We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albert 1er Cannes

Save Saved
You added Hotel Albert 1er Cannes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Albert 1er Cannes
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 avenue de Grasse, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for a week and the host kindly offered us a family room (we booked a double room), it was spacious and very clean. There is a big bathroom with a tub, no shower though, but it wasn’t a big problem to us. We are very happy with the price we pay and the standard of the room we get. It’s on the hill, so requires some up hill walking on the way back, but it’s good exercise for us after 3 course meals everyday :D The couple who runs the hotel is very friendly. Breakfast is made by them, standard bread, coffee and pastry, costs 7 euro per person per day, which isn’t too bad compared to breakfasts other cafes offer. Overall it was a very nice stay for us and we recommend this hotel to people who don’t want to spend as much on accommodation and who don’t mind living a bit outside the centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    36
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
73
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It is a really fantastic hotel; about 10min walk from the promenade of Cannes. The room was really spacious and lovely furnished. Even though we arrived real early we could already take the room and use the on site free parking area. Evelyne the owner, made us feel like home. The breakfast which can be booked for around 7€ was delicious and nicely prepared! It was a real great stay and I would always come back here!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights. This hotel is the perfect one, if you want to pay not that much, have a good location and very clean (new?!) room.
The couple in this hotel is very friendly and polite. The breakfast is made by them and you got it on your table. Also the cleaning part is made by them. You have the feeling that you are in your aunts home, which 5 stars hotels try to be sometimes.
The way to beach takes around 8-10 minutes downstairs, upstairs could be more, cause the hotels locations is on a hill.
The room was cozy and very clean! No fault to find! I can recommend this hotel really to everyone and i know that i will come back here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for five nights. The hotel is very well managed by a lovely couple, who were warm, friendly, intelligent, and helpful. The location was perfect for us, in easy walking distance of the train station and the town. This was our first trip to Cannes, and our hostess, Evelyne, responded to my numerous email inquiries promptly and clearly. We had a last minute change of plans and she was flexible and helpful in every respect. The room was very clean, cozy, and comfortable, with excellent A/C, a safe for valuables, and a modern bathroom (shower with no tub, but good hot water and a good size). The outdoor breakfast area was pleasant and inviting, and the indoor common areas were also pleasing with tables & chairs, a piano, and fresh flowers.

It is an uphill walk to the hotel from the train station (we used public transportation and our feet to get around), but you can also take the #2 bus which has a stop close to the hotel (this was handy for us when we had luggage to lug around). This is not a posh resort, but it was the perfect place for us. We were in Cannes mainly because of its location (we were meeting high school classmates to celebrate our 60th joint birthdays on the Cote d'Azur), and we were out exploring the area by train and car all day (this hotel has car parking, by the way - we ended up not renting a car since our other classmates had cars and we were able to ride with them). Thus, we only needed a place to sleep and have b'fast. The hotel was very, very good value, with the bonus of warm & friendly proprietors, clean room, excellent bathroom, a quiet neighborhood (very residential, with a small park nearby), yet an easy walk to the center of Cannes and its train station. Highly recommended - five stars from us!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hotel Albert 1er is la perfect place to stay when visiting Cannes and Côte d'Azur. It is located 5-10 minutes walk from the Cannes Port, Old Town and 20 minutes walk from the beach. And the value of the money is very good!

Rooms are clean and comfortable with very nice decor details. We had a huge double room with en suite, with huge terrace and beautiful sea view (hotel is located up on the hill, so you can see port and city from windows). A little fridge in each room and a separate small room (like a closet) for your luggage and to put things.

The Hotel is run by a lovely couple. You feel like at home! Warm welcome, lots of nice chat and perfect interpersonal communication!

Breakfast can be enjoyed on a sunny terrace.

Free Wi-Fi available.

Very friendly two star hotel (in my opinion it should be higher) with great service! Highly recommended!

There is no air dryer in the room (or bathroom). A little bit to dark and "cold" inside rooms because of the grey walls and decors. I would add some nicer and warmer colours, maybe paint one of the walls into warm shade of grey.
And I would expand the breakfast with some cheese or ham or eggs maybe...

As going from there to the City Centre is easy downhill walk, when coming back from the City - you have to be prepared to walk up the hill... No problem for us, although some may don't like it...

Everything else - PERFECT!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Ok. So Cannes is expensive. This hotel is not. And it's run by a lovely couple. I would have painted the walls, changed the curtains and the lampshades. But a good bed and a great breakfast made up for all of that. Also very efficient and silent aircon. So I you want a low budget, friendly two star hotel with great service, run for it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

The personel is very friendly. They treaded us very nicely, and everthing was great.

The room is a bit small, and noisy after 10 a.m., but still very cozy.
The bathroom is large.

Recomend. Stay 2 nights instead of 1.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Albert 1er Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albert 1er Cannes

Address: 68 avenue de Grasse, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Albert 1er Cannes 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert Premier hotel profits of an ideal space.Close to the beach and the Cannes building of congresses ,its situated in a quiet and green district. This beautiful white villa goes towards the sea and Lerins islands.You can take your breakfast outside, under the shade of a tree of mimosas and pines.There's a nice meeting room inside where you can read a book or play cards in your free time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Albert 1er Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albert 1er Cannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.