We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand dame hotel in Cannes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Barriere Cannes

Save Saved
You added Majestic Barriere Cannes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Majestic Barriere Cannes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, La Croisette, 06407 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 135 hotels in Cannes
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Grand dame hotel in Cannes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at Majestic Barriere for four days. Old hotel which has been updated but retained the feeling and character of its roots. Rooms were small but cozy. Bathrooms had been updated. Beds were comfortable and had gorgeous duvets. Had a room overlooking the front of the hotel. Noisy in the evenings as you heard the cars pull up. Nice breakfast buffet in the main restaurant - complete with champagne and orange juice. We ate outside in the evening - and had champagne on the front terrace one night while we watched fireworks over the water. Great location - everything within walking distance. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you at the Majestic Barrière.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us! We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Hotel Majestic Barriere,

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    426
    199
    94
    51
    25
See reviews for
102
332
28
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed six nights, an eternity in the same hotel room, but never tired of this excellent hotel, run with pride by the same family for several generations.

The hotel is closer to the Palais than any of the other five star options. Our room was spacious and immaculate, not too cluttered with furniture and with a bow window that looked out over the Croissette and the Med. Bathroom equally spacious, fixtures a little dated, but spotless.

Service was excellent throughout, from housekeeping to concierge. We had a rental car which we called for each day from the hotel garage; without fail it appeared within five minutes (even though it was a Ford, not a Ferrari, so not at the top of the pecking order).

You cannot be price sensitive here. Room service breakfast ranges from 34 (continental) to 38 (American) Euros and there is an annoying 15 Euro per day Internet charge, but these are minor issues. An excellent hotel in the best European tradition.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the Med
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to the Majestic Barrière and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

We would like to thank you for these wonderful comments and congratulations for our services and the team.

It will be a real pleasure to have another opportunity to welcome you at The Hotel Majestic Barriere.

Very sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a centrally located hotel in Cannes, right at the Croisette, a few steps from all the city events, the Majestic is right for you. The hotel is full of charm and evocative of the glamour of the many movies stars whose's pictures decorate the hotel halls, who stayed there during the Cannes Film Festival. My room 343 had a balcony and a glorious view of the Mediterranean Sea. The room was a little noisy until midnight, but to wake up and eat breakfast enjoying that fabulous view seems like a reasonable trade off for me. The rooms are old with creaky doors and old style decor, but large, with plenty of closets and very comfortable. Bathrooms are quite large as well. Gym is nice, but the hotel charges $15 euros a day for guests to access it, which I found a bit mercenary for a luxury property. Waiters at the bar and restaurant are not very friendly, but the concierge is great and gives valuable advice regarding places to visit and eat. The pool is small and a large bar surrounds it. Not a good place to relax or sunbathe. Better to use their private pier just across the street on the Croisette.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Client,

Following your stay at our hotel, you were kind enough to comment you experience and we would like to thank you.
Your comments are extremely important as they provide a motive for continuous improvement.

My staff and I have taken note of your highly positive comments: they are our best reward and they strongly encourage us to uphold the level of excellence you are entitled to expect… Deserving your trust is essential.

Nevertheless, please accept our sincere apologies if the service at the bar and restaurant did not live up to your expectations.
You can be sure that we are taking measures to ensure this does not reoccur; particularly the Manager responsible of the service.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Hotel Majestic Barriere,

Yours sincerely,

General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I enjoy my stay in this hotel. The rooms are good and very clean. The staff is very friendly and willing to help. We had breakfast and lunch in the restaurant and this was also very good. It was a very luxury experience. Only one minor thing, in a hotel of this standard I expect Wi-Fi, is included in the price. Now you have to pay for something that is not always working and when it works it is very slow. This is not a luxury but false economy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you at the Majestic Barrière.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!
We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Hotel Majestic Barriere,

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our first impression of the hotel was great. The lobby is gorgeous and the restaurant and pool areas are beautiful. ts located right across from public beach access and at the start of Le Croisette, so it is in a great location. However, there were a couple of issues we had with hotel. First, there were stains on the walls of our room. For any 5 star hotel, i would expect the rooms to be in mint condition and that was not the case. The bathrooms are also bathtubs with a short glass door, which does not do the job of keeping in the water when taking a shower, so our bathroom would flood with water each time. Also, we were not aware prior to booking that you would have to pay to use the lounge chairs by the pool or the lounge chairs on the pontoon. It may depend on what type of room you had (we had a deluxe partial sea view), but it costed us around 80 euros extra a day just to get a lounge chair. The service was good, but having stayed at another 5 star hotel in Italy the week prior, we were slightly disappointed. Looking at the other 5 star hotels nearby, I will say that the Majestic looks to be the best choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to the Majestic Barrière and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!
We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Nevertheless, we present you our deepest apologies for the technical problems in your bathroom.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon at The Hotel Majestic Barriere,

Very sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I went there during the Cannes film festival to have a dinner with my boss and our VIP clients.This is a restaurant for the rich customers.if i were not wrong,the wine we ordered cost around 1500 euro per bottle.the superstars also go there and wearing elegant clothes is a basic riquirement.i couldnot remember the taste of the food cos this is a working meal,anyway a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you at our restaurant during this exceptional period of the Cannes Film Festival. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience!
We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again,

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Arrived on the 11th August for my third stay and was extremely impressed by the service and the suite. The location is fantastic and the food is excellent. Many thanks to Emmanuel CAUX and Mrs GAGNAIRE for their superb attention to detail! I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. The suites are worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments; we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

With warm regards from the team,

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Majestic Barriere Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Barriere Cannes

Address: 10, La Croisette, 06407 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#2 Business Hotel in Cannes
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
#9 Family Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Majestic Barriere Cannes 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Barriere, icon of elegance and luxury, welcomes you into a world of refinement offering all the comfort of a legendary luxury hotel. The Majestic Barriere has a new look. Fully refurbished this winter, the hotel lobby and all of its rooms, suites and corridors reflect the latest trends bringing together luxury, tradition and modernity. In the near future, the Majestic 2010 will open a new wing, an extension of the existing hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Majestic Barriere Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Barriere Cannes Hotel Cannes
Majestic Barriere Hotel Cannes
Cannes Majestic Barriere Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Barriere Cannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.