We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The imminent renovation will do wonders.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Carlton Cannes to your Saves list
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 136 Hotels in Cannes
uk
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The imminent renovation will do wonders.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We again took an extended holiday in the Carlton Intercontinental Hotel in Cannes France. A number of reports have either been complimentary or critical with not much in between.
The condition of the fabric of the hotel has been discussed regularly for a number of years so it is great interest that we hear that the hotel id to close for a number of months so that not only a complete renovation takes place but also a big extension. This is, apparently, due to a new owner of the bricks and mortar who is putting in over 100milion Euros. Fantastic. A new spa with pool is planned we understand.
Now for our current stay; As usual the staff, with one exception that we will discuss later, were as welcoming and friendly and as good as ever from the bell boys to the chamber room maids, from the receptionists to the waiters. There were some big conferences on in the city which disrupts the centre rather more than expectable and the city fathers ought to consider this. The exception to the staff friendliness was the beach manager who over the years seems to have become more pompous and dogmatic and never a smile. We chose after a few days to use another beach about two minutes walk up the beach which seemed to have a few plusses; better bay view, complimentary water, a big welcome as well as better opening hours.
As a royal ambassador we had a big upgrade to a sixth floor room with full sea view. This room is one that will benefit from a renovation although ok not up to current standards, also a bit small, never the less adequate for us.
It always seems odd that due to no smoking regulations that the smokers now get the best position on the terrace for both breakfast and later for snacks and drinks.
There are those who complain of the prices, I say to them that the hotel only charges what people will pay and that as it is usually well booked this would seem to be the going rate.
You get far more value as a member of Priority club and if you stay at intercontinental hotel become an ambassador.

Room Tip: Be an Ambassador then get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Responsable relations publiques at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback about your last stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay and that we have managed to live up to your expectations. Thanks to our PCR program, your stay has been even more pleasant, as you have mentioned.

Indeed, we always try to reward the best we can the clients who trust IHG to spend wonderful holidays.

Hoping to welcome you again very soon,

Kind regards,

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    225
    107
    57
    49
See reviews for
113
421
30
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Definitely recommend. Location, Location, Location
Pros:
*Amazing ocean front view and location. Can’t say enough about how key this ocean front hotel.
*Amazing room service and housekeeping...excellent job every day and very kind.
*Breakfast locale phenomenal...excellent relaxing and viewing the beautiful scenery
*Breakfast buffet exceptional food options...would return again and again.
*Customer Service was top notch
*Room Service fast and delicious
*Bed and bedding super comfortable
*Restaurant at the beach was delicious and of course had gorgeous views.
*Beach chairs and private beach was worth it. Comfortable chairs, as many umbrellas as you need and food and drink were plentiful.
*The sand on the beach was actual sand. You felt it all the way inside the water and even if you swim down to the ground. The other public beaches are all rock and gravel.


Cons:
*Advertised wifi in the room but there was zero. Don't advertise if you can't provide it.
*Bathroom doors very old and painted over and over therefore extremely loud and hard to shut.
*Shower door extremely load and scraped door jam making it hard to let the other person sleep.
*Hardly any plugs. Zero in the bathroom. Modern times have a need for cell phone chargers, camera chargers, laptops, hair dryers etc. Definitely bring your own power strip.
*Lighting in bathroom too dim.
TV remote EXTREMELY slow and hard to change channels. Not just the batteries.
*Desk phone inoperable.
*AC not as strong as you would like.
*Walls are paper thin...could hear next door cough, sneeze, yawn...
*Wall mounted hairdryer was for lack of better terms, a joke. My husband could have blown air with his own breath more efficiently. The portable dryer I requested was not much better as the cord was only 3 feet long. Since the only plug was at the floor baseboard, I had to try hair crouched on the ground. This is an easy fix and they only need a woman employee to go out and purchase hotel hairdryers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011 via mobile

I booked the Intercontinental at Cannes on Expedia, we had high expectations and when we arrived we were up to it. The hotel is elegante, fancy and beautiful, we were asked if we wanted an upgrmade for 200 us more and we decides to go with it, after all we ended up payong like 500 us per night but it was worth it, the romo is big and the bathroom is perfection, we'll be looping to estay here nexo time.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The silly season is over, schools in Europe are back in business and it is time for those whose kids are grown to go on holiday. When so doing, it is normal to seek lower prices, better value and quieter beaches and restaurants.

As long time francophiles we decided to head to the Riviera. I have not been since 1999/2000. I can't remember the dates exactly but it was the summer after the IMF had come to the rescue of Russia and about $3bn had been sluiced through the nation's bank accounts in about 30 days.

Much if it seemed to end up in the pockets of swarthy, cigar smoking types who were spending like it was going out of style in Cannes. Ten or eleven years later nothing much seems to have changed except, in recognition of the new nouveau riche, menus now have Russian as their third language, behind French and Arabic and in front of English...

The Carlton in Cannes is of course an iconic hotel and we had decided to treat ourselves to a four day stay there before heading up to a cottage in the Luberon. We had secured the reservation at a very attractive rate for a standard (classic) room and, mindful of the other reports on Tripadvisor, went prepared to avoid the tank traps of the add-on charges. Boy was that a good decision.

We arrived with bags via a taxi from the railway station (We had flown to Marseilles). €13 for a one mile drive. Bienvenue a Cannes m'sieur, madame....

The Carlton in Cannes is of course a magnificent property - but when we walked through the main entrance the first thing we noticed was the smell of drains. Very odd for such an establishment. We could only think that the management are so used to the smell that they don't notice it anymore. It persisted all through our stay so was not a one-off.

The welcome at reception was courteous, professional and friendly - just what you would hope for - and we were politely and quickly dealt with and shown to our room. Bruno the concierge wore Les Clefs d'Or symbol on his collar and was knowledgeable and very helpful as you would also expect. In fact the staff were, to a man and woman, superb.

The room. Hmmmmmm. As we were not paying top whack we did not expect to have a sea view and a balcony. Just as well really. We were on the east side of the west wing at the rear of the property, which meant we overlooked the interior void. No complaints there, it was after all the least expensive room in the place and someone has to have the inside view. The room itself was small - certainly no more than 15m² and the bed was a double, not a Queen or a King. The gap between the dressing table and the foot of the bed was filled when someone sat in the chair to work on make up or a computer; and there were no electricity sockets at desk top level anywhere in the room to connect hairdryers, curling tongs, phone chargers or power supplies. All sockets were at ankle level and hidden behind heavy furniture.

All of these issues are not meant to be a criticism, but they are a clear indication that the Carlton has a clear and pressing need to move forward with its refurbishment. The whole ambience within the guest room is now years out of date and it shows. Ultimately, this means that the Carlton continues to justify the prices of its rooms and services based on its location and storied history, not its current facilities and amenities.

We looked at the minibar list - €25 for a cognac made me quiver (I bought a bottle of hors d'age armagnac for €34 in a 'cave du vin' and took 3/4 of it home with me). The Lobster afternoon tea was heavily advertised at €65 per person. With two glasses of champagne thrown in you can convince yourself that it reasonable - but hang on a minute. At the date of writing this note (Sept 23, with the US$ strengthening recently) that is still $180 for tea for two and $35 for your nightcap.

I love Intercontinentals - I have stayed in almost all of them in the Middle East and the US over the last twenty years. I do not claim they overcharge; but I do warn prospective customers to tread carefully in Cannes, which is a very expensive town by any standards. If you are someone who can afford to spend $500 - $1000 a day during a visit in addition to the cost of your accommodation - have at it. Enjoy the suite, the views, the staff, the restaurants and have a marvellous time, because you will. If you are on a budget and are splurging a bit with a special treat in store by staying for a few days at the Carlton, just beware and spend more time people watching than dialling room service. And wash your own clothes as the laundry service may cost more than the clothes that are cleaned.

And please, management, hurry up with the refurb.

Room Tip: Obviously, sea view if you can afford it - there is nothing better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

ARRIVAL: Having arrived in Cannes after a tiresome trip I had the fastest check I could think of. The room was spectacular and I had gotten an amazing upgrade due to the Ambassador loyalty program, while complimenting the hotel the bellboy was proud to say that of course they were thankful for receiving compliment once such property was for over a century in the hotel business. Impressive indeed.

STAFF: The staff is very kind and helpful, even though the InterCon Carlton doesn’t seem to be such a big hotel, it actually is huge, and the staff make it feel like a second home. Flowers in the room, incredibly kind room service, the concierge is simply perfect and I’m sure the chief of concierge desk, Mr. Stephane, if I recall well, is very proud of his staff at a desk where people like Mr. Bruno and his colleagues recommended me venues of Cannes knowing each detail and service without having to make a single phone call, they simply knew it all, obviously very experienced staff.

HOTEL/LOCATION: what an amazing location, the palace sits in the middle of the Croisette, it is the beachfront avenue of Cannes which may be a destination in itself having plenty of the best restaurants, shops and entertainment venues of the French Riviera within walking distance, it also offers a private beach free for hotel guests with all kinds of Summer sports available and amazing F&B service as well, it is the place to be in Cannes!

OVERALL: I was surely thankful to have had instructions from Brazilian InterCon officer Ms. Agata Appel about joining the InterCon Ambassador loyalty program, I say so because it includes a series of facilities such as late check out, better amenities and many complimentary treats as well as upgrades and I do recommend such membership because I was treated like royalty at the Cannes Carlton InterCon and it made me feel very welcome, this hotel is a destination in itself with its restaurants, cozy breakfasts with wide variety of choices and all kinds of options for fun, from families to business trips to retreats or romance, it is the place to be in Cannes.

Room Tip: all rooms are amazing, try partial sea views too they're great, specially from higher floors, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at The Intercontinental Carlton Cannes end of May so it was around their busy time of the Film Festival. We arrived by taxi late around 8.30pm and was thinking this was going to be expensive 1st night. We were there for just 3 nights. Asked the man that booked us in were we getting a room with a view and he said city view. I said i had to have a beach view. So he gave us a beautiful part ocean view and it was a large room so I had a win. The main Restaurant at the hotel was fabulous and we got lots of attention. At the beach we had breakfast and paid for our chairs for the day. Loved the position of this famous hotel where the movie " FRENCH KISS" was filmed. Would recommend to the fussiest of people a front suite.

Room Tip: High floor front room is the only option
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonCannes, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Carlton Cannes, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
First of all, I want to thank you for your comment regarding your stay at the InterContinental Carlton Cannes.

We are glad to note after reading your comment that you have fully enjoyed your stay in our hotel, along with the services and amenities that we offer.

We truly hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again in the near future to make you live other unique moments.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Hotel is amazing. The service, the food were incredible (amazing comp breakfast). Everything is super expensive (because we had to convert dollars into euros). 38 euros for parking per day (can take the car out and in as much as you like). The only reason I'm writing this review is to clarify about the rooms. Me and my wife had our stay from 9/12/11 to 9/17/11 and they provided us with a newly remodeled room. It was mint! Had the tiniest flaws (missing screw head cover), but that's only cause I made it my business to find them. I will post pictures soon. High ceilings, euro-king bed, rain style shower head, brand new closets, awesome high thread count sheets, lots of closet space, etc.
I'm pretty sure that not all rooms are remodeled as of yet, but we let them know that we were on our honeymoon and they gave us this room... we were both really pleased even tho it was not a sea view/front room.

PS. have the 65 euro prefix lobster dinner on Friday, it was amazing (only Friday lunch or dinner).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Carlton Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Carlton Cannes

Address: 58 La Croisette | CS 40052, 06414 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cannes
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#9 Family Hotel in Cannes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Carlton Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The places of tomorrow have a history!Built in 1911, inaugurated in 1913 and ideally located on the famous "La Croisette" Boulevard, close to the Cannes Palais des Festivals and the shopping district, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes is facing the Mediterranean Sea and offers breathtaking views over the Bay of Cannes. Welcoming prestigious guests for a century, the InterContinental Carlton Cannes features 343 rooms, including 39 renovated suites, 2 restaurants (one of them is the Beach restaurant, seasonal), 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Carlton Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Carlton Cannes Hotel Cannes
Intercontinental Cannes
Carlton Cannes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Carlton Cannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.