavendish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cavendish

Address: 11 Boulevard Carnot, 06400 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 135 hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Cavendish 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few steps away from the famous Croisette and the luxurious shops in rue d'Antibes, Le Cavendish 4* hotel in Cannes offers an intimate getaway in a refined and cozy setting. Belle Epoque facade, lift dating back from 1920, stairs in marble of Carrare, genuine wood floors combine elegantly with a charming decoration for a definitely intimate stay. With the exclusive upscale service of luxury hospitality, Le Cavendish - boutique hotel in Cannes - and its 34 rooms has become one of a kind place to stay. Whether in couple, family or for business ... Enjoy Cannes differently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Cavendish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Cavendish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.