We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand dame hotel in Cannes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes to your Saves list
Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, La Croisette, 06407 Cannes, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
B Ready + breakfast
Ranked #8 of 132 Hotels in Cannes
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Grand dame hotel in Cannes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at Majestic Barriere for four days. Old hotel which has been updated but retained the feeling and character of its roots. Rooms were small but cozy. Bathrooms had been updated. Beds were comfortable and had gorgeous duvets. Had a room overlooking the front of the hotel. Noisy in the evenings as you heard the cars pull up. Nice breakfast buffet in the main restaurant - complete with champagne and orange juice. We ate outside in the evening - and had champagne on the front terrace one night while we watched fireworks over the water. Great location - everything within walking distance. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you at the Majestic Barrière.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us! We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Hotel Majestic Barriere,

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
usa
Level Contributor
291 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed six nights, an eternity in the same hotel room, but never tired of this excellent hotel, run with pride by the same family for several generations.

The hotel is closer to the Palais than any of the other five star options. Our room was spacious and immaculate, not too cluttered with furniture and with a bow window that looked out over the Croissette and the Med. Bathroom equally spacious, fixtures a little dated, but spotless.

Service was excellent throughout, from housekeeping to concierge. We had a rental car which we called for each day from the hotel garage; without fail it appeared within five minutes (even though it was a Ford, not a Ferrari, so not at the top of the pecking order).

You cannot be price sensitive here. Room service breakfast ranges from 34 (continental) to 38 (American) Euros and there is an annoying 15 Euro per day Internet charge, but these are minor issues. An excellent hotel in the best European tradition.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the Med
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spencerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to the Majestic Barrière and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

We would like to thank you for these wonderful comments and congratulations for our services and the team.

It will be a real pleasure to have another opportunity to welcome you at The Hotel Majestic Barriere.

Very sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a centrally located hotel in Cannes, right at the Croisette, a few steps from all the city events, the Majestic is right for you. The hotel is full of charm and evocative of the glamour of the many movies stars whose's pictures decorate the hotel halls, who stayed there during the Cannes Film Festival. My room 343 had a balcony and a glorious view of the Mediterranean Sea. The room was a little noisy until midnight, but to wake up and eat breakfast enjoying that fabulous view seems like a reasonable trade off for me. The rooms are old with creaky doors and old style decor, but large, with plenty of closets and very comfortable. Bathrooms are quite large as well. Gym is nice, but the hotel charges $15 euros a day for guests to access it, which I found a bit mercenary for a luxury property. Waiters at the bar and restaurant are not very friendly, but the concierge is great and gives valuable advice regarding places to visit and eat. The pool is small and a large bar surrounds it. Not a good place to relax or sunbathe. Better to use their private pier just across the street on the Croisette.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Client,

Following your stay at our hotel, you were kind enough to comment you experience and we would like to thank you.
Your comments are extremely important as they provide a motive for continuous improvement.

My staff and I have taken note of your highly positive comments: they are our best reward and they strongly encourage us to uphold the level of excellence you are entitled to expect… Deserving your trust is essential.

Nevertheless, please accept our sincere apologies if the service at the bar and restaurant did not live up to your expectations.
You can be sure that we are taking measures to ensure this does not reoccur; particularly the Manager responsible of the service.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Hotel Majestic Barriere,

Yours sincerely,

General Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I enjoy my stay in this hotel. The rooms are good and very clean. The staff is very friendly and willing to help. We had breakfast and lunch in the restaurant and this was also very good. It was a very luxury experience. Only one minor thing, in a hotel of this standard I expect Wi-Fi, is included in the price. Now you have to pay for something that is not always working and when it works it is very slow. This is not a luxury but false economy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerd200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you at the Majestic Barrière.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!
We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Hotel Majestic Barriere,

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our first impression of the hotel was great. The lobby is gorgeous and the restaurant and pool areas are beautiful. ts located right across from public beach access and at the start of Le Croisette, so it is in a great location. However, there were a couple of issues we had with hotel. First, there were stains on the walls of our room. For any 5 star hotel, i would expect the rooms to be in mint condition and that was not the case. The bathrooms are also bathtubs with a short glass door, which does not do the job of keeping in the water when taking a shower, so our bathroom would flood with water each time. Also, we were not aware prior to booking that you would have to pay to use the lounge chairs by the pool or the lounge chairs on the pontoon. It may depend on what type of room you had (we had a deluxe partial sea view), but it costed us around 80 euros extra a day just to get a lounge chair. The service was good, but having stayed at another 5 star hotel in Italy the week prior, we were slightly disappointed. Looking at the other 5 star hotels nearby, I will say that the Majestic looks to be the best choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank criminey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to the Majestic Barrière and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!
We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Nevertheless, we present you our deepest apologies for the technical problems in your bathroom.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon at The Hotel Majestic Barriere,

Very sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I went there during the Cannes film festival to have a dinner with my boss and our VIP clients.This is a restaurant for the rich customers.if i were not wrong,the wine we ordered cost around 1500 euro per bottle.the superstars also go there and wearing elegant clothes is a basic riquirement.i couldnot remember the taste of the food cos this is a working meal,anyway a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella-SherryCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you at our restaurant during this exceptional period of the Cannes Film Festival. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience!
We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again,

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Arrived on the 11th August for my third stay and was extremely impressed by the service and the suite. The location is fantastic and the food is excellent. Many thanks to Emmanuel CAUX and Mrs GAGNAIRE for their superb attention to detail! I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. The suites are worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yousef M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments; we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

With warm regards from the team,

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannes
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Carlton Cannes
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Cannes Hotel Martinez
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu 1835 Hotel & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Gray d'Albion
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Cannes
JW Marriott Cannes
#47 of 132 in Cannes
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
Five Seas Hotel Cannes
#10 of 132 in Cannes
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes

Address: 10, La Croisette, 06407 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#3 Business Hotel in Cannes
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#4 Family Hotel in Cannes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Barriere, icon of elegance and luxury, welcomes you into a world of refinement offering all the comfort of a legendary luxury hotel. The Majestic Barriere has a new look. Fully refurbished this winter, the hotel lobby and all of its rooms, suites and corridors reflect the latest trends bringing together luxury, tradition and modernity. In the near future, the Majestic 2010 will open a new wing, an extension of the existing hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Low Cost Holidays, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Majestic Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Barriere Cannes Hotel Cannes
Majestic Barriere Hotel Cannes
Cannes Majestic Barriere Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing