We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at the Carlton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Carlton Cannes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 135 hotels in Cannes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Carlton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Just had a great lunch at the Carlton sitting on the veranda overlooking the wonderful sea front view. The Carlton like everyone else seems to be feeling the pinch, and they are paying a little bit more attention to their clients, which is no bad thing considering their prices. All in all though, the experience was worthwhile and I would recommend it for a pleasant lunch break.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    409
    204
    98
    54
    43
See reviews for
98
380
25
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent 6 nights at the Carlton as part of an extended honeymoon to France and loved every minute.   The building is beautiful and has a great location on the harbor.   We were warmly greeted at reception and escorted to our room by a lovely lady named Delpine.  Our room was perfect - a dozen beautiful roses and a bottle of chilled wine, an elegant pale-yellow decor that perfectly set-off the crisp white bed , a small balcony with a view of the harbor.  Everyone we came in contact with was friendly and professional and warmly greeted us each time we passed.  I've stayed at hundreds of hotels on business and pleasure trips over the last 30 years and this one ranks in my top 5 - a beautiful, historic facility, very well maintained with a polished, professional staff.   The perfect place to enjoy a stay in amazing Cannes.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Great location, perfect sandy beach and sea entrance. Good quality sun beds and parasols for 35 euro a day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed for a long week-end, and picked the hotel due to its glamorous past and central location. The location, the private beach and exterior were all really great. The state of the rooms though left much to be desired, very plain and old decoration, the air conditioner from the 70s, it was hot in the room even at the end of September, cannot imagine how it feels in the room midsummer.
Check in and check out were quite efficient, but we had to wait for our luggage for 2hrs till it was delivered to the room, the rest of the service was also not above average and definitely not the 5Star hotel level.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

The hotel location is excellent but the private beach across the road on the sea front is seedy. The hotel relies heavily on its links with the film industry but its classic rooms are small and the 35 Euro charge for a breakfast is excessive. The actual building is very elegant and the service is good go there for the location but take a kettle as none are provided and eat out.

Room Tip: Good rooms cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This hotel is in a great location on the sea front in Cannes. It is an up-market hotel and the hotel was good quality, but it is a little dated now. It had a private beach across La Croisette and the breakfast in the outdoors area was great. I got a rate of 235 euros which was more than I would normally pay but I suppose for Cannes it's pretty good value. The gym looked up to date, although I didn't go in preferring to run along the sea front. You can do 5-7km in either direction with nice sea views, which is very pleasant!
I would stay here again, but my only note of caution is the standard of the furnishings. If your used to new, boutique hotels then this place might seem dated.

Room Tip: cheaper rooms are at the back and the most expensive are at the front. If you want views make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We again took an extended holiday in the Carlton Intercontinental Hotel in Cannes France. A number of reports have either been complimentary or critical with not much in between.
The condition of the fabric of the hotel has been discussed regularly for a number of years so it is great interest that we hear that the hotel id to close for a number of months so that not only a complete renovation takes place but also a big extension. This is, apparently, due to a new owner of the bricks and mortar who is putting in over 100milion Euros. Fantastic. A new spa with pool is planned we understand.
Now for our current stay; As usual the staff, with one exception that we will discuss later, were as welcoming and friendly and as good as ever from the bell boys to the chamber room maids, from the receptionists to the waiters. There were some big conferences on in the city which disrupts the centre rather more than expectable and the city fathers ought to consider this. The exception to the staff friendliness was the beach manager who over the years seems to have become more pompous and dogmatic and never a smile. We chose after a few days to use another beach about two minutes walk up the beach which seemed to have a few plusses; better bay view, complimentary water, a big welcome as well as better opening hours.
As a royal ambassador we had a big upgrade to a sixth floor room with full sea view. This room is one that will benefit from a renovation although ok not up to current standards, also a bit small, never the less adequate for us.
It always seems odd that due to no smoking regulations that the smokers now get the best position on the terrace for both breakfast and later for snacks and drinks.
There are those who complain of the prices, I say to them that the hotel only charges what people will pay and that as it is usually well booked this would seem to be the going rate.
You get far more value as a member of Priority club and if you stay at intercontinental hotel become an ambassador.

Room Tip: Be an Ambassador then get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback about your last stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that we have managed to live up to your expectations. Thanks to our PCR program, your stay has been even more pleasant, as you have mentioned.

Indeed, we always try to reward the best we can the clients who trust IHG to spend wonderful holidays.

Hoping to welcome you again very soon,

Kind regards,

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Address: 58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#10 Business Hotel in Cannes
#10 Family Hotel in Cannes
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The places of tomorrow have a history!Built in 1911, inaugurated in 1913 and ideally located on the famous "La Croisette" Boulevard, close to the Cannes Palais des Festivals and the shopping district, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes is facing the Mediterranean Sea and offers breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Welcoming prestigious guests for a century, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes features 343 rooms, including 39 renovated suites, 2 restaurants (one of them is the Beach restaurant, seasonal), 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Carlton Cannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.