We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Carlton Cannes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 135 hotels in Cannes
Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in September 2012 and overall were happy with our choice of hotel in Cannes.
We did not have a view from our room which was disappointed considering I thought I would be upgraded as part of my Priority Club membership.
The concierge was very helpful in planning our onward train trip.
Like other reviewers, I would have thought that access to the beach should be free for guests.
I was surprised that the mini bar fridge was old and rusty and the cabinet it was in was rotten from leaking water.
The room was large and the beds and pillows were great.

Room Tip: Definitely get one with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear JamGulAustralia,


Thank you for taking the time to describe your experience at Intercontinental Carlton in Cannes

It is a pleasure to read such lovely comments from our clients!

It would be a great honour to welcome you back to the Carlton

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    436
    218
    101
    55
    49
See reviews for
107
400
28
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Again we stayed at The Carlton Intercontinental for a little over two weeks. It was a Surprise booking as we had been led to believe that the hotel would be closed for major renovations so we were glad of the opportunity.
Being a Royal Ambassador in the Priority club loyalty scheme we gained a double upgrade to a sixth floor sea view room.
As usual the service, including a VIP welcome was excellent. We were given a late check out as our return flight was quite late.
We chose not to use the hotel beach as we found another beach more to our licking a couple of minutes away.
We took breakfast in the hotel, another priority club benefit being two for one on the inclusive rate.
We were recognised by name by many of the staff who even remembered our preferences from previous stays. The Staff were always offering information, much of this, as in the past, has added to the enjoyment of our stay.
We would always recommend this hotel particularly for Ambassador Priority club members.
Some people have said it seems Old Fashioned; it is this that gives it the charm that it has had for 100 years. We know that that renovations are due however I hope it is not made into a modern Palace that seem so boring as many in some middle East countries are.

Room Tip: Become a Priority club Ambassador
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear ronchadwick,

It is a real pleasure for all of us to read your positive comments about the Intercontinental Carlton in Cannes.

The entire team thank you, this is a great reward and we are proud to have been able to give you this unique moment.

Thank you for the recommendation.

In the hope to receive you again we remain at your disposal.

Your sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is very nice in terms of location but in general overpriced compared to the service. The rooms are extremely big however you feel that you are totally disconnected from the hotel's staff and everything is extremely formal. The sea view is really nice as well as having a morning coffee at the restaurant's terrace. Valet parking is very pricey and will cost you 38 euros per 24 hours, the front desk won't inform you once you handover the car. I don't know if there is a swimming pool or other facilities like beach access as non of the team bothered to brief me as other 5stars hotels do.. I think the hotel with its service is very old fashioned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel with a great reputation is a real disappointment. The hotel is of course well located, has history and the rooms are roomy. Yet, the whole place is totally run-down. This is NOT the 5-star hotel it tries to live up to, whatever the the number of great movie stars who might have stayed there decades ago. Everywhere the the paint is peeling. It even smells bad when you arrive. To aggravate things, you pay Euro 24.= for the worst and slowest wifi internet in the western hemisphere. No!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel rooms are a bit tired, but the overall service makes up for it.you can shower in the afternoon and rest assured that new towels will be waiting for you in the evening. The cleaning staff even pack away the clothes you leave lying around

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is my favourite hotel in Cannes, always have a junior suite on the front, just to enjoy the spectacular views

The Foie Gras is the best in the world, wish I could get that quality else where

I always use the helicopter in and out as its much quicker and cheaper than the taxis

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear RMM405,

It was a pleasure to read your comments regarding your last stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.
Thank you very much for your positive remarks, which are our best rewards!
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I would never stay here of my own accord and if I did, it would certainly not being during Cannes Film Festival. I am however, blessed in my job to be able to attend the festival annually and the Carlton is where we stay. This is decidedly 3 star if it's lucky and I'm tempering my assessment of the staff becuase it really is the craziest time of year there and I empathise with that, but this is overpriced in the extreme, unbelievably bad service, average food and unacceptable rooms. A colleague was mortified to find bed bugs on our second night - totally not cool. I would never recommend this place to anyone who was paying themselves or attending outside the Festival but you cannot find a more 'happening' place during those two weeks. The location is fab, and the atmosphere unbeatable. We are very relieved to here that the Carlton is closing down for a refurbishment - for a significantly long period. I hope that they use this time to not only overhaul the facade and the rooms but also to invest in some client services training for it's staff. I hope they use this opportunity and that in a few years time I'm writing an altogether different review.

Room Tip: For the best view, you want a room at the front but be warned NOISY! The quieter rooms are at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Address: 58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#9 Business Hotel in Cannes
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#14 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The places of tomorrow have a history!Built in 1911, inaugurated in 1913 and ideally located on the famous "La Croisette" Boulevard, close to the Cannes Palais des Festivals and the shopping district, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes is facing the Mediterranean Sea and offers breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Welcoming prestigious guests for a century, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes features 343 rooms, including 39 renovated suites, 2 restaurants (one of them is the Beach restaurant, seasonal), 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Carlton Cannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.