We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Carlton Cannes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed in April, great location over the sea and main beautiful, full of live street of Cannes. The staff are so friendly and helpful even though the hotel was full , stayed a night in a sea view room super luxurious but the rooms need renovation!!!!!!!!!!!. Food for breakfast is realy good. Also thank you to staff from reception they are professionals!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Ms Elisa B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

We appreciate your warm comments about the location of the hotel and services that you received.
In addition, we will certainly pass on your compliments to our Reception staff.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon at InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    219
    101
    55
    50
See reviews for
107
401
29
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

On a sunny end-of-summer day, we took lunch on the terrace of the famous Carlton Hotel in Cannes. The atmosphere and meal where perfect. Because i am also a hotel owner and my hotel also is named Carlton (not part of a brandcorp.) i have asked if we could get a tour in the Hotel. The deputy hotel manager, which is also Belgian, gave us a tour and what we have seen was very beautiful. He also told us that the hotel will be closed for a few months because it will be renovated completely.
Hopefully some day, i will be able to stay in the Sharon Stone suite.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of the builiding are bigger. This is because the rich&famous European in the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Steven V,

It is a pleasure to read such lovely comments from our clients!

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed the visit and your lunch in our restaurant, the all team thank you for your positive comments.

It would be a great honour to welcome you back next year at the Intercontinental Carlton Cannes.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went to eat at the Carlton Hotel in Cannes last week, the menu choice was limited, and although the service was very good, the food was not. My main course was mixed up with my partners, so she got my vegetables and I got hers!!! The sauces/ Jus were mixed up as well!! I know it's being picky, but when the waiter was serving the wine, he just reached right across you, even when you were in full flow during a conversation. Disappointing evening all round.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Michael D,

Thank you to share your comments regarding your last stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

Some of the experiences that you’ve described do not reflect the image and the service that we want to deliver to our guests.

We have taken notes and these are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will reconsider us again on your next travel.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Roquette-sur-Siagne, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We expected a very high level of service for such a prestigious hotel but from the moment we arrived when the valet was rude, to then having to chase the staff in the lounge for a cup of tea and then again after to pay we we're very disappointed!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear SuzieMcE,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

Some of the experiences that you’ve described do not reflect the image and the service that we want to deliver to our guests.

We have taken notes and these are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will reconsider us again on your next travel.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in September 2012 and overall were happy with our choice of hotel in Cannes.
We did not have a view from our room which was disappointed considering I thought I would be upgraded as part of my Priority Club membership.
The concierge was very helpful in planning our onward train trip.
Like other reviewers, I would have thought that access to the beach should be free for guests.
I was surprised that the mini bar fridge was old and rusty and the cabinet it was in was rotten from leaking water.
The room was large and the beds and pillows were great.

Room Tip: Definitely get one with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear JamGulAustralia,


Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience at Intercontinental Carlton in Cannes

It is a pleasure to read such lovely comments from our clients!

It would be a great honour to welcome you back to the Carlton

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Again we stayed at The Carlton Intercontinental for a little over two weeks. It was a Surprise booking as we had been led to believe that the hotel would be closed for major renovations so we were glad of the opportunity.
Being a Royal Ambassador in the Priority club loyalty scheme we gained a double upgrade to a sixth floor sea view room.
As usual the service, including a VIP welcome was excellent. We were given a late check out as our return flight was quite late.
We chose not to use the hotel beach as we found another beach more to our licking a couple of minutes away.
We took breakfast in the hotel, another priority club benefit being two for one on the inclusive rate.
We were recognised by name by many of the staff who even remembered our preferences from previous stays. The Staff were always offering information, much of this, as in the past, has added to the enjoyment of our stay.
We would always recommend this hotel particularly for Ambassador Priority club members.
Some people have said it seems Old Fashioned; it is this that gives it the charm that it has had for 100 years. We know that that renovations are due however I hope it is not made into a modern Palace that seem so boring as many in some middle East countries are.

Room Tip: Become a Priority club Ambassador
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear ronchadwick,

It is a real pleasure for all of us to read your positive comments about the Intercontinental Carlton in Cannes.

The entire team thank you, this is a great reward and we are proud to have been able to give you this unique moment.

Thank you for the recommendation.

In the hope to receive you again we remain at your disposal.

Your sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is very nice in terms of location but in general overpriced compared to the service. The rooms are extremely big however you feel that you are totally disconnected from the hotel's staff and everything is extremely formal. The sea view is really nice as well as having a morning coffee at the restaurant's terrace. Valet parking is very pricey and will cost you 38 euros per 24 hours, the front desk won't inform you once you handover the car. I don't know if there is a swimming pool or other facilities like beach access as non of the team bothered to brief me as other 5stars hotels do.. I think the hotel with its service is very old fashioned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Address: 58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Cannes
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#16 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The places of tomorrow have a history!Built in 1911, inaugurated in 1913 and ideally located on the famous "La Croisette" Boulevard, close to the Cannes Palais des Festivals and the shopping district, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes is facing the Mediterranean Sea and offers breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Welcoming prestigious guests for a century, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes features 343 rooms, including 39 renovated suites, 2 restaurants (one of them is the Beach restaurant, seasonal), 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Carlton Cannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.