We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Cannes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Carlton Cannes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 135 hotels in Cannes
Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Cannes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hotel has an amazing beachfront location , rooms are very relaxing and clean , although not all with good views . The service is extremely good as the staff are well trained to make guests feel very welcome . We had a problem with our room as it was freshly painted and had a strong smell of paint . Once mentioned to the front desk the room was changed instantly with a much nicer room . The breakfast was great with a wide variety .
The only problem is the price , a bit expensive but is worth the money .
My advice is don't use the hotel's beach , as it is expensive and has no advantage over many many neighboring beaches . Just walk down the street and find a cheaper beach .

Room Tip: ask for a better room if you felt your room is old . They have old rooms and new renovated rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Ghassan O,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

We are glad to have contributed to your nice stay and our staffs appreciate your comment.

It would be a great honour to welcome you again at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    204
    99
    57
    43
See reviews for
97
376
24
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had stunning few days in Cannes. I could not stop myself taking picture of the hotel's facade. Front office check in was really professional and friendly, trying to sell upgrades in a nice way - something people don't appreciate sometimes but we did enjoy the new approach. Rooms are little dated, although the bed was extremely comfortable and linen was new. Housekeeping did very very good job. Breakfast was standard hotel buffet, nothing special, would appreciate little more effort on food selection. Service was speedy.
Doormen could have been friendlier - we felt like we are intruding the hotel everytime we pass them.
Spending the day on the Hotel's pontoon was perfect - service was excellent.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Vanekontheroad,

It is a pleasure to read such lovely comments from our clients!

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and Cannes, the all team thank you for your positive comments.

It would be a great honour to welcome you back next year at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for the 3rd time and yet again it was not refurbished. Last time they told us that the hotel will close but it obviously didn't close. The rooms are so tired and out dated. The decor somewhat works for the hotel, but not the wallpaper coming off and stained carpets all over the hotel. The bathroom is tinny and a tub/shower combination is so yesterday. The bathroom was so sold and is in even more need to be refurbished. The hotel is not worth Euro 400 a night. Not even a bottle of water was offered on turn down. This is actually a simple five star standard. I guess the hotel is no longer a five star – overpriced 4 star.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear traveler_de,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay and I regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Carlton lives on it's past reputation as the 'palace of the stars'. It has a beautiful view on La Croisette...if you have a good room. We were offered a room which was quite small for the two of us and smelt very strongly of enamel paint. Staff were happy to show us two other rooms, one smaller and one absolutely tiny...none with a view. We were eventually given a much larger room which was comfortable although slightly faded - having not been renovated. The staff at the hotel were exceptionally pleasant and helpful which was a surprise given that often in France 'le client ne'st pas roi'. The big downside of this hotel was the lack of choice of restaurant. The breakfast/tea/bar area is not very attractive especially in the evening when it is flooded with rather garish blue light and not at all intimate. There are a few rather strange pictures referring to movies on the wall but that aside, no sense of the history of this once beautiful building. During the day the choice of light food is small and terribly expensive with starters priced at an exorbitant 30-odd Euros. At night the dining room is rather unwelcoming and very expensive but the food is good. The dining room comes to life at breakfast in the morning, which on a sunny day has a sparkling and exceptional view onto the Croisette and the sea - and one can drink coffee while imagining the stars enjoying their croissants beside you. With a bit of imagination, a bar on the roof, a better choice of restaurants and some good renovation, this hotel could be fabulous. Warning: bring vast quantities of credit cards and euros with you.....
La Croisette is lined with top designer shops and very expensive restaurants and in order not to break the bank eating anywhere here it is a good idea to walk up to rue d'Antibes where there are plenty of little bistros off the side streets. For a more fun experience, catch the bus (1 Euro each) to Antibes and explore the little cobbled streets and boutiques in the old town...

Room Tip: If you don't like your room, ask for another one......especially with a view of La Croisette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Castelet,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor website following your recent stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.

Be assured that we have expressed your satisfaction and your compliments to our staff, and be sure that the comments you have pointed out already resulted in changes to our services.
We take into account the remarks that our customers can express in order to continue to reach their expectations at every opportunity.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will reconsider us again on your next travel.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I am a hotel snob, and as such, nice beds, good bedding, and a fancy bathroom will automatically get some credit with me. This hotel had all those things, plus amazing wardrobes, a great water view (after a generous room upgrade by the hotel staff) and a fantastic restaurant. Please note, you WILL pay an arm and a leg for everything here- but that is just how it is in Cannes. I suspect this hotel ends up lower on the tripadvisor rating system than lots of oter worse hotels because people are simply unwilling to pay Cannes prices. That said- it is Cannes! Trying to be thrifty in Cannes is like trying to plan a budget trip to Beverly Hills. You might as well not take the trip at all. If you are going to come to Cannes to have a good time, then spend the money- and this hotel is a great choice.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Dragonlady15,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

We appreciate your warm comments about the location, the rooms and the Carlton restaurant.
In addition, we will certainly pass on your compliments to our staff.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon in order to enjoy other great moments at InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

There is no doubt about this, I am puzzled by some of the reviews, how people rate inferior hotels better than this one? This is certainly a 5 star hotel, with a great lobby, good rooms, excellent location, clean etc.
Is it the best hotel I have ever stayed at, No, but it is certainly the best hotel in Cannes, I have visited all of them.
If you are on a budget, then this hotel is not for you, but if you want to stay at a grand hotel I recommend InterContinental Carlton.
I would prefer a bigger fitness facility and they nickel and dime you on the beach, but you're in the South of France, what do you expect?

Great stay, great staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Gary S,

We would like to thank you for your comment, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes. We will certainly pass on your feedback to our staffs, who work for you to enjoy all the pleasurable moments.

Hope to welcome you soon at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes for your future trip.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
511 helpful votes 511 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I travelled to Cannes on business with a work colleague who is also a friend. We opted to share a room in a nice hotel rather than have our own rooms in a mediocre one. What we got, was an expensive shared room in a mediocre hotel.

Firstly, I should point out that the location of the hotel is marvellous. Right on the Croissette with a couple of good restaurants nearby. That's the only positive I can find.

Before I left, we called the hotel and asked them to leave a jug of drinking water in the room while we were there as we had various medications to take and didn't want to keep calling for water. During the 3 day stay, this was not done once without having to make a call to request it.

Ditto for towels. There were 2 of us sharing a room and there were never enough towels left. For example, on arrival there was only one hand towel. I had to request more towels every day I was there.

As for the room..........we arrived quite late and were too tired to consider it properly. By the time we realised how awful it was, we had unpacked and were a day into a 3 day stay so it didn't seem worth it. How they can call our room 5 star, I cannot imagine. It was quite small. There were adverts and papers left by them on every surface and with 2 women sharing, we needed all the space we could get. There were 2 chairs by the window which were incredibly uncomfortable. A desk littered with their stuff which we needed to use. On the last day, they left us some grow-your-own thyme kit which was very odd and yet another bit of clutter for a small room.

The bathroom was very small. Just one sink and a bath with the shower in it. Bidet obviously. No lavatory. That was in a separate room and the piece de resistance. If you sat down on it and closed the door, your nose could touch the door. It was too small to stand up and pull your trousers up. Smaller than an airplane toilet. It was ridiculous and disgraceful to put that in a 5 star hotel room. I ended up using a loo I'd seen near the lift.

My colleague was disgusted at the huge charge for using the hotel's wifi. They explained that was the policy throughout Europe. That may be so but given teh cost of a hotel like the Carlton and the fact it is free to them, they should include it in the cost of the room. After all, they don't charge for using any of their other facilities (such as they are).

We had a business lunch in the hotel while there. the food was quite nice but nothing special in their restaurant. Each day for breakfast we ordered the mediterranean which consisted of a few mini croissants and pastries and one piece of fruit for over 50 euros. We had to repeatedly ask for extra coffee even though we always ordered for 2. If a room service meal was ordered, apart from being incredibly expensive, they did not even bring a glass of water to go with it. My colleague ordered a sandwich supper and they brought an empty glass with it - no water.

I was looking forward to spending a few days in a beautiful French hotel. What we got was a few days of discomfort in a hugely overpriced, unimpressive hotel in a good position. They could have done so much more with it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Finchleytourist,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

Some of the experiences that you’ve described do not reflect the image and the service that we want to deliver to our guests.
The different services have been warned and be reassured we took into account your remarks.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will reconsider us again on your next travel.
Do not hesitate to contact us.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Cannes hotels
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Majestic Barriere Cannes
Majestic Barriere Cannes
#13 of 135 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
Mid-range, Roma...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Provence
Hotel de Provence
#1 of 135 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#21 of 135 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#43 of 135 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Quiet, Beach, P...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#14 of 135 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Address: 58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cannes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#11 Business Hotel in Cannes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The places of tomorrow have a history!Built in 1911, inaugurated in 1913 and ideally located on the famous "La Croisette" Boulevard, close to the Cannes Palais des Festivals and the shopping district, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes is facing the Mediterranean Sea and offers breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Welcoming prestigious guests for a century, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes features 343 rooms, including 39 renovated suites, 2 restaurants (one of them is the Beach restaurant, seasonal), 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Carlton Cannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.