We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk - no idea how to deal with clients” 1 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Carlton Cannes to your Saves list
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 135 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Como, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Front desk - no idea how to deal with clients”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

After having booked a 4-days stay fully paid in advance (4 months before venue), I was prevent two times in the same day to enter in my room and the room services were suspended during the last night. They even blocked the minibar! Reason: after charging the credit card the first day, they asked to grant the difference of the expenses of the permanence less then 24 hours before the departure. With a EUR 80'000 in the garage; to a client that paid everytime every penny due to this hotel... No idea of the so called principle of opportunity...
Never again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Marco M,

Thank you for the time you spent to share your comments on tripadvisor, regarding your stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes hotel.

Our team is intending on exceeding our valuable Guest's expectations at every stay. Hence, we would ask you to accept our sincere apologies concerning the incidents that you felt and did tarnish your stay in Cannes.

Our management has well received your personal message you left upon your departure, and is on the way to reply to you directly.


We do hope have the pleasure to welcoming you back to enjoy a memorable stay, for your next visit in Cannes.

Sincerely Yours

Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    261
    122
    61
    50
See reviews for
130
503
35
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Carlton is among the most well know hotels in Cannes. It's architecture is beautiful and it's rooms have a great aura of luxury. The location is fantastic. The only problem are the prices that are rather expensive. I would visit again if I could get a good deal !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Christian S,

Thank you for your review relating your stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes hotel.

All the team is honoured by your lovely comment regarding the service and the product that you have enjoyed.

I invite you to come and visit our website regularly to double check all our promotions, and the advance purchase rates available the whole year.

Thank you again for your lovely comment.

Best Regards from Sunny Cannes.

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The best location when visiting the city of Cannes. Everything is on your doorstep except the parking which is handled by them so no more worries. An upscale property with a few known guests to prove it but also more of a convenience while staying here for a few days ( thats all you would need). The beach cafes are also good which are located in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: All the sea view room are a good choice but more budget friendly can stay in the back which is nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear EddyBuffet,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton hotel.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

We do hope have the pleasure to welcoming you back on the french riviera to make you live another memorable stay, very soon.

Guest relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

InterContinental Carlton Cannes ia an excellent heritage hotel. On our 25 wedding anniversary in January 2013, along with our two grown up sons we stayed here for two nights. We got a very good deal as I booked in advance and it was a bit off season towards end of January. You cannot find a better location in Cannes than Carlton. Service was excellent and very spacious neat rooms with all high end facilities. Everything is at walkable distance. Will love to stay here again on my next visit to Cannes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Ssamra,

It was really kind of you to give your time and write this pleasant feedback concerning your last stay.
The Intercontinental Carlton Cannes as a whole is delighted to read your compliments,hence convey it as a reward of success.
Our team is keen on welcoming you back in the near future at our Palace.

Best regards from Sunny Cannes !

R.Van de Poël
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locarno, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Perhaps one of the worst price / quality ratio in the area. What a rip off!

After searching the web I found the best rate at 418.50 Euro plus tax 2.60 Euro per night for a standard double room. This was a "special deal" for senior citizens and we were asked to prove that by showing our id when we checked in. This rate like most other advertised rates is NOT inclusive of, valet parking, Wi-Fi, water in the mini bar, beach access and/or anything else aside from a miniature queen bed (140 cms wide) in a minuscule room. Still I was lucky to get an upgrade to a superior room which was about the same Lilliputian size of the standard one but if you tried really hard and dared to elongate your neck on the side of the balcony, you had a view of the Croisette and the sea. Having been upgraded, I also received a voucher for a free glass of red wine; I felt lucky and went straight to the bar but, much to my surprise I discovered that such voucher was valid only on condition that you had a full meal at the restaurant.

I then went to my room where I was hoping to find the usual bottle of half bottle of something but this was not the case; nothing there, no fruit basket awaiting, no mineral water, no flowers, not even any of the usual welcome messages from the Management. The only message I received was from the credit card Company that informed me, immediately after checking in, that the full amount of my stay had already been debited to my account.

The following day I discovered that they would not change the bed sheets on a daily basis unless you asked for it; please bear in mind that we are talking about a five star hotel, perhaps the most prestigious and certainly the most expensive in Cannes.

As there is no pool, no garden, no sauna, no Turkish bath you would at least expect free access to the hotel beach but this was not the case and they charged me 20 euro per person the first day when I arrived at 3:15 pm and was kindly asked to leave the beach at 6:00 pm - due to police regulations !?! The following day I was charged 37 euro per person as we arrived there sometime before noon and had to leave again at 6:00 pm.

A fruit salad at the beach bar was charged 25 euros a half bottle of mineral water costed me 8 euros.

Sleeping at night can also be a problem as aside from the tiny bed, most of the clientele is simply very loud at every time of the day and night.

Finally the Concierge's recommendation for a simple good restaurant within walking distance turned out to be the worst advice I had received in my entire life; the place was actually so awful that we decided to leave the premises three minutes after our arrival.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear RobinsonCrusoe,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with regards to your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

I regret however to read that you were not happy with some of its aspects .

With regards to your comments about the room , I would like to inform you that an upgraded superior room was organized in order to make your stay the most enjoyable.
This specific room was located on the corner of the hotel and was offering a side sea view.
I am sorry we were not given the opportunity to propose you another alternative .

Concerning the room amenities,I would like to inform you that fruits and water are delivered to Intercontinental Ambassador members on a complimentary basis.

An authorization was indeed taken on your credit card at time of check-in.
This IHG procedure is organized in order to avoid any inconvenience during the departure process.

Inside the rooms, we are proposing our valued guests to help us to protect the environment by saving water and energy resources.
We service your room every day,change bed linen every other day and an eco-friendly "thank-you" gift is offered to you .
Should you require your bed linen to be changed daily , you just have to inform us by placing onto your bed the specific card which is provided in your room.

Our beach is opened from 10am till 6pm.
Our guests are indeed kindly invited to leave the beach area at that time in order for the staff to remove all the mattresses from the long chairs and start to the closure of the outlet.

Please be assured that your comments have been forwarded to the relevant Managers

We are a people orientated business, which relies greatly on many individuals performing at high levels and we sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

Please rest assured, that we will do our utmost to ensure your next stay will be remembered for all the right reasons.


Yours sincerely,

R.Van de Poël
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We decided to come back to the hotel we last visited in September last year. No upgrade this time so we were in a basic double. But at least it was close to the lift, no noise, nicely appointed and if anything with a better bathroom than the more expensive room. We missed the space but really was very good. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely though one morning there were no sausages. I would recommend the poached eggs cooked to perfection. Our only issues were with the concierge. First problem was with a request for an international SIM card. After being told could not help till tomorrow we checked request would be done and went out for the day. On return no one knew anything about it. Second problem we asked about a trip by boat to Saint Tropez. We should have been told to book instead we got on the boat by the skin of our teeth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Jean N,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on trip advisor concerning your stay.
The InterContinental Carlton Cannes team is always aiming the goal of exceeding guest’s expectations.
Nevertheless, we apologize for the related and detailed inconveniences you experienced
Hence, when it comes to lodging we are acquainted with the fact that you have various choices, and we hope we will remain the priority.

Looking forward on welcoming you soon,

Best Regards,
Cathy Boillot
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I went to Cannes at the beginning of June with 3 friends, we arrived at 9.30am not expecting our rooms to be ready but they checked us in and upgraded us to a suite. What a joy. The staff were amazing, the suite was outstanding. I can honestly say I have never slept so well. We ate had lunch in the restaurant which was delicious and the staff were very attentive. On the day of departure we were given a late check out which gave us plenty of time to catch our plane. I cannot wait to go back, hopefully we will be lucky enough to be upgraded again. Thanks Carlton a memorable weeken was had by us all

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Alycia L,

First of all, we thank you for giving us your time and sharing your feedback concerning your recent stay at our hotel.
The intercontinental Carlton Cannes team is blissful to read that you have enjoyed your time in all various ways at our Palace.
The hotel as a whole is eager on welcoming you in Sunny Cannes on your next visit to the French Rivera.

Best Regards,
Cathy Boillot
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Address: 58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cannes
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#9 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cannes. There is a place at the heart of La Croisette where you can enjoy a truly unforgettable moment in an intimate setting. Thanks to 100 years of tradition at your service, the InterContinental Carlton offers a unique experience under the Mediterranean sun. A genuine legend: The InterContinental Carlton Cannes cultivates this refined atmosphere where yesterday's charm and spirit mix with today's expectations. With its 343 rooms and suites, its restaurants and bars, its famous terrace and its private beach of fine sand, it offers incomparable service worthy of the best hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Carlton Cannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.