We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for luxury this is the place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Barriere Cannes

Save Saved
You added Majestic Barriere Cannes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Majestic Barriere Cannes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, La Croisette, 06407 Cannes, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 135 hotels in Cannes
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Looking for luxury this is the place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I enjoy my stay in this hotel. The rooms are good and very clean. The staff is very friendly and willing to help. We had breakfast and lunch in the restaurant and this was also very good. It was a very luxury experience. Only one minor thing, in a hotel of this standard I expect Wi-Fi, is included in the price. Now you have to pay for something that is not always working and when it works it is very slow. This is not a luxury but false economy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you at the Majestic Barrière.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!
We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Hotel Majestic Barriere,

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    426
    198
    96
    52
    24
See reviews for
113
342
28
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our first impression of the hotel was great. The lobby is gorgeous and the restaurant and pool areas are beautiful. ts located right across from public beach access and at the start of Le Croisette, so it is in a great location. However, there were a couple of issues we had with hotel. First, there were stains on the walls of our room. For any 5 star hotel, i would expect the rooms to be in mint condition and that was not the case. The bathrooms are also bathtubs with a short glass door, which does not do the job of keeping in the water when taking a shower, so our bathroom would flood with water each time. Also, we were not aware prior to booking that you would have to pay to use the lounge chairs by the pool or the lounge chairs on the pontoon. It may depend on what type of room you had (we had a deluxe partial sea view), but it costed us around 80 euros extra a day just to get a lounge chair. The service was good, but having stayed at another 5 star hotel in Italy the week prior, we were slightly disappointed. Looking at the other 5 star hotels nearby, I will say that the Majestic looks to be the best choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to the Majestic Barrière and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!
We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Nevertheless, we present you our deepest apologies for the technical problems in your bathroom.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon at The Hotel Majestic Barriere,

Very sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I went there during the Cannes film festival to have a dinner with my boss and our VIP clients.This is a restaurant for the rich customers.if i were not wrong,the wine we ordered cost around 1500 euro per bottle.the superstars also go there and wearing elegant clothes is a basic riquirement.i couldnot remember the taste of the food cos this is a working meal,anyway a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you at our restaurant during this exceptional period of the Cannes Film Festival. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience!
We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again,

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Arrived on the 11th August for my third stay and was extremely impressed by the service and the suite. The location is fantastic and the food is excellent. Many thanks to Emmanuel CAUX and Mrs GAGNAIRE for their superb attention to detail! I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. The suites are worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments; we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

With warm regards from the team,

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My fiancee and I have just returned from a 5-day trip to the Majestic Barriere in Cannes. The hotel is absolutely amazing, but if you aren't prepared to haemorrhage money at every turn then you might be left slightly disappointed. Don't get me wrong, this is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in - just go with appropriate expectations!

I recently joined the Leading Hotels of the World 'Leaders' Club'. This guarantees free breakfast and wifi, a welcome gift and a one-category room upgrade where available. It is WELL worth the 150USD/year membership fee; given that breakfast in these establishments can hit €40/person/day, membership pretty much pays for itself within the first few days. The hotel honoured all of these benefits. The welcome gift was fantastic; a huge tray with still and sparkling waters, fruits, local juices and boxes of chocolates and macaroons, and we were given an upgrade to a room with a partial sea view.

Without these benefits I think we would have had a very different experience; since you have to pay for EVERYTHING, we would have felt very constrained. Entry to the gym and spa is €15/day (fortunately you can use the gym for free from 6am - 9am and from 8pm - 12am, though this isn't ideal on an empty stomach in the morning, or on a full stomach in the evening!), entry to the pool is €32/person/day and entry to the beach and pier is €38/person/day!

I guess prices like these are predictable in such an establishment, but they aren't advertised anywhere, and only become clear once you're actually at the hotel.

All the staff are absolutely brilliant, with the exception of the front desk staff. On check-in we arrived at 2pm and were told in no uncertain terms that we should go away and come back at 3pm; she didn't even offer any suggestions as to what we should do or where we should go. On check-out the woman made a great display of checking her watch, despite the fact we had agreed a late check-out the day before. I'm afraid our overriding feeling was that we didn't really matter, since we were just lowly guests paying a basic rate. The hotel really needs to address this, and make EVERYONE feel welcome, not just the multi-millionaires.

The billing was also very inaccurate; they tried to charge us €16 for a bottle of water from the minibar that we never had, and we were also charged for 5 days parking when in fact we only had our car in their garage for one day (having realised it was far cheaper in a carpark round the corner!); I'm not sure if this is down to maliciousness or shoddy record keeping.

All these points aside, as I said, this hotel is absolutely amazing and I'm sure we'll return. With the exception of the front desk staff, everyone is friendly and attentive, the breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hotel and I think Majestic Barriere is probably the best located out of all the top hotels along Boulevard de la Croisette; it's much closer to the old town, bars, restaurants, shops and marina than the Ritz Carlton, JW Marriott etc.

TIP: join Leaders Club and you'll have a great time, whatever room category you book.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you at the Majestic Barrière.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us! We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Unfortunately, the service at the reception did not live up to your expectations and we present you our apologies for that. Be sure this is not the usual way we are treating our guest.
Our main concern is to provide our guests with the best service and an unforgettable stay.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Hotel Majestic Barriere,

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was very happy to arrive at this hotel and to such a warm welcome too.
We were upgraded to a deluxe room as it was my birthday and we had a tray of fruit, chocolates, soft drinks and water left in the room which was a lovely surprise.
The breakfast was excellent, especially the champagne and the staff could not do enough to make our stay even more special.
My only negative comment is having to pay to sit by the pool and at the beach. Being a guest I would have thought that this would be included in the price of the stay. When we enquired about this at reception we were told it was included in our package yet when we went to the pool we were asked to sing a docket and the charge of 19 euros each per half day was added to our bill. It was even more expensive to use the beach area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear client,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you at the Majestic Barrière.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us! We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards.

Nevertheless, we have well noted yours comments regarding your lack of satisfaction concerning various charges. Please accept our apologies.
But you have to understand that our price setting policy is clear: keeping the room rate as low as possible and charging only for what clients use.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Hotel Majestic Barriere,

Yours sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

First class hotel. The reception is fabulous with displays of orchids suspended from the ceiling which makes a great first impression. Staff are extremely welcoming and attentive and arranged for champagne and macaroons in my room when they saw from my passport it was my birthday which was a lovely surprise. Breakfast was great with a really wide choice and plenty of outside tables. Bedroom was a little on the small side for a superior but large bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas G, Directeur général at Majestic Barriere Cannes, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments; we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us!

With warm regards from the team,

Yours sincerely,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Barriere Cannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Barriere Cannes

Address: 10, La Croisette, 06407 Cannes, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cannes
#3 Spa Hotel in Cannes
#6 Family Hotel in Cannes
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cannes
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cannes
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Majestic Barriere Cannes 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Barriere, icon of elegance and luxury, welcomes you into a world of refinement offering all the comfort of a legendary luxury hotel. The Majestic Barriere has a new look. Fully refurbished this winter, the hotel lobby and all of its rooms, suites and corridors reflect the latest trends bringing together luxury, tradition and modernity. In the near future, the Majestic 2010 will open a new wing, an extension of the existing hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Majestic Barriere Cannes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Barriere Cannes Hotel Cannes
Majestic Barriere Hotel Cannes
Cannes Majestic Barriere Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Barriere Cannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.