We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, old, not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Carlton Cannes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 135 hotels in Cannes
La Ciotat, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tired, old, not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

If it weren't for the brilliant staff and the extra large fluffy feather pillows on the small bed, I would give this place a 1. The staff are friendly, courteous, smiling, helpful and most speak english, or endure my french. It's a shame they work at this tired old hotel that honestly should be closed for a year or two and gutted. The wall paper is tired, fading and old, the bathroom fixtures are old, everything is old (except the pillows) and in need of replacing. So not worth the money. I stayed at the Marriott last MIPCOM and will request it again next year, it's modern and clean. While the Carlton is stunning outside it really needs some TLC on the inside.

Room Tip: While the rooms at the back are quieter at night, when the recycling gets going it is painful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Michelle M,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.
We have taken good note of your highly positive comments about the staff. They are our best rewards and they strongly encourage us to uphold the level of Service your are entitled to expect.
I regret however to read that you were not happy with the room you occupied. Let me begin by expressing my apologies for the disappointment you experienced with regards to the description that lead your negative feedback, I am very sorry to hear that you do not feel having received the level of quality at our hotel on which we pride of ourselves. We are honestly and frankly not used to deal with such negative comments but your feedback is very important for us as it represents your personal feeling corresponding to your own experience.
We sincerely hope you will give us a new opportunity to welcoming you back at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes for MIPCOM 2014.
Best Regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    201
    98
    57
    43
See reviews for
95
372
24
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

There are so many nice hotels on the French Riviera. This is maybe the worst exception, a real rathole! The first bad impression you get when you arrive is the aggressive and threatening look of the thugs at the entrance who are supposed to guard some members of their "clientele". Bad service all over starting from the reception, haughty, arrogant and totally unprofessional clerks; the same pattern applies to the bar and restaurant staff. Tiny squalid rooms, incredibly minuscule bathrooms fit for a third/fourth class hotel. No pool, no spa, no turkish bath, no sauna, no garden. Just inexplicably pricey. Nevertheless across the road they have their own little beach where they charge ridiculous amounts of money just to sit in a very crowded spot full of shouting and molesting little kids. The icing on the cake is that they force you to leave the beach at six pm (which is really the best time of the day) blaming this on some non existing police regulation. Just read the standard meaningless replies to lots of complaints from their useless manager on trip advisor. Still supposedly ideal for nouveau arabs and russians who certainly don't know any better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Exactly what one would expect by the seaside...very comfortable resort for the well-heeled. Lots of closet space and well-appointed bathrooms. Gym shouldn't call itself that, but with the beach across the street, better to go for a run or a swim in nature.

Bar is quiet, can become extremely lively at night, especially during a festival or convention. Type of crowd also tends to vary during the festival/convention time.

Very kind concierge and staff. The concierge followed up the next day after my friend lost her wallet (we found it at a restaurant) to make sure all was ok. Considering the hotel was packed to capacity I was pleasantly surprised the service and attention remained top-notch.

Food and beverage options at the hotel are very reliable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear 818Foodie,

Thank you for having posted your comments further to your recent visit to the InterContinental Carlton Cannes during the Film Festival.

We are delighted to learn that you were satisfied with the ability of the Concierge to solve the unfortunate situation you experienced.

Your positive comments will be shared with the department head.

All of us are looking forward to welcoming you back soon .

Cordially,

The Guest Relations Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed for 4 days, unfortunately not in a room overlooking the sea but lovely small room. The large majority of the personnel were wonderful and the breakfast was of excellent quality. Having breakfast on the outside terrace was lovely and the waiters were really nice. The only thing was I had written to the Head Concierge before arrival, requesting something and upto this day, never had a reply back. I found out the information I had asked for upon arrival, by asking someone at reception. Nevertheless I found the fact that I had never received an answer to my request rather off putting for a hotel of this class, that's why I won't give a 5/5. Hats off to the men who had to manage all the cars arriving at the same time, in a tiny space, parking the cars, making room for the pedestrians, getting the cars for the clients .... Internet can be used downstairs for free and parking is 40€/day. Luxury shops just outside the hotel and as we didn't have time to sit down on the beach across the road, yet just wanted a swim, we didn't have to pay to use the deck chairs. Quality bathroom articles were given out generously. Lovely stay in all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Mrs Grisel,

Thank you for giving from your time to leave a feedback on trip advisor concerning your stay at the InterContinental Carlton, Cannes.

We were delighted to read such nice comments coming from our guests. They are a wonderful reward.

Furthermore, please be assured that your remarks regarding the Concierge will be shared with the personnel concerned.

All of us are looking forward to welcoming you back for another “lovely stay” !

Cordially,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Wow, what an amazing hotel. We were upgraded to a superior room with partial sea view, next to the greta garbo suite. There is a real feeling of class about the Carlton. The staff were amazing and really couldn't do enough. We definitely want to return! Thanks to all of the staff at the Carlton!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Sukshf,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comment further to your recent stay at the Carlton InterContinental Cannes.

We are delighted to read that you have greatly appreciated our Hotel in terms of atmosphere and service and your satisfaction is a wonderful reward for all of us !

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another unique experience,

Cordially,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very nice and classic hotel, , which is the best place to stay at. You are walking distance from restaurants and fancy shops. The service is excellent and the rooms as well, very comfortable.our room was modern with light wood. Beds were very good. The rooms made the trip for us. Service was excellent from the hotel staff - very attentive and not too snooty

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Marie b,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments following your stay in January.

It’s nice to hear that you greatly appreciate all the aspects of your stay : the comfort of your room, the attentive service as well as the friendly and helpful behaviour of our team.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments, they are our best rewards!

Best regards,


Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Views are stunning and the conservatory offers a wonderful breakfast with stunning views. I was there on a crisp but sunny morning and it was just amazing. Perfect location. Service a little cold and rooms are not my taste but if you like the traditional style you will enjoy the rooms. Great property.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Iain A,

First of all,thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience further to your recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
We were glad to read that you have enjoyed our "historical" property in general and greatly appreciated the quality of the breakfast served with a magnificent Mediterranean surrounding.

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely Yours

The Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Address: 58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cannes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The places of tomorrow have a history!Built in 1911, inaugurated in 1913 and ideally located on the famous "La Croisette" Boulevard, close to the Cannes Palais des Festivals and the shopping district, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes is facing the Mediterranean Sea and offers breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Welcoming prestigious guests for a century, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes features 343 rooms, including 39 renovated suites, 2 restaurants (one of them is the Beach restaurant, seasonal), 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Carlton Cannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.