We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price - quality relationship” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Riviera Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sun Riviera Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Riviera Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   138 rue d'Antibes, 06400 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 135 hotels in Cannes
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good price - quality relationship”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Middle in the shopping centre with underground parking ! Nice garden with breakfast terrace and clean small rooms. Helpful staff - 2 minutes walk from Croisette - Great for staying some days not for weeks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
45
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel was everything we needed, comfortable, friendly and in a great location within walking distance of all Cannes sights (if your happy to walk). The pool and lovely garden are a great bonus in a sea side hotel.

As others have mentioned the A/C isn't amazing but the hotel is far from stuffy, its cool just not freezing but we were there in mid July in 30 degrees plus and we were never hot in the hotel or the room. We had a street view hotel and didn't have any problems with noise in fact we noted how quiet the room was. The staff are really helpful and friendly and available 24 hours a day. I'd highly recommend this hotel and would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms out the back have a balcony overlooking the pool and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The a/c at the hotel really needs updating it was barely working in the bedrooms and there was none in the corridor so it was like a sauna at times.. but that aside there was nothing else wrong with this hotel.. The rooms were a very good size comfy beds and good bathrooms. The
staff were very friendly and helpful.The pool was not much of a pool but good for a dip and garden nice and quiet which was a bonus. Did not take breakfast at hotel as too expensive .. but lovely cafes & patisserie just a few shops down that served a very good continental breakfast. The location was excellent easy walk from station and to the beach......

Room Tip: request a room at the back as front is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Good location - but: very loud, especially at night, if you get a room facing Rue d'Antibes.
Train station and beach within walking distance.
The AC didn't work when we arrived, and unfortunately didn't get fixed during our 7 day stay. Also, our room had a problem with the shower plumbing. After showering, the carpet in an extensive part of the room was soaked and smelly. From the reaction of the staff that seemed to be a recurrent problem, but again didn't get fixed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel, fantastic location on a shopping strip with shops for all budgets. Only a short walk to the waterfront and restaurants. The staff were extremely helpful, Vanessa was so friendly and also the young girl who printed our boarding passes etc. mostly appreciated.

The room was very comfortable big comfy bed with a view of the street from the balcony.
I would happily return here and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location in a main shopping street. About 5 minutes walk to the promenade and 15 minutes walk to the main restaurants. It's also a very good location for the train station.
We had two rooms overlooking the main road but it was very quiet at night. The rooms were comfortable, nice beds and lots of wardrobe space. Unfortunately with one of the rooms the air con wasn't very good and this was needed as the evenings are quite humid here. There are no coffee making facilities in the room which was disappointing
The bathroom was nice with all amenities. Overall the hotel and rooms were spotless.
There is a small garden outside which is nice to sit in. The pool is very small - much smaller than it seems in the photos.
We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as 16€ was too expensive for us but there are plenty of cafes nearby.
We asked if we could have an extended checkout as our flight was in the evening but were told this was not possible - this was disappointing as the hotel wasn't busy and we are used to getting extensions, even for a charge.
Cannes is not cheap to eat out but then this is expected as it is an exclusive resort.
It's a good place as a base and the train is so efficient. We had day trips to Nice and Monaco. It's about 6-8€ each way and the train route is along the coast with some great views.
Monaco is great and it is worth going to the Palace and Cathedral - the latter is where you will find the tomb of Princess Grace. We were also fortunate in that the grand prix was the week before and so the tracks were still all made up and it gave you a real feel of what it must have been like
Some advice on getting from Nice airport to Cannes. Taxis are about 90€ plus tip each way. There is a bus (coach) from the airport right to the heart of the Cannes promenade for 16€ per person or 43€ for four (they can be 4 adults) - this is what we did and it took about 45 minutes and they are every half an hour. There is no point getting the train as the station in
Nice is a taxi ride from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and paid 255 euros for double room. We didn't make breakfast, it was18 euros per person.
We make our breakfast in Cafe Cote Hoche(in Rue Hoche,near to hotel), it is typically French Cafe.The hotel has very small swimming-pool, if u want you can make your breakfast near to swimming-pool. The room was not modern, but location was good. Its is in the shopping area. U can 15 min walk to the le croisette. The hotel is paralel to the Hotel Martinez(15 min walk)
15 min walk to the Gare. Wİth train you can visit Nice(in 30 min) and Monte-Carlo(in 45 mn)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Riviera Hotel

Address: 138 rue d'Antibes, 06400 Cannes, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 135 hotels in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Riviera Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sun Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Riviera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.