We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Cannes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Carlton Cannes to your Saves list
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #15 of 135 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Cannes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

There is no doubt about this, I am puzzled by some of the reviews, how people rate inferior hotels better than this one? This is certainly a 5 star hotel, with a great lobby, good rooms, excellent location, clean etc.
Is it the best hotel I have ever stayed at, No, but it is certainly the best hotel in Cannes, I have visited all of them.
If you are on a budget, then this hotel is not for you, but if you want to stay at a grand hotel I recommend InterContinental Carlton.
I would prefer a bigger fitness facility and they nickel and dime you on the beach, but you're in the South of France, what do you expect?

Great stay, great staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Gary S,

We would like to thank you for your comment, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes. We will certainly pass on your feedback to our staffs, who work for you to enjoy all the pleasurable moments.

Hope to welcome you soon at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes for your future trip.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    261
    122
    61
    50
See reviews for
130
504
35
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
527 helpful votes 527 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I travelled to Cannes on business with a work colleague who is also a friend. We opted to share a room in a nice hotel rather than have our own rooms in a mediocre one. What we got, was an expensive shared room in a mediocre hotel.

Firstly, I should point out that the location of the hotel is marvellous. Right on the Croissette with a couple of good restaurants nearby. That's the only positive I can find.

Before I left, we called the hotel and asked them to leave a jug of drinking water in the room while we were there as we had various medications to take and didn't want to keep calling for water. During the 3 day stay, this was not done once without having to make a call to request it.

Ditto for towels. There were 2 of us sharing a room and there were never enough towels left. For example, on arrival there was only one hand towel. I had to request more towels every day I was there.

As for the room..........we arrived quite late and were too tired to consider it properly. By the time we realised how awful it was, we had unpacked and were a day into a 3 day stay so it didn't seem worth it. How they can call our room 5 star, I cannot imagine. It was quite small. There were adverts and papers left by them on every surface and with 2 women sharing, we needed all the space we could get. There were 2 chairs by the window which were incredibly uncomfortable. A desk littered with their stuff which we needed to use. On the last day, they left us some grow-your-own thyme kit which was very odd and yet another bit of clutter for a small room.

The bathroom was very small. Just one sink and a bath with the shower in it. Bidet obviously. No lavatory. That was in a separate room and the piece de resistance. If you sat down on it and closed the door, your nose could touch the door. It was too small to stand up and pull your trousers up. Smaller than an airplane toilet. It was ridiculous and disgraceful to put that in a 5 star hotel room. I ended up using a loo I'd seen near the lift.

My colleague was disgusted at the huge charge for using the hotel's wifi. They explained that was the policy throughout Europe. That may be so but given teh cost of a hotel like the Carlton and the fact it is free to them, they should include it in the cost of the room. After all, they don't charge for using any of their other facilities (such as they are).

We had a business lunch in the hotel while there. the food was quite nice but nothing special in their restaurant. Each day for breakfast we ordered the mediterranean which consisted of a few mini croissants and pastries and one piece of fruit for over 50 euros. We had to repeatedly ask for extra coffee even though we always ordered for 2. If a room service meal was ordered, apart from being incredibly expensive, they did not even bring a glass of water to go with it. My colleague ordered a sandwich supper and they brought an empty glass with it - no water.

I was looking forward to spending a few days in a beautiful French hotel. What we got was a few days of discomfort in a hugely overpriced, unimpressive hotel in a good position. They could have done so much more with it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Finchleytourist,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

Some of the experiences that you’ve described do not reflect the image and the service that we want to deliver to our guests.
The different services have been warned and be reassured we took into account your remarks.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will reconsider us again on your next travel.
Do not hesitate to contact us.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Really impressed with the Carlton's winter menus options. We dined in the lovely terrace restaurant with views over the Croisette. There are two special menus options seafood or meat for €59 per person. The amount of food was very generous and the standard of service and quality of food is seldom found on the Rivera at these prices!!
We opted for the meat menus and the amount of vegetarian starters almost was enough food, when the main course arrived I was almost full!! I noted the other tables that had ordered the seafood menus with the two glasses of wine included in the price and they had a very impressive amount of fish!
I would recommend the Carlton's? winter season menus over most of the more touristy options if the budget suits. Dinner for two with wine €160 including service.

Room Tip: Winter menus change with a different style or region each day of the week, best to check the website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Boulus,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your moment at the Carlton Restaurant, and we will certainly pass on your comments to the entire Carlton restaurant team, including our Chef and his team, who are always happy to receive such nice compliments.

We hope to see you soon and remain at your disposal.

Sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed in April, great location over the sea and main beautiful, full of live street of Cannes. The staff are so friendly and helpful even though the hotel was full , stayed a night in a sea view room super luxurious but the rooms need renovation!!!!!!!!!!!. Food for breakfast is realy good. Also thank you to staff from reception they are professionals!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Ms Elisa B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

We appreciate your warm comments about the location of the hotel and services that you received.
In addition, we will certainly pass on your compliments to our Reception staff.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon at InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

On a sunny end-of-summer day, we took lunch on the terrace of the famous Carlton Hotel in Cannes. The atmosphere and meal where perfect. Because i am also a hotel owner and my hotel also is named Carlton (not part of a brandcorp.) i have asked if we could get a tour in the Hotel. The deputy hotel manager, which is also Belgian, gave us a tour and what we have seen was very beautiful. He also told us that the hotel will be closed for a few months because it will be renovated completely.
Hopefully some day, i will be able to stay in the Sharon Stone suite.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of the builiding are bigger. This is because the rich&famous European in the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Steven V,

It is a pleasure to read such lovely comments from our clients!

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed the visit and your lunch in our restaurant, the all team thank you for your positive comments.

It would be a great honour to welcome you back next year at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went to eat at the Carlton Hotel in Cannes last week, the menu choice was limited, and although the service was very good, the food was not. My main course was mixed up with my partners, so she got my vegetables and I got hers!!! The sauces/ Jus were mixed up as well!! I know it's being picky, but when the waiter was serving the wine, he just reached right across you, even when you were in full flow during a conversation. Disappointing evening all round.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Michael D,

Thank you to share your comments regarding your last stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

Some of the experiences that you’ve described do not reflect the image and the service that we want to deliver to our guests.

We have taken notes and these are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will reconsider us again on your next travel.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Roquette-sur-Siagne, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We expected a very high level of service for such a prestigious hotel but from the moment we arrived when the valet was rude, to then having to chase the staff in the lounge for a cup of tea and then again after to pay we we're very disappointed!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear SuzieMcE,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

Some of the experiences that you’ve described do not reflect the image and the service that we want to deliver to our guests.

We have taken notes and these are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will reconsider us again on your next travel.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Address: 58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cannes
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#9 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cannes. There is a place at the heart of La Croisette where you can enjoy a truly unforgettable moment in an intimate setting. Thanks to 100 years of tradition at your service, the InterContinental Carlton offers a unique experience under the Mediterranean sun. A genuine legend: The InterContinental Carlton Cannes cultivates this refined atmosphere where yesterday's charm and spirit mix with today's expectations. With its 343 rooms and suites, its restaurants and bars, its famous terrace and its private beach of fine sand, it offers incomparable service worthy of the best hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Carlton Cannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.