We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafedes

Cafedes
16 Quai Saint Pierre, 06400 Cannes, France
04 93 38 93 25
Improve this listing
Ranked #551 of 676 Restaurants in Cannes
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Røros, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't go here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

There's nothing positive I could point out about this experience. We were 6 people dining: I couldn't eat my salad as it tasted awful (salad nicoise), my friend couldn't eat the prawns in the prawn salad. The red wine wasn't good either. It's cheap prices here, but still not worth it as I left and was still hungry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    9
    9
    12
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gjovik, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Shut this restaurant down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We was hungry after a trip on an island and decided this looked like a fine restaurant.
(We really regret not reading recommendations here first!

We were met by a man who spoke one word english and the rest of the sentence in french.
It took long time before we could get to order, and when finally he told us that they didn't serve pizza before eight o'clock in the evening..... We had gotten a meny with a hole page of pizzas, but couldn't order one. Are you kidding me?
He should have given us a meny without pizza choice, or at least told us when we sat down that they didn't serve pizza at this time.

We ended up ordering carbonara and bolognese, I felt the rush and bolognese wasn't exactly what I wanted the most. We got the food quick, so that was good.
My food tasted ok, nothing special (I ordered bolognese). My boyfriend thought that microwave food from Norway taste better than this.

The table next to us ordered hamburgers which looked really good.
And they got the food quite quick!

We had a good experience while leaving. A young girl from the staff (wearing orange jogging shoes) spoke good english and was very nice and thanked us for eating at the restaurant. She deserved a star! She also served the table next to us, and I'm sure that if she had served us in the first place we would have a much better experience! No doubt!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Miserable food!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Last week several times we went there and tried several dishes.
The food was miserable. Never seen before!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This restaurant was bad from start to finish... The staff were disinterested and the service was slow. The spaghetti carbonara was tasteless and the pizza my wife ordered arrived 5 minutes after the rest of the food. When serving the pizza the waitress knocked over a full glass of coke all over the table and floor... When we left not a single member of staff thanked us or said goodbye. Do yourself a favour and walk a few minutes further round the harbour and choose another restaurant!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best moules, light large salads!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We tried moules et frites at least 7 times, in each city in South of France.
This restaurant, although a small and casual cafe, had AMAZING moules! Amazingly fresh, large, and well cooked.

We got the peche salade, huge, super light, and very filling. Good value for money!
Excellent arrabiata pasta as well -- surprisingly much better than the Italian ones on the croisette facing the main hotels.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafedes also viewed

Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Cannes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Cafedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafedes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.