We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can avoid it, just keep away from it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Carlton Cannes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 135 hotels in Cannes
Milan, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“If you can avoid it, just keep away from it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Perhaps one of the worst price / quality ratio in the area. What a rip off!

After searching the web I found the best rate at 418.50 Euro plus tax 2.60 Euro per night for a standard double room. This was a "special deal" for senior citizens and we were asked to prove that by showing our id when we checked in. This rate like most other advertised rates is NOT inclusive of, valet parking, Wi-Fi, water in the mini bar, beach access and/or anything else aside from a miniature queen bed (140 cms wide) in a minuscule room. Still I was lucky to get an upgrade to a superior room which was about the same Lilliputian size of the standard one but if you tried really hard and dared to elongate your neck on the side of the balcony, you had a view of the Croisette and the sea. Having been upgraded, I also received a voucher for a free glass of red wine; I felt lucky and went straight to the bar but, much to my surprise I discovered that such voucher was valid only on condition that you had a full meal at the restaurant.

I then went to my room where I was hoping to find the usual bottle of half bottle of something but this was not the case; nothing there, no fruit basket awaiting, no mineral water, no flowers, not even any of the usual welcome messages from the Management. The only message I received was from the credit card Company that informed me, immediately after checking in, that the full amount of my stay had already been debited to my account.

The following day I discovered that they would not change the bed sheets on a daily basis unless you asked for it; please bear in mind that we are talking about a five star hotel, perhaps the most prestigious and certainly the most expensive in Cannes.

As there is no pool, no garden, no sauna, no Turkish bath you would at least expect free access to the hotel beach but this was not the case and they charged me 20 euro per person the first day when I arrived at 3:15 pm and was kindly asked to leave the beach at 6:00 pm - due to police regulations !?! The following day I was charged 37 euro per person as we arrived there sometime before noon and had to leave again at 6:00 pm.

A fruit salad at the beach bar was charged 25 euros a half bottle of mineral water costed me 8 euros.

Sleeping at night can also be a problem as aside from the tiny bed, most of the clientele is simply very loud at every time of the day and night.

Finally the Concierge's recommendation for a simple good restaurant within walking distance turned out to be the worst advice I had received in my entire life; the place was actually so awful that we decided to leave the premises three minutes after our arrival.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear RobinsonCrusoe,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with regards to your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

I regret however to read that you were not happy with some of its aspects .

With regards to your comments about the room , I would like to inform you that an upgraded superior room was organized in order to make your stay the most enjoyable.
This specific room was located on the corner of the hotel and was offering a side sea view.
I am sorry we were not given the opportunity to propose you another alternative .

Concerning the room amenities,I would like to inform you that fruits and water are delivered to Intercontinental Ambassador members on a complimentary basis.

An authorization was indeed taken on your credit card at time of check-in.
This IHG procedure is organized in order to avoid any inconvenience during the departure process.

Inside the rooms, we are proposing our valued guests to help us to protect the environment by saving water and energy resources.
We service your room every day,change bed linen every other day and an eco-friendly "thank-you" gift is offered to you .
Should you require your bed linen to be changed daily , you just have to inform us by placing onto your bed the specific card which is provided in your room.

Our beach is opened from 10am till 6pm.
Our guests are indeed kindly invited to leave the beach area at that time in order for the staff to remove all the mattresses from the long chairs and start to the closure of the outlet.

Please be assured that your comments have been forwarded to the relevant Managers

We are a people orientated business, which relies greatly on many individuals performing at high levels and we sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

Please rest assured, that we will do our utmost to ensure your next stay will be remembered for all the right reasons.


Yours sincerely,

R.Van de Poël
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    416
    201
    98
    57
    43
See reviews for
96
372
24
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We decided to come back to the hotel we last visited in September last year. No upgrade this time so we were in a basic double. But at least it was close to the lift, no noise, nicely appointed and if anything with a better bathroom than the more expensive room. We missed the space but really was very good. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely though one morning there were no sausages. I would recommend the poached eggs cooked to perfection. Our only issues were with the concierge. First problem was with a request for an international SIM card. After being told could not help till tomorrow we checked request would be done and went out for the day. On return no one knew anything about it. Second problem we asked about a trip by boat to Saint Tropez. We should have been told to book instead we got on the boat by the skin of our teeth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Jean N,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on trip advisor concerning your stay.
The InterContinental Carlton Cannes team is always aiming the goal of exceeding guest’s expectations.
Nevertheless, we apologize for the related and detailed inconveniences you experienced
Hence, when it comes to lodging we are acquainted with the fact that you have various choices, and we hope we will remain the priority.

Looking forward on welcoming you soon,

Best Regards,
Cathy Boillot
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I went to Cannes at the beginning of June with 3 friends, we arrived at 9.30am not expecting our rooms to be ready but they checked us in and upgraded us to a suite. What a joy. The staff were amazing, the suite was outstanding. I can honestly say I have never slept so well. We ate had lunch in the restaurant which was delicious and the staff were very attentive. On the day of departure we were given a late check out which gave us plenty of time to catch our plane. I cannot wait to go back, hopefully we will be lucky enough to be upgraded again. Thanks Carlton a memorable weeken was had by us all

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Alycia L,

First of all, we thank you for giving us your time and sharing your feedback concerning your recent stay at our hotel.
The intercontinental Carlton Cannes team is blissful to read that you have enjoyed your time in all various ways at our Palace.
The hotel as a whole is eager on welcoming you in Sunny Cannes on your next visit to the French Rivera.

Best Regards,
Cathy Boillot
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a wonderful room on the 6th floor overlooking the bay. it was reasonably spacious with lots of storage space and a lovely little balcony. Could the room have done with a bit of money spent on it? Perhaps. Did it matter? No. It was clean and everything else about the hotel smacks of class. The service at both reception and concierge was superb. Nothing was too much trouble. Room service delivery was prompt and the staff so polite. Breakfast was first class, with an incredible range of food to choose from. There is a large terrace to have breakfast if you prefer that, but ample room inside if not. We spent a few hours on the beach - it wasn't cheap at 41 euros, but the service was excellent and being right opposite the hotel was convenient for us.
It wasn't cheap to stay here, but for us it was a very special occasion and we were very happy with the experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Spexx,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback about your recent romantic stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
We are thrilled to read that you have fully appreciated all the aspects of your visit and we heartily welcome your pleasant compliments as our best reward.
We hope you will give us the opportunity and the pleasure to welcome you back soon in our property.

Best regards from Sunny Cannes !

R.Van de Poël
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I've stayed at a number of hotels in Cannes, and this is definitely my favourite. It captures the glamour of Cannes and the service is superb. I had heard mixed reviews, however I enjoyed my stay.
The decor is charming, and the location can't be beaten right on the Croisette and within a stone's throw of all the bars, but still quiet enough to get a good night's sleep. The service was fantastic.
I managed to get a great deal on my room, and expected that it would be tiny, but was pleasantly surprised to find it was a very good size, incredibly comfortable bed, and a large bathroom.

Room Tip: It would be fantastic to get a room overlooking the Croisette, but even the rooms without a view are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Ms.CC

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review concerning your recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
We were delighted to read that you have enjoyed a great experience at our property.
We sincerely hope you will continue to choose our Palace for your future travel needs on the occasion of your next stay in Cannes.

Best regards.

R.Van de Poël
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC metropolitan area
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you are in Cannes, France this is one of the grandest hotels to stay at. Married only 4 months this is a great place to be romantic.
It will get high ratings in every category from you if you understand what it is. A place with great service (but you have to pay for it), magnificent rooms, clean, great location ...
We loved our time here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Mdcnyva,

First and for most, we thank you for taking the time and giving your feedback concerning your stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

The main aim at our institute is to always over satisfy our guest's needs in all possible aspects.

Hence, we as a team are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our property.

The InterContinental Carlton as a whole is keen and looking forward on welcoming you upon your next stay on the French Riviera.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Arrived on the 13th of July and no one assisted with luggage. There was a 30 minute wait at reception to be served. Then we needed to show ourselves to our room and carry our own bags there as well. Upon reaching the room we used our key to open the door and found that the room was still occupied by a guest which was very dangerous and embarrassing! We then carried our bags back to reception and had to wait again for a new room and key without apology we had to make our way to the second room (again alone and carrying our own large amount of luggage). We were very disappointed and especially the lack of apology or gesture of compensation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Yousef M.,

First of all, thank you very much for sharing your feedback concerning your last year's stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.
We were sorry to learn that we did not manage to reach your expectations in terms of quality.
By reading your comments, I sincerely regret we did not have the opportunity to meet you during your stay.
Our Management team is indeed totally dedicated to our valuable guests and focussed on their global satisfaction.
Be sure your comments were forwarded to the concerned departments.
We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely Yours

Raphaël Van de Poël
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Address: 58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cannes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The places of tomorrow have a history!Built in 1911, inaugurated in 1913 and ideally located on the famous "La Croisette" Boulevard, close to the Cannes Palais des Festivals and the shopping district, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes is facing the Mediterranean Sea and offers breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Welcoming prestigious guests for a century, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes features 343 rooms, including 39 renovated suites, 2 restaurants (one of them is the Beach restaurant, seasonal), 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Carlton Cannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.